How I once baked pies.Part 2

1 21

While on holiday at my parents' house, I decided to learn how to cook. My mother and I were getting ready and I discovered my father's diploma. He earned it in the army. It was an interesting job: baker.

I wondered why my father did not bake bread at home. He was a good cook, but he mostly made meat dishes. So I wanted to learn how to cook. There was no internet back then, so I studied cookbooks and looked for recipes in magazines. Over time, I gained experience, improved my knowledge and started to choose the best recipes.

Dough loves love

I always choose a time when no one will disturb me when I am cooking. Baking dough requires special attention and, above all, an attitude. You should not think about pie and you should not start baking when you are in a bad mood. Pies taste best when they work their magic in the kitchen. We like to handle the dough and wrap it with love and care.

That is why we like to play good music before we start. It allows you to relax. The fabric seems to feel it and responds to it with tenderness and gratitude. It melts in the mouth and delights the admirer.

In training. Today I am making a pie.

All the ingredients are prepared in advance: good flour, fresh yeast, eggs, good butter and milk. Then we decide what to put in the pie. I usually prepare several different fillings: poppy seeds, minced meat, cottage cheese, carrots, eggs and onions.

Now that we have all the products, we start making the pastry. First we make the yeast, put it in a warm place and cover the pot with a lid. This gave the germ time to ferment.

Pavement preparation

For the cheesecake, mix the cottage cheese with the cream and sugar. For the roll, prepare the poppy seed filling. Poppies are a favourite to be honoured. Bring it to the boil twice, cook it slightly, mix it with the butter and sugar and let it cool. Only now can you fill the roll with it. The carrot filling is also time-consuming. The carrots are well washed, rubbed and lightly fried. For the onion and egg pâté, I finely chopped the onions, boiled the eggs and mixed everything together.

The minced meat is prepared the day before. I put it in a frying pan and fry it.

I usually make a lot of dough so that there is enough for all the fillings. My housemates have different tastes. I like carrot cake and cottage cheese, while my husband and children like meat, onions and eggs.

I think I have understood everything. Oh, not everything! The cat is rubbing my leg, looking at me with pleading eyes. I remembered that my dear cat had a liver: "Be patient, my friend. Your turn will come. Okay, I'll treat your cheeks to one of my favourite cakes."

The rising dough is ready.

The rising is ready: it is a little bigger and has lots of bubbles on the surface.                                   Kneading takes a few minutes. I have heated the milk, melted the butter and sifted the flour. I slowly kneaded all the ingredients into the dough. I kneaded until the dough was of such a consistency that it did not stick to my hands. Place the pan in a warm place.

Now I have to wait 3-4 hours for the dough to rise. Let it be. I allow myself to relax a little, have a cup of tea, talk to the cat. I also use this time to imagine the end result: I imagine how beautiful, delicious and tasty the cakes will be.

She runs out of the kitchen.

However, I seem to have relaxed too soon. I realise that I do not have enough butter. After saying goodbye to the cat, I run to the shop. Good thing it's close to home. So the baking process does not suffer.

Baking cakes.

The dough came out perfectly, even with the lid of the pan up. I took out a large board (my mother always did this), sprinkled it with flour and poured the dough on it. At this point, it relaxed a little. No big deal, it will rise again.

Now the important thing is to divide it into portions so that there is enough filling. I have 4 types of filling, so I divide the dough into 4 portions. One larger portion for the cheesecake and the rest equally.

I then made sausages from each piece of dough and divided them into several equal parts, which I rolled into a round. Now it was time to fill. Spread it out into all the circles. With a deft touch, each piece turned into a pie.

"Figs."

Yes, yes, I still had dough left and I was out of ingredients. I remembered my mother's joke: "And the one without filling is the most delicious pie." In this case, she made "figs" and sprinkled sugar on them first and then spread the melange on top. As a child, my sister and I would laugh and eat the shapes first.

The oven was heated

The oven was preheated. I put the cakes on a baking tray and let them rise for a while. Then we put them in the oven together.

While I was still baking the cakes, the cat peeked into the kitchen and meowed curiously. Finally, the first batch was ready. The cat had a piece of liver patty. At first he rushed to eat it, but it burned him and he sniffed it and twisted it with his paws for a long time until it cooled. Then he ate the sausage to pieces. He seemed to be full. It was fun to watch.

When all the cakes were baked, I smeared them with butter, covered them with a clean dish towel, and again remembered my mother's teaching that cakes must be puffed after baking.

By then the family had returned from work. I greeted them by saying: "I baked you some nice crispy cakes. I made them as usual with love and skill.

I was very pleased that the cakes turned out so well. Everyone ate their favourite food and there was no need to eat dinner.

So one day of my life ended with baking cakes. I owe it all to my dad and his baking education. Thanks to them, I wanted to bake cakes and bread and I learned to do it.

All pictures were taken by me. thanks for reading🥞🍭🍬🍩

5
$ 0.91
$ 0.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @rebeysa85
$ 0.01 from @Ellen.he
Sponsors of Belozoriana
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I enjoy that you cook with so much love and passion, completely professional ... It looks so delicious, I will definitely use your recipes... 👌

$ 0.01
2 years ago