Superstitions about the first day of the year

12 85
Avatar for BSzandra
2 years ago

There are plenty of traditions and superstitions about the New Year around the world. Do you believe in superstitions?

I’m not superstitious and I don’t even deal with the “rules” that should be followed on New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day. But this year, I decided to try to stick to it as much as I can because I really want my next year to be lucky.

Everyone has both good and bad days, but the first day of the year is really important because superstition says our whole year will be like our first day of the year. That’s why I asked my partner to try not to annoy me because I don’t want to be angry all year. Hehehe!

It is recommended to clean our house before New Year's Eve, as it is good to start the new year in a clean and tidy apartment. On the other hand, housework is forbidden on the first day of the year, especially taking out the trash, because superstition says that taking the trash out of the house will take our luck out with it.

It is forbidden to eat poultry and fish on New Year's Day. The chicken scratches our luck and the fish swims away with our luck. Honestly, I hope this doesn’t apply to New Year’s Eve, but only to the first day of the New Year, because today we just ate fish for lunch. In my country, on January 1st, we eat lentils to have a lot of money. Of the meats, the pig is recommended, as the pig pushes the ground forward, thus breaking luck.

In addition to these, eating fruit is also recommended to make our business fruitful in the new year. Superstitions also say the chamber needs to be filled so we don’t starve in the new year.

Around the world

According to Spanish tradition, we need to eat 12 grains of grapes at midnight in order to be lucky every month of the new year.

It is Danish custom to stand in a chair before midnight and jump from there into the new year. This leap will bring good luck in the new year and, moreover, drive away even bad spirits.

According to the faith of the people of the Philippines, the windows and the front door must be left open on New Year’s Eve so that the evil spirits can leave and the good ones can enter our homes. Dear Filipino friends! Are you doing this?

Latin American countries believe that the color of lingerie can also affect our year. The meanings of the colors: yellow, green-richness, red-love, white-peace. I think there can be peace in my soul if I don’t have financial problems and if I can and am loved. So I chose white because I think that Joker! I’m not a Latin American but I really want a good year, so I try everything I can. Welcome New Year in white panties.

According to a Russian belief, in order for our New Year’s wish to be fulfilled, we need to write it on a piece of paper and then burn it and then sprinkle the ashes of the paper into a glass of champagne and drink it even before midnight.

Closing thoughs

So I greet the new year in white panties in a clean apartment. Heheh! I will eat lentils and fruit and try to be nice to everyone and I hope everyone will be nice to me too. I don't want to be angry all year.

Do you believe in superstitions? What do you do differently than usual?

Happy New Year for everybody! I wish you peace, love, health, luck, success and of course BCH!

Images source: Pixabay

10
$ 3.62
$ 3.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 3
Sponsors of BSzandra
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for BSzandra
2 years ago

Comments

Ours is forbidden to spend money. Because folks said our money would easily spend out the whole year.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I also heard about it. 🙂 It's a luck that all shops are closed on the first day of the year so it's not so easy to spend money 😃

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Enjoy happy new year

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nah! Nah!! I don't believe in superstitions. My mum do though and really hates that I don't. For me, thoughts from superstitions are just not rational.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can agree because I didn't care about them in the past. But I have nothing to lose 😂 so I can try them. Who knows. Maybe this will be a good year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow... Each country with it's uniqueness. Happy new year ma'am, I wish you the very best of it now and beyond.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't believe in that but it's a nice and fun habits Happy New Year my dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't believe in that but while reading this I want to try next year. It was a very interesting article of how people do that superstatious belief .😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy New Year dear . I am also trying such rules for the first even I have started the day with the morning prayer and will try to be kind honest and hard working the whole hope so this year will be a blessing for us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really don't believe in superstition. But inmy country most people go to church or mosque to witness the crossover with a prayer service to usher in the new year

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Believe it or not, superstition is still held tightly by some people but all of us return to God, may your dreams come true in this year, congratulations on all positive things this year, healthy always for you and your family

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The common one here is.... 'if you do something bad on the very first day, you will be repeating that for the entire year. So be positive and don't do anything wrong.' How ridiculous is this!

$ 0.00
2 years ago