Ghostmode ..

2 19
Avatar for Balikis
2 years ago
Topics: Short Story, My day

Hello lovely readers and friends, how have you all being?. It been a while I posted here but I can assure you all that I'm back, not fully maybe, but I have returned from my ghost mode.

My day was hectic and I barely had something to eat because I was busy. I know health comes first, yeah , but I always love finishing up with work before eating because I might end up abandoning the work after eating and go to sleep.. I'm definitely like that most times😂 unless I'm with someone who I can chat with (face to face).

So, why I'm writing this article again, yes!.. 👻 ghostmode...

Why I went AWOL , I actually wanted to come online and write but I was pained when I found out that my phone had an issue.

What Happened?

After I got back from work, I saw a movie before going out again, on getting back, it was already late so I shower, ate and charged my phone. I checked on it before sleeping to make sure it was charging.

Then the heartbreaking news came when my alarm woke me up, I stood up from bed to get cleaned up,prayed and then I got dressed for the day's work . I walk elegantly with beautiful smile on face towards my phone then alas! My smile dropped, it discharged from 56% to 40% ..

I cleared up my head and cleaned my face again to check if I was seeing the correct thing but all the same. Infact I closed my eyes and breathed out and pinch myself if I were dreaming but the result was still the same.

My reaction after that.

I put the phone in my bag plus the charger and walked out to go to work. I called an engineer I know and told him about it (he said it was the charging port/point) and he said he didn't have it because the person he gets goods from travelled for the Christmas holiday and isn't back. Immediately he said that, the pain intensified when I realized I won't be using it for what I had planned it for.

I sat down with a solemn look on face which was unlike me, my colleagues came in to ask what happened but I couldn't talk and after pestering me, I let it all out and they pitied me because they knew how important the device was to me.

I had some calls from my friends asking if I was okay when I didn't check in on them as always and some on why I wasn't online.. I had to switch off the phone at some time to preserve the battery against the next day to complete the work I was doing.

Luckily for me, after two days of staying offline I got a call from my engineer telling me he had gotten it from somewhere else , I was a bit happy and went to his office after work. On getting there he fixed it, and when I asked why he didn't wait for his distributor he smiled and said to me "you sounded sad when you called and you didn't joke around with me like you always did, you didn't even ask how my day was going or if I have eaten which is unlike you".

I felt bad about it when I realized I didn't chat enough with my colleagues too which was unlike me, I was always known to start up conversations and bring in happiness but I realized the opposite happened during this time.

Apologised?

Yes, I apologised. I charged my phone and I had a conference call with my colleagues, I apologised for my attitude and they all forgave me saying they knew I needed it the phone to finish up some work and they would have done worse.. I laughed and thank them for understanding and brought back the high spirit in me.

Lesson.

In all that happens in life, we shouldn't get attached to something too much so we won't feel depressed if the thing doesn't work out when we needed it the most.

I never believed I was attached to my phone cos I always let it out most times , sometimes I'll have my colleagues coming over because they wanted to collect new movies or play a game. So I asked myself, how come I was still a bit attached to it? Then I realized I use it mainly for my works and projects because I believed it was supposed to be used since it helps faster in getting what I needed.

Also, I'm working on being happy even when life throws in heavy burden, so help me God.

I got a book and started keeping notes of all that is needed and also typed it in my notepad. In any case my phone get an issue again I won't feel that sad because I have an alternative.

Apart from phone, they are tons of things we get ourselves attach to, look for that thing and ask yourself, if the world go black today and the thing or person you got yourself attach to you isn't there, how will you cope?

Well that's all I have on my ghostmode today..

Thanks for reading and stay safe.

Photo source: Unsplash.

Writer: Balikis

Date:30-1-2022.

6
$ 2.81
$ 2.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Pantera
$ 0.04 from @TOP.10
+ 2
Sponsors of Balikis
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Balikis
2 years ago
Topics: Short Story, My day

Comments

Hmm, don't get too attached to something so when they leave you won't get broken. Always try to eat, food is very essential. You'll think better and you'll be strong when you do

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot friend, I'll put more effort into that. I appreciate the kind gesture.

$ 0.00
2 years ago