"Anything Chicken"

1 18
Avatar for Betha
Written by
2 years ago

When we were just newlyweds, my husband asked me what my favorite dish is and I told him this phrase,” anything chicken”. So, the next time he asked me what I would love to it, he just answers himself with “anything chicken”. One time when I was chatting with a friend and I was asked what would I want to eat, he answered for me so fast and said the same thing “anything chicken”.  Hahahahaha

Photo from Unsplash

Why do I love chicken very much? Well, I love pork as well and other types of meat as long as it is edible and not poisonous. I am not really choosy and would eat anything if I have no other option because I grew up not having much to choose as to what viand will mom cook for us on a certain day. But my specific love for chicken meat has been so strong that it’s the first thing that would arrive to mind when I am asked about my favorite dish. So today, in this article let us talk about some of the chicken dishes that I love. Are you ready to get hungry? Let’s go!

Photo from Unsplash

 

Chicken Soup (Tinola)

Photo from Unsplash


This is my most favorite chicken dish, especially when Papa makes it. Back in the province, papa has free range chickens we call it Bisayang manok. When we would come home on weekends, he would catch one or two and slaughter it for a fresh chicken soup. He would then add green papaya, ginger, lemon grass and spices. Oh my, I can picture out in my mind’s eye the yummy boiling soup in the abuhan. And then if you are lucky to have fine grinded corn, it would be such a delish!! Oh my, miss going home on weekends.

 

Chicken Estofado

Photo from Unsplash


Same thing with Tinola, this is another recipe that Papa would make with the free-range chicken that we have at home. If you are wondering what a free-range chicken is, it is simply are those chickens that are not caged or tied but are rather let out to roam in the neighborhood, which means that they are able to exercise daily because they get to hike and move around which results into a heathier meat compared to those which are tied or caged. So going back to the estofado that Papa would make. He adds a generous amount of tomato paste and ketchup to it along with red bell peppers. He would let it set there for more than an hour until the meat is tender and it has absorbed the sauce and the spices. I can imagine the smell of that dish and I kind of think of the tender chicken meat bathing in creamy tomato sauce. Yum!

 

Fried Chicken

Photo from Unsplash


Now, this one is so easy to make that even a grader can make this. You just clean the chicken meat, season it with salt and pepper and let it set for like one hour and deep fry it in the frying pan. My husband loves dipping it in a Mang Tomas All Around Sarsa sauce-it is a Filipino made dipping sauce. He loves the Siga Style because it is extra spicy compared to the classic one. Speaking of fried chicken, this was our dinner last night actually. When I came home form work, I was welcomed with the aroma of fried chicken in the kitchen.

 

Chicken Adobo

Photo from Unsplash

Chicken adobo is a Filipino Chicken dish that has a ton of version across the archipelago. If you go to the Northern part of the country, they have their own version of adobo, theirs is a little saucy and it has potato and sometimes a little bit of carrots. And if you roam around the Northern part you will find a variation of this style too. But if you some to the middle island of the archipelago (Visayas), you will find a different style of adobo which very similar to fried chicken. Since hubby grew up in Luzon he would usually cook me the Tagalog style adobo. His mom makes the best adobo by the way.

 

Chicken Barbecue

Photo from Unsplash

 Same with fried chicken, chicken barbecue is a very common recipe too. Some people use a personal mix in seasoning their barbecues but there are also ready-mix seasonings for barbecues that are sold in departments stores. If you want a sure yummy mixture minus the hassle of mixing all the spices, you might want to opt to buying those ones. I love dipping barbecues into a sauce that is made out of soy sauce and calamansi juice. Oh my it is mouth-watering!

So, there you have it folks! The abovementioned chicken dishes are just a partial list of the chicken dish that I know and love. Next time         I am going to write another list of them. What about you dear read.cash family? What are your favorite chicken dishes? Come and write about it here!

Sponsors of Betha
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 3.25
$ 3.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @jasglaybam
$ 0.02 from @Ayane-chan
+ 1
Sponsors of Betha
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Betha
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Nakakagutom naman po yan! Heheeh

$ 0.00
2 years ago