Why is it scary to grow old?

6 52
Avatar for Bbb01
Written by
3 years ago

Why is it scary to grow?

When i was young, I wanna grow up quickly to do the things adult can. As a young little one, I have limitations of what action I can do. My parents are the one who decides for me. So who doesn't want to grow up?

When i was young, I think that growing up is easy as being free. Being free from your parents eyes, being free from the cultures, being free from the society.

When i was young, i think growing up is like a ticket, a license, to do the things that i want to do. Being careless without having to worry that might someone might scold you.

Excited when I started growing up as a teen.

When I was a teen, I think I'm starting to reach my freedom. I can now tell my parents what I like and act what I like to do with a little worry of might getting scold.

When i was a teen, my mindset in school is "Go get a good grade and pass all your subject" and everything will be okay. Now, school is the only problem.

Long discussions, school projects, activities and many more. How can I be free with all of this? And then I started to doubt that growing up is freedom. But still, I pursued and conquered those doubts.

I graduated at a University! Yes! Freedom! Here I come!

When i was an adult, I started living on my own. Working to support myself. Being free from my parents, doing things I want to do. It's the most joyous feeling in my life.

But then reality hits me hard.

Bills. Relationship. Being a parent. I started getting scared to grow old.

Can't do the things I used to because of limited movement because of old age. Seeing my parents dying. DEATH!

I'm scared to grow old anymore. I don't wanna die. I don't want to live my daughter alone. Having thoughts of that made me worried a lot more.

How come no one told me that growing old is this scary?

This is not what I imagine growing old when I was young.

33
$ 0.86
$ 0.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Bbb01
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

For me, the scary thing in getting old is the limited time while enjoying a good life

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sad but true. So when still young you need to learn how to prioritize things.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think the scary part of getting old for me, really comes with the anxiety of looking back on your life, and realizing that from this view point, you can see your mistakes. Maybe you see how much they cost you or waht your life could have been had you just chosen that one thing differently. Maybe thats just me, but there you go =P

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mistakes that can't be corrected. Regrets it is.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Being scared is normal especially when you have regrets in the past. Or you're scared because of shat will happen to your loved ones when you're gone.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeap. So live your life to the fullest

$ 0.00
3 years ago