What Were Your Favorite Memories?

5 19
Avatar for Betha
Written by
1 year ago

We all love reminiscing good old memories, dont we? It gives us this feeling of sadness and joy all at the same time. Today, I travelled back in time through the memories in my head. Come on and join in the ride with me as I recall my favorite memories.


This was us playing some pose for my uncle's newly bought Kodak cam. Find me!

Roadtrip by Foot

When I was a kid my granny has a sister and she lives in the next barrio and whenever there are celebrations in her house we would go there and walk by foot. The barangay road is not as big as the ones in the city so we would trudge along the side of it making sure we don't get ourselves hit by the trucks and bikes that passes there too. These walks as tiresome as it may seem, are one of my most favorite memory because I had fun doing them. I would walk with my cousins, my granny, my other siblings and many others. When we reach my granny's sister's house, we would be greeted woth snacks. My favorite snack, way back was mango juice filled with ice and bread. In those days, snacks like that are heaven to me coz we don't get to eat that on a daily basis.

First Day High

I love reminiscing first days of school. When I do so, I think I can smell that strawberry eraser and the scent of the brand new notebooks that's been waiting to scribbled on. First days of school are indeed filled with excitement I bet you know that feeling of going to school with not just having a bag filled with new notebooks and things but also with a mind filled with many questions like,"what's my teacher's gonna be like, " who will be my seatmate for the entire school year?", how's my classmates after the two-month long vacation, and etc., Nowadays whenever I see kids wearing their school uniform I remember that little me who loves going to school even though I only have two pesos (sometimes none) pocket money.

Farming

My grandparents in the maternal side has this small parcel of land that they tending. They planted crops like corns, maluggay,spinach, taro, string beans and many others. That little farm is situated at the top of a mountain and whenever they go there to tend it they pass through this very steep side of the mountain. I remember one time when I first went with my grandparents, I was literally crawling and was almost crying because I have fear of heights. But as soon as I reached the top, my fears were all worth it because the overlooking view was so exhilarating. I could see our school, our little home and the barangay road where cars looked like toys as they run along it. My grandparents would being home made lunch with them and we would eat it under the trees in the corner of the farm. This memory always paints a smile in my face, maybe its because I had always loved nature and farming.

Drinking Sweet Coconut Wine

My mother has a land that she inherited from her mother. This land had been divided among the five of them and the part that my mother recieved has two to three coconut trees in it. Some these coconuts had been a source of vinegars back in the day. I remember how we would ask a glassful of vinegar whenever he comes home bringing some of the newly collected saps. He would place it inside a large bamboo tube called "sogong". These newly collected ones were sweet and we would pair it with some rice. My grandpa has large plastic containers at home and he would then place all the collected vinegars in those containers and he would let it sit around so it would ferment and become coconut wines. He will add some red barks called " tongog. These barks would give the white vinegar its red color. When these coconut wines are fermented well my grandma would sell it in the city. When she comes home after selling some wines, he would bring us some yummy treats. Oh those were the good old days. My grandpa was so fond of collecting and making coco wines. It in fact caused his death when he fell from a tree and suffered bad internal hemorrhage. He left when I was still 7 years old and that was my first heartbreak.


Hope you had fun reading these sweet eternal memories as much as I do. Until next time folks! Thanks for stopping by!

Sponsors of Betha
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 1.12
$ 1.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @DennMarc
Sponsors of Betha
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Betha
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I just remember my childhood days too madalas kasi ako sumama kay papa sa province

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow. Nice Redding your experience here. Thanks for sharing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nag fafarm din pla kayo akala kuh ako lang nkaranas nang ganyan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I grew up in farm so basically most of my childhood memories are filled with farm experiences. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just love my childhood memories, especially when Dad is still alive :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago