How contended are you?

14 22
Avatar for Balikis
2 years ago

Hello lovely readers and friends of Read.cash, a beautiful day to you all as we begin a new month filled with blessings, love, prosperity, kindness, Favours, good health, tons of cash and rise of Bch 😊 our ways. A heart full of appreciations to my sponsors.

Sponsors of Balikis
empty
empty
empty

I just started my day and it still good so far all thanks to God!. I am so grateful though that even with different life challenges I have always come out safely maybe with some scars sometimes but with valuable lessons to continue growing more in all aspects.

Now, on today's article on contentment, which in my own word, is the ability of being satisfied with what we have. We are all met with tons of attitudes or behaviors which really question our style towards contentment.

Many would say that they are truly contented but is that true? Aren't there times you think or do unquestionable things that makes you question your level of contentment?

Are we truly contented?

Some will disagree with reasons to back up their claims on their act of contentment.

No one is truly contented as we are all just trying our best. Our flesh,soul,mind,heart combined together many times affect our act of contentment. Most times we seek for things that we can't afford that someone close to us have. We can't help our thoughts drifting towards an item gotten by a co-worker ,friends, neighbors and others.It makes us wish we can have those items or being given those gifts or taken along to that party or vacation or being invited to an event by a friend or colleague.

Many who have mastered self control can't help but fall prey to this, it doesn't mean they are weak but we can't help some temptations..

We face tons of temptation everyday! Even Jesus was tempted after his fasting and prayers in the wilderness but he didn't fall prey because he his more of spirit than flesh. But are we?

The answer is capital No!.. we are all full of flesh as it covers us and it's the carrier of the soul and the spirit.

We can't help ourselves towards some valuable things, wanting them, needing them like we need our breath.

What level of contentment are you?

Though it as been mentioned above that no one is truly contented but still, there are people who can still control themselves.

The art of contentment differs, as we all have our level of contentment. we have the controlled contentment, the normal contentment and the abnormal contentment.

In the controlled contentment, the key word controlled takes place, these are people who have groomed themselves in such a way that certain things don't move them, don't get me wrong, it not like they don't feel the need to get something they do, but their self control always prevent it. They can overlook the pair of shoes gotten by a friend of theirs or might even appreciate the look but that's all, no brooding!

In the case of the normal contentment , the thoughts of getting a dress or taking along to the vacation everyone speaks off always come in. They brood little on it, then let their imaginations to work sometimes on what they'll do if they got there but after sometime, they let go. They don't chew more than they can swallow. They don't pressurize themselves to get their contentment filled instead they just look away.

In the abnormal contentment just as the name implies, people who fall in here can't help but want it all. They want the same shoes, clothes and other material things gotten by their colleagues. They want to feel among, let people know they are always there, get the attention, flock their wings high up and would do just anything to achieve their goals. Either it is legal or illegal, that don't mind as long as they get what they want. It all that matters. Many youths even some old people have fall deeply into this. Kids using their parents for ritual or their friends just to be known or parents abducting other people's children and using them to get their demands met.

They brood and brood over not getting the new car gotten by their friends. They want it also not caring how hard their friends might have walked to get it. All they just need is to get things done! Overthrowing every obstacle on their way with devious mean.

What prompted me to write on this?

A colleague of mine did some little celebration on his new post and called us all there. Some could not attend because it was a Monday and pleaded with him on their not coming over.

I went with some colleagues of mine and we met some of colleagues there on arrival, we exchanged pleasantries as usual and waved to the man behind our coming over. He came over to welcome us as we all sat down to celebrate the day.

We couldn't stay much to celebrate with him further as most of us need to get home on time so we called on him to bid him goodbye but he insisted we gave him some minutes of which he later came to us to give us some gifts.

He took us to enclosed place to share it to avoid distractions since the party was still ongoing.

He left afterwards , leaving us to share the gifts.

A colleague of mine hissed on seeing the gift and called on her son almost dragging him to get away . We called on her to confirm what happened and then she said,' He should have given us something else, I don't want this.'

Then I asked,.isn't it the same thing he'd give to others who attended too, and she shook her head, claiming she came before us and saw his wife giving gifts out to some people.

She did left angrily, murmuring but we all ignored her. I later found out that it was the wife's mother that got a special gift for her friend's and asked her daughter to share it.

I am not truly contented as I still have the thoughts on getting something's but I make sure I don't brood much over it and let it ruin my day. Nor do I get things done illegally to achieve my aims.

What about you? Are you truly contented?

Leave your comments below and I'll create time to have them replied.

You can also check on my recent article on Curiosity in your free time.

Thanks for the usual tips and comments. A lovely evening to you all. To my sponsors, I'm sending over a big hug ,prayers and uplifting word to continue your journey.

Thanks for reading and stay safe.

Photo source: Unsplash

Date: 1 March 2022

Writer: Balikis

7
$ 1.02
$ 0.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @FashTioluwa
$ 0.02 from @Ellawrites
Sponsors of Balikis
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Balikis
2 years ago

Comments

That colleague of yours that hissed on the the gift didn't do well at all. He/she expected much and was disappointed. It's not good to expect more from people...we are humans.

Talking about contentment, it has advantages and also with disadvantages

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes it was a bad attitude that needs urgent work done on it.. yes it does.. thanks for the addition to the article read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To be contented depends on every personal individual and like the example you sited that abnormal contented can also leads to greed of which the person in question begin to envy others

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true.. thanks for the comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess I was few of those in being a normal contented, I can sometimes controll what not to spend onto but most of the times I couldn't help but to get tempted, I guess its human instinct to let ourselves always got desire for one after another

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes I agree that we truly can't help out instincts towards getting certain things and satisfying our desires.. it can't just be helped sometime.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think my level of contentment is in normal cause I don't pressurize things or even my self like I'm just waiting for the perfect idea that will come up to my mind

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is very good, it is still better to the abnormal one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think people can ever be really contented. We always have that desire to want more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some may not agree with you, though I believe the same.. thanks for reading

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm contented on every level.. I have been to a place that I was a VIP guest and I didn't get food or any gift, but I got an apology and it was ok..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you are fully contented?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ma.. I'm

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you say so then.. but don't complain much or even at all when things don't go your way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago