Honey cake(Medovik)

6 29

Just like the borscht recipe, every housewife has her own "haney cake" recipe. This is of course correct and I thought I would share mine with you.I don't claim to be perfect. Everyone has their own ideals. My "perfect" haney cake always have thin crusts, there should be plenty of them, the flavor should be bright and memorable, and the crust should be soft and light. It should be so soft that it permeates the haney cake and unifies it as a whole, but surprisingly, the cream doesn't stand out and the cake has a uniform consistency.I'm not against adding ingredients to a cake, in fact I enjoy it, but when I tried the honey cream with boiled condensed milk and caramel, the ingredients seemed unnecessary.I make a honey cake with honey and sugar. My version has a lot of honey in it, which gives it a unique flavor and aroma, without overpowering it. To contrast with the cake, I use less sugar and make a very light mixture of cream, custard and whipped cream. Sometimes I add a little honey directly to the cream.

The ingredients are simple and easy to find, and the quantities are not intimidating - no long lists or two-gram scales. Making the dough and cream is very easy. The hardest part was rolling out the 12 slices of dough.My design is quite modern, but you can also sprinkle it with crushed stone, as is usually done with honeysuckle.The ingredients are given in both grams and cups. So even if you don't have a scale, you can make this cake again. In this recipe, 1 tablespoon = 240 ml.

Cake.

450 g flour (3 tablespoons).

200 g (3/4 tablespoon) liquid honey.

50 g (1/4 teaspoon) brown sugar

30 ml (2 tablespoons) water

2 eggs

1/2 teaspoon soda

Cream.

500 g (2 tablespoons) sour cream (at least 25% fat)

300 g (1/2 tablespoon) whipped cream (at least 30% fat)

100 g (1/2 tablespoon) icing sugar

60 g (2 tablespoons) honey

It is, of course, easy to express.

Put the sugar and water in a saucepan and heat until the sugar dissolves. Remove from the heat, add the butter and stir. While the sugar mixture cools slightly, heat the honey to about 40°C. Add the butter and stir. Add the liquid honey to the sugar mixture and stir until smooth.Mix half the sifted flour with the honey and sugar syrup, allow the dough to cool, then add the eggs one by one, stirring constantly until smooth, then add the remaining flour and baking powder.Knead until the dough is smooth and elastic. Divide the dough into 12 pieces (or 6 pieces), place in a plastic bag and leave in the fridge for 12 hours.

To avoid using too much flour, the dough can be rolled out directly on a silicone mat for a thinner biscuit. The dough can be stretched on baking paper or a floured board. The dough can be divided into 6 pieces and stretched to a thickness of about 0,5 cm.Stretch the dough to a thin thickness of 3 mm. I have 12 layers.I bake on a silicone tray. This means that before baking, I put the bread on a baking mat, put it in the oven and wipe off any excess flour.Bake the crust in a preheated oven at 220°C for 5-8 minutes.I bake in convection mode. The crust will brown. Lighter cakes do not have a richer flavour or aroma. Overbaked or burnt cakes turn bitter. Depending on the characteristics of your oven.While the cake is baking, make the next cake. If all the batter is in the fridge, take it out one at a time.While the biscuits are still warm, press them together and spread the leftovers on top of the biscuits. When the cake has cooled, spread the cream.

If you don't use them all at once, put them in an airtight container. Gingerbread dough is not spiced and does not keep for long. However, the fresher they are, the better the cake will taste.

Whip the sour cream until foamy.

Whip the cream lightly, add the honey a little at a time without breaking the whipping cream, then add the icing sugar. Do not overbeat the cream. It should have a soft tart consistency, and when lifting the whipped end should bend but not protrude.Gently fold the sour cream into the whipped cream mixture.The cream should be soft and fluffy, not too sweet and with a strong honey taste.You can omit the honey if you like, but this is a matter of taste.Spread the cream on all the crusts and leave them for 12 hours.Do not fill the jars immediately. Leave 100 g sour cream, 60 g cream and 1 tablespoon icing sugar. Finish the cream the next day.After the cake has soaked, I cut off any curved edges. This makes the cake quite soft, but it keeps its shape perfectly and is very easy to make. I cover the cake with cream.Cake crumbs can be sprinkled over the meringue.I have loved cooking since I was a child. My mother's kingdom, the kitchen, is undergoing exciting changes every day. Spoons, forks, spatulas, spoons, bottles, stirrers and pans - I can't help smiling when I see my mother preparing a main course.But now I am a cook, helping my mother. Now I make my own cake.To be honest, making cakes is fun and challenging at the same time. But it is so satisfying when you can make a cake with your own hands for your family and friends.That's how I like to do what I do - make cakes. The most rewarding thing for me is when my family praises me.

5
$ 3.79
$ 3.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.12 from @Yana8414
$ 0.05 from @rebeysa85
+ 1
Sponsors of Belozoriana
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Of course I'll bake it someday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my opinion this is the best "Hany cake" recipe, this is great, I fell in love with it, I hope one day I will have the opportunity to make it... 👌

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I need this cake in my life!!!

My problem with it is that over here is a very expensive cake to make, I mean, very expensive in all the sense of the word :(

$ 0.01
2 years ago