Looking For Something Wholesome To Keep Me Smiling

17 35
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

Having such an emotionally unstable personality, it is inevitable to have a lot of mood swings every day. Keeping a straight face or forcing a smile to interact with people is a real struggle. It's great if I can just always contain my emotions on one side of my heart and lock it there forever. But nah, it keeps leaking out that I can't control its surging flows, no matter how much strong my defenses are.

Being emotional in my personal space is entertaining for me since I got used to it already. I've gone to like it for quite some time because I can picture out things that I wanted to write. It's also easier to express yourself through words if you are emotional and it can bring your creativity. Sometimes, you'll just be surprised with yourself that you can write such things which you can't imagine or even think about it before. However, being like that in front of my family or strangers makes me the weird person in their eyes. They might even have recommended me to a mental hospital if they have money.

As much as I wanted to view life positively, a series of problems are constantly pulling me down. Just when you solve this one, another one is coming. Sometimes, you haven't even started to think about what to do with the current problem and then another problem has already popped out from nowhere. In my case these past few months, it's not just one at a time nor it follows the current one from a different time, but multiple problems at the same time. I'm going to praise myself for still being sane at this moment, but maybe not that quite. Still, it's a good thing that there is still sanity left in me.

As what have Ate @Jane said, just Smile Through Pain because a simple smile in the morning can make our whole day positive. To normal people, I guess it's true but for me, which I can't keep any emotions for an hour straight, that's impossible. Unless that emotion is sadness and loneliness, no matter how I pushed it away, it will keep coming back. It always leads me to no other options but to rather cheat or fool myself by looking for something wholesome, either in form of reading, watching, or listening.


My greatest cheat these days is reading a slice of life and comedy genre of manga. It was hilarious to my heart's content that even if I read some pages a lot of times, I'll still laugh at it just like I read it for the first time.

Here's some of it. Read it if you like.

  • Nan Hao And Shao Feng

It's a comedy comic about two high school boys.

Image source: libredd.it

  • Gokushufudou (The Way of the Househusband)

He is the most feared gangster named Tatsu or known as the Immortal Dragon. At this status, who would have thought that he would spend his days now doing household chores, shopping, and pampering his wife at their apartment? This is a manga about a day in a life of a househusband trying to live a peaceful life.

Image source: IMDb

I can't just smile with that manga but even laugh harder. There is also a manga that I'm reading which is all about sweetness and fluffiness. It can't just make me smile but can make me feel a lot of butterflies in my belly, though I don't have a belly.

  • Girlfriend Who Absolutely Doesn’t Want to Take a Bath VS Boyfriend Who Absolutely Wants Her to Take a Bath

It's just all about a day in a life a boyfriend having a hard time taking his girlfriend to bathe. Every day he would come up with an interesting idea just to persuade her.

Image source: MangaHT

  • I'm Around 30 And Finally In Love

A couple around 30 years old who never tried to date before tried to date each other. They are matchmade by their juniors who always appear to be their guardians.

Image source: MangaHub


Currently, I haven't still finished reading them but I'm glad that I discovered them. If not, maybe the gray skies above my head have already become a storm. My imaginations can be easily influenced, so I have to feed them with something good content. It helps me imagine more positively from time to time, so I can't remind myself of the pain brought by the problems that aren't mine but still I'm included to suffer.

After I finish reading them all, I'll be reading next to them the book Midas Touch which I have had for months in my online library but I never opened a page of it before. It's about life motivations and mindsets for business, I guess. If not for Kuya @Bjorn 's article about it, I wouldn't have any interest in it. It's good that I have been spoiled a little by its content. Now I can have some insights on what to expect about it.


Phew. I'm feeling better now.

Talking about the stuff that makes me smile, makes me also smile while writing this. It's like my smile is being plastered there in my face until I finally finished writing. If I can only keep this smile wholeheartedly forever, it would be wonderful.

How about you guys? What makes you smile when you're down?

Come on, share it with me and let's have a little chat in the comment section below. By the way, thanks for reading this until the end. You guys are amazing!


Until next time, then...

  • I'm also at;

Twitter|Instagram|Telegram|Torum|LinkedIn

10
$ 8.62
$ 8.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 6
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

Comments

How about a slice of life and drama themed manhwa po ? I just finished this one not long ago ang maganda po sa kanya is based on real life ang story, My Office Noona's Story.

Nabasa mo na po 'yung What Happens Inside the Dungeon ? Nakakatawa siya basahin lalo kasi may pagka hypocrite and unting sarcasm ang characters ang kaso lang may Ecchi tag siya.

Try mo po 'tong Not Marriage Material 'din (https://www.anime-planet.com/manga/not-marriage-material) tsaka Star Crossed Lovers (https://www.anime-planet.com/manga/stars-crossed-lovers) sobrang ganda ng art neto simp simp ko both ML and FL πŸ˜… .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh. Sorry, I just saw this comment. Hehe, I read a lot of drama-themed manhwas but I can't handle the intense drama and action there. It hurts me when the heroine or the hero got hurt and it irritates me when the heroine is stupid, so I drop them all. I'm just looking for something smooth, fluffy, comedy romance that I can laugh so hard and have a lot of diabetes. Haha!

I'll save your recommendations. Thanks! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also read this kind of comic book before Sis when I have nothing to do and it makes me feel fine. While in my case, if I'm upset/angry, I run to my ballpen and papers. These help me to calm and ofcourse to pray :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good for you. I can't calm down like that. I need something to forget for a while to avert my mind, and that's when I can calm down.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sabi nila my smile is so expensive as I seldom show it to others. I guess it is. Haha. .but I realized that a priceless smile is much more important. So we should smile every day no matter how tough it is😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fighting! πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maraming nagpapatawa sakin ee. Even a lamest joke can make me smile. I just want tobm be positive in life dahil kung pati ang pagtawa ee ipagkakait ko pa kay self baka naman maloka na ako. Anyways, fightuuuuu!! πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

AHAHAHA. Mahirap kasi tumawa kapag nalulunod ka na sa problema, Ate. Dadayain mo na lang talaga sarili mo para maging okay ka. Hay naku, fighting pa rin. 🀧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, if writing was giving you a smile then I think you should not stop writing for today hihi. Hmm, what makes me smile when I am down? Hmm, interesting question but I really don't know what makes me smile. Actually, when I got a message from a special person then I smile.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That special person should talk to you always, then. πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naka add na tong sa house husband sa list ko di ko pa lang binabasa kasi on going pa hahaha...yay may mga bagong suggestions na naman ako

pwede mo rin isali ang "Bromance " beb as in super laptrip din hahahaah

apirrr talaga tayo sa mahilig sa manwha although ikaw mahilig ka rin manood ako basa lang hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bromance? Yun ba yung kay Zanjoe Marudo na movie? Napanuod ko na yan. Pero if manga yan, di ako mahilig sa BL, mamsh. Straight ish me. πŸ˜‚

Completed na ata yung Gokushufudou. Meron na ngang anime at live action sa Netflix, eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hindi movie at hindi siya typical na BL hahahaah more on humor sila ganern student life...

mas mahilig ako magbasa kesa panuorin kasi iba yung emotion sa pagbabasa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay ganern. Sige, add to list na yarn. Mahilig din ako magbasa eh, kasi lahat ng details nandiyan unlike sa movie na maraming skips. Kaya bago ko panuorin yung anime, binabasa ko muna yung manga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ganyan din ako...hahaha apirrrr

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay apirrrr! Hahaha. Yung Harry Potter nga eh, binasa ko lahat ng books bago ko panuorin lahat ng movie. Mga mahigit isang taon ko din natapos basahin lahat yun sa school library.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haaha ako HS pa lang ako nakabasa nang Harry Potter pero mas matagal ko natapos ang movie kahit makailang beses ko na nabasa ang series haahha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago