What made your childhood memories?

13 22
Avatar for Balikis
2 years ago

Hello, lovely readers and friends, how are you all doing today?. I hope you all had a fruitful day.

To my sponsors, I say a very big thank you and I love you both from the depths of my heart. Thanks for the sponsorship @gertu13 and @FashTioluwa.

Sponsors of Balikis
empty
empty
empty

These are my lovely sponsors and I love them😍.

Now to today's article on childhood memories, we all have different memories when growing up which may have laid great impacts in grooming us to be who we are today.

My childhood wasn't that fun but I did enjoy some of the memories I had and I'm holding on to them tightly because they did lay a very good impact on me, from my teenage years to adulthood.

Just like we had what we loved, friends we played with, the food we couldn't do without, fantasies, crush 😁, most of us had music, games, story tales, and other interesting childhood experiences.

I had music most times 😍. I loved music a lot, ranging from African music to international music. Though I loved more international music (foreign)

Common things that might have made our childhood.

Music.

Like I mentioned earlier on music, especially on foreign music, I love them a lot, the likes of Celine Dion, destiny child, Big Sean, Kelly Rowland, R-kelly, Westlife, 50 cents, Sean Kingston, Jennifer Lopez, Diana Ross, Shaggy, Micheal Jackson, Joe, and all other lovely musicians I might have forgotten to add.

I love Celine Dion mostly, with her tiny little voice, her songs are well-made for me, lol. Ranging from the Power of love, A new day as come, I'm alive, My heart will go on, That's the way it is, Beauty and the Beast, I drove all night, Goodbye, Think twice and the rest... I could've written out the lyrics, but they aren't mine.

Music did lay a big impact on my life because it enabled me to learn new words, inspires me, educated me on different aspects of life.

Africa music sang by D-banj, Wande Coal, 2 face Idibia, P-square, 9ice, Lagbaja, Ayuba, Ayefele, and other fantastic musicians did make my childhood awesome. Also some radio stations like cool FM, Raypower among others.

Movies and books

I bet every Nigerian should have seen the super story, casting Baba Ajasco, Alinko, and all others, and those movies made, life more fun, including Akin and Pawpaw, Osofia, Olu Jacob and all other interesting actors and actresses, including Patience Ozokwor, Omotola Jalade, and other notable female actresses.

Coming to foreign movies, we have the likes of Jean Claude van-damme, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Mr. Bean, and others. Also, snow-white, beauty and the beast, Cinderella πŸ˜‰, Ella enchanted, and all others.

This set of people did make my childhood most enjoyable. I'm always ready to tune in to watch their movies.

I read a lot of storybooks like Ralia the sugar girl, Edet lives in Calabar, and Simbi goes to School which is short stories, and also short stories on the animal kingdom including Shakespeare novels.

Food.

I enjoyed the different delicacy of food though am restricted to eating some, but the moment indomie came out, gosh! I switched to it and loved it so much it was named after me..πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. We were two bearing Balikis in my new street then and indomie and egg were used to identify me. My cheek was so chubby then you'd wonder if I had tons of puff puff stuffed in it🀣🀣.

I appreciate and loved the African delicacies, like Amala, Semovita, yam, Fufu(Akpu), with their different varieties of soups like Ishapa, egusi, beans soup(gbegiri), banga, oha among others.

Games.

Oh! the fun of having to play suwe, skipping, Ada and obi, doing short and long jumps, after round one, tinko tinko, police and thief, boju boju, ludo and phone games like a good day today hard, Sokoban, bounce, snake game, board game, also water games and so many others I can't recall.

Life was indeed fun then, though some of us had to deal with adulthood at a very early stage, but we still really enjoyed childhood memories with grandma's ready to tell us stories under the tree when the moon shines bright, reminiscing on those memories brings smiles up my face and I wished I had someone store it up for me and handed over the disc or flash or maybe the password to view these memories.

Though I had different funny-looking pictures of me and my elder ones especially the ones of me alone as I was told by my mom that I enjoyed having to snap alone most times, lol. I guess have been maintaining social distances for long.

School.

This also Impacted greatly on me because it was where learning took place with rhymes and poems to make the day.

I had most of my friends there because I could speak freely with them, unlike my friends at the new place we moved to who enjoyed speaking our native dialect. Though with the help of my mum, I was able to learn the native dialect to perfection after months of being laughed at because I cracked when speaking πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ and thank God I pushed myself to learn more and am happy about that.

We should try making our children's childhood fun by taking pictures, having videos of them and creating time to take them out, thank God technology has made things even better. We shouldn't just stay up at work always leaving our children alone when they needed our presence. Tell them short stories you were told or might have heard from somewhere. Let them act stupid and then correct them because if they don't act stupid while they are young, they'll probably not have something to laugh about when they get old.

All I think about now is work, money, family and other things, I barely have time for fun, and thank God for the little fun and stupid things I did during my childhood I was able to laugh heartily when I remember some things πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚... I just did now!

I did remember when I was very young and my mom called me to go and drop the kettle she just finished washing inside, I was playing when she called me, so I asked where I should drop it then she said on the bed, lol. Me not able to note the sarcasm in her voice went ahead to actually drop it on the bed and she just finished arranging her room and laying a white beautiful bed sheet on her bedπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.. The rest was history, something you guessed right🀣🀣🀣.

I do appreciate everything and everyone that made my childhood fun!, because of them I was able to look back and have little smiles, with music, films, games, and other things my childhood was great.

How enjoyable was your childhood? What inspired you most?. Drop your comments and let's have a joyful moment together once more.

Thanks for the usual comment and tips and a very big thank you to my readers, viewers, friends, and sponsors. I love you all.

Thanks for reading and stay safe.

Photo source: Unsplash.

Writer: Balikis

Date:19 February 2022.

5
$ 1.29
$ 1.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @FashTioluwa
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 2
Sponsors of Balikis
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Balikis
2 years ago

Comments

Thank you for mentioning Dbanj and Wande coal, this shows that you really vibed the good old times. That group of record was my number 1 musical group I loved so much |Mo'hits

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah,.MohitsπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚, good old days.. I still know the lyrics to their music dude!.. music is life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stop eeeeeet! Just 0.1 percentage of Nigeria ladies know this thing you are talking about.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm.. care to explain more?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Going through your article just brought back so so many memories, wish I could turn back them to those days where we had to worry about not but the next kind of fun we want to have.... I'm glad I had all this things, its what shape me to the man I'm today

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad they did shape you, our childhood does really play a big role in our life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ma

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's nice to know parts of people's lives especially what made me laugh was the teapot lying on a white sheet. Hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha.. Yeah! And I did pay for my action. I hope you had a great one.. Thanks for reading as always, and welcome back to the platform.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't really like to talk about my childhood, it got destroyed before it even started.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mine did too but still, I made little escapes and hung on the little memory I had. Life isn't balanced and it is painful, not able to have much memory to cling unto. I'm sorry though and I hope your adulthood can fill up a tiny space in it. Thanks for reading.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You still haven't told me anything about it... you keep hiding each time I ask... We talk tonight? WhatsApp?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, I would rather not dig deep into it.. Sure!.. Let me know when your less busy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago