My Dear Earth,

7 27
Avatar for Betha
Written by
2 years ago

Dear Earth,

I was supposed to start this epistle of mine by the cliche`statement," How are you?". But I realize that it will be wrong for me to ask you how are you since it is pretty obvious that you are not fine. I have been with you for more than twenty eight years already and I have seen your declining health for most of my teenage and adult years. Oh my, I have this very vivid memory in my head that makes me tear up whenever I come across it. Wanna know what it is? Its a memory of a wonderful Sunday morning around six AM, I was sitting on a bench facing the East looking at the rays of sunlight passing through the dancing leaves of the Madre de` Cacao tree, and I was filling my libgs with the aroma of the home-cooked meals mixed with breeze of the early morn. Whenever I remember that is memory, I kind of think that I am enjoying that aame scent in my memory, I am then sent to memory lane. How I miss that scent! It reminds me of the green grasses, tall trees and the cool morning breeze that we used to enjoy until 8 AM. I haven't smelled it for a very long time.

Now what I am even talking about it? Why am I talking about that memory and that scent? Because the very same thing that caused the disappearance of the vivid scene in my memory, is the exact same thing that has caused your suffering and deterioration. My kind calls it deforestation, some calls the culprit factory emissions, but me, I call it- development. Yup, development!

Oftentimes when we speak of development, we think of good things (and yes it do means many good things) but then we haven't flip it over and we've never seen the other side of it or the negativity of it. I know I have said a lot, but what I really want to say is. I AM SO SORRY. I am very sorry for the many advancements that my kind are making, which have caused your destructions. I am sorry, I really am.

I want to say sorry for the dark smokes our vehicles emitted. I want to say sorry for the trees we have cut to make good furniture. I want to say sorry for the mountains we have flattened, so we can build our subdivisions. I want to say sorry for the CFC's that comes out from our aerosols and refrigerators that hurts your ozone. I want to say sorry for the fossil fuels we need to burn so our factories can run. I could go on and on with the lists of things that we have done, and again, I am so sorry. Though my sorry is only a speck in the vast variety of things that we humans did to harm you, but still,my Dear Earth, let me still say it; I am sincerely sorry.

I hope the little things I do, help bring back that health of yours. I hope my effort to wear washable masks lessens the tons of disposable masks being dumped everyday. I hope me buying big packs lessen the tens and thousands of tiny plastics garbage in the dump. I hope my garbage segregation helps in reducing garbages. I hope me, teaching my students about many things about you will help increase in them the awareness so they too will help in restoring your precious health. I know my efforts are small my Dear Earth, but they are sincere. Sometimes I fail,but most of the times I strive. I hope you feel that. I hope you can forgive us with what we have done. I hope you will accept my little efforts of bringing your health back.

Xoxo,

Betha

All Original Content

Hello dear read.cash family, I stumbled over the article of @meitanteikudo about writing an epistle to our dear Earth,I found it very touching since I am an environmentalist at heart. I dont know exactly when it started but I do have this inner desire to help preserve the Earth through the small things that I can do such as, reducing the use of plastics or buying products that are environment-friendly. I was very happy when one of the subjects that was given to me was Environmental Science because it give me the platform to raise awareness and warning to the young people of our time about the environment. I am so glad that I have the opportunity to have them plant trees asa project in our subject. Just like what I mentioned in my letter to Mother Earth, my efforts are small compared to the problem that we humans are causing her, but my efforts though they be small, they are sincere.

I hope you found some environment-friendly ideas while reading my letter, that will help Mother Earth recover.

I hope you too have your small efforts that will help bring back Mother Earth's health. Because no matter how small our efforts are, they can create big things. As my an adage says, "with small things, great things come to pass."

If you want, you can come and join the fun. Come and write a letter for dear Earth too!

Sponsors of Betha
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 1.19
$ 1.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 2
Sponsors of Betha
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Betha
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

This is really great. Thank you for the wonderful entry. :) I hope that we all do our part to preserve our one and only planet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my thanks for your appreciation. My signal has been bad lately and seeing this in my notifications makes me very very happy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Using plastic in our area is not allowed..If we go to our public market we need to buy bag para sa mga pinamimili namin.. even buying fish or meet they will not provide plastic for us kailangan may bitbit kaming Tupperware para sa mga pinamimili namin. Eco bag and paper bag yan lang ginagamit namin.

In this way nakakatulong na din para iwas sa pag sunog ng plastic na mkasisira Ng Ozone layer ni mother earth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is the case in our city too. But you know, there is that "ningas cogon syndrome- laws and city ordinances are only abided during its early days of implementation, after a year, they went back to using plastic bags. Hay naku talaga!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Mother Earth, please don't give up on us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully Mother Earth will not give up on us. I think we should do our part so she will see we are repentant of what we have done.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis. I try to reduce my carbon footprint as much as I can.

$ 0.00
2 years ago