Don't Get Swayed By Anxiety.

32 50
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

I have this habit sometimes that it even becomes too often now that whenever I get bored from everything I do either online or in real life, I just randomly call my family and friends to have a check on them. My regular victim is my Mother but when I have nothing important to tell her, I switch to other people like my cousins whom I didn't see for years. I just chitchat with them on whatever topic that we can think of and have fun, just so we can keep ourselves updated and also to know if one of us needs some help.

The same thing with my friends. I sometimes call them randomly without even asking for their permission if I can call whenever I saw them online on Messenger. Luckily, they don't get mad at me. They knew me pretty well —of how crazy and caring I am at the same time. But of course, I say sorry if I called that they were busy. They will just get back to me later and continue where we left off.

I often enjoyed having deep talks with them and hearing their stories to tell me even though some of them were just gossip and hearsays. As the caring person that I am, though it's not that obvious, I'm often glad to hear them share their worries and problems with me. I feel relieved also if I can help them even if it was only simple advice and glad also that they chose to vent it out on me. At least, I can help them by making them feel better and that they have someone who is always there that they can freely talk to without worrying that their secrets are going to leak out to the public. Well, keeping secrets for life is one of my specialty skills aside from being a good listener. Your secrets are safe with me.

One of these friends that I often check on is my best friend since we were in high school. We were just batchmates not classmates but I'm closer to him and I like hanging out with him than my classmates. My classmates were like elites; I feel like I was a misfit every time I was with them. On the other hand, if I'm with my best friend, I can freely be who I am without worrying that I will be judged and hear some criticisms. Since then, we treat each other like siblings even now. Among my friends in high school, he is one of these three friends that is left in my circle that never snobs me after graduation and we are still having communication even now.

I check up on him just this noon. I sent him a message saying, "Bwoii, let's chat. I'm bored. 😂"

Then he was like, "What's up, Marites?"

I don't reply anymore but directly make a call and he answered after a ring.

Then without further ado, he shares what are his worries on his mind. He told me that he is worried that he might fail in his last year in college. He said that after their thesis defense, he doesn't have any energy to do his schoolwork anymore. His group hasn't done well in their defense and is worried that it might be a failure. Having this anxiety, he slowly lost interest in his other schoolwork and even in his hobbies like skateboarding and biking.

Me being a good friend told him to go on and hold on a little more. I told him not to waste this opportunity anymore since this is already his last year in college. It's only a waste of time and money if he would repeat a year in college just because of a failed subject. Only 2 months to go and he will graduate, so why not keep pushing until the end, right?

His mood shifts and becomes livelier after that. He then began chuckling and blabbing a lot of things more about it. I just let him say whatever he wants to release all that stress that he has. It's not easy having all stress and anxiety, I know that and I have been through that. First, you'll just feel worried, then you overthink, then you got over nervous, then got afraid to try new things so you'll just stay in your room, then you lose interest in everything, then procrastination kicks in, then you'll feel lonely or sad until you get succumb to depression. Once you get drowned, it's hard to kick off and swim back to the surface.

I also told him that and suggested that he should just keep himself busy, so he could divert his attention into other things and forget his worries from time to time. He listened and told me that he will try to hang out with his friends and his girlfriend for some time. Then, I just told him to talk to me again whenever he felt like that again as we bid goodbyes since we have to talk for more than two hours already and he had to attend his class.


Have you checked your friends, too?

Comforting words are already a big help for them. Even if we can't help them with our physical service, let's just try our best to cheer them up.

Thanks for reading!

  • Images edited from Canva

  • You can also find me at;

Twitter|Instagram|Telegram|Torum|Noise.cash

17
$ 12.16
$ 11.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 7
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

Comments

Anxiety is such a productive killer. I used to have it but I realized we can control but still depends on the externally pressures like you know toxic environment and more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're really a good friend to them, pwede ba akong maging isa sa kanila. hehe anyway ganyan din ako, mangungulit din ako kahit di sila magreply basta alam nila na nag care parin ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay, pwedeng pwede po. Hahaha.

Mahilig talaga ako mag check sa mga kakilala ko, bahala na kahit makulitan sila sakin basta alam nila inaalala ko sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aie unli ka nyan lods dahil umabot ng 2 hours haha. Nag che check din naman ako ng friends after pag naaalala ko sila lods. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naka-wifi kasi kaya di inaalala kung muubos ang data. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha joke lamg yung naka unli lods haha,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My anxiety worsen nung pandemic and feeling ko babalik pag malapit na election. Parang kinakabahan ako everytime mag nagaaway sa net.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wag ka na mag social media kung ganun. Nakaka imbyerna nga naman talaga kapag tatambay sa FB, dami nag-aaway dahil lang sa politiko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bwooiii, seriously 2 hrs haha ang tagal ng usap. Pero you are really a good friend for checking you friend out. I'm not like that kasi. Pag di ako unang inaapproach di rin ako mag aapproach. Awan ko ba. Shy talaga me ee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Maikli pa yan. Kapag nagkita kami niyan in real life, halos buong araw. Mga baliw lang, tapos puro chismis at walang kwenta pinag-uusapan. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha kakatuwa naman talaga closeness nyo. Hanggang best friend lang ba talaha kayo 👀🥴

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hanggang dun lang talaga. Actually, kakumpare ko na siya ngayon. Naging Ninong siya ng anak ko eh. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganyan din tingin ko sa mga kaklase ko HAHA malaElite sila minsan at diko nagagawa o nasasabi gusto ko pag kasama ko sila so, Yung mga tinuturing ko lang na friend/s nakakachat ko 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tatlo lang naman yan sila in real life. Yung mga ka close ko talaga na di ko na kailangan mag effort para mag fit in. Ang sosyal kasi nung mga kaklase ko dati kaya di ko sila pinapansin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah 2 hrs of talked? kaya niyo yan hahahaha ako 10 minutes lang eh, di ko kaya babaran whahaha but it happened on weekends lang kasi alam ko din busy sila whahaha, sometimes were group having some video call in GC especially some occations hehe,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahahahaha. Dati nga noong high school, halos buong araw kapag magkasama kami eh. Mahilig kasi kami sa long talks about sa mga bagay-bagay, mga hilig namin, o kung ano mga planu namin sa buhay. Minsan mga chismis na din about sa mga kinaiinisan naming tao kaya natatagalan ang usapan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, no I haven't checked up on them from a long time. I generally prefer to be alone unless the other person really wants to talk to me, or need any help. Aha different human types,I see. It's a great quality of yours that people feel safe and share their secrets with you haha. I do have that, sometimes I feel like I'm just a locker to store secrets, haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes I prefer to be alone, too but I'm kind of talkative, so I check on them and have a chat when I feel bored.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah anxiety is such a beast! I struggle with it too sometimes and it can be so hard to keep your brain in a happy space!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, that's why I told him to keep himself busy to forget that kind of thought.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is clearly for me as I'm very terrible at checking up on my friends

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You should check on them now. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I checked my friends. And No doubt, with best friend we always feel at ease. I'm lucky to have friends who reply to my message even when they are busy. And if they're too busy then they call and discuss their matter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are lucky to have friends like that. You should treasure them more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hayss, paano ba kasi maalis tung thesis hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi n po talaga maalis alis yan eh. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for reminding me to check on the people we care about. It's really hard to deal with anxiety, I hope we all could find ways to cope.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just stay strong and keep yourself motivated every time. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I have to check on my friends after this article. It has been a really long time. Glad you were able to change the mood of your good friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I'm so happy that I have helped him through in that simple way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To be honest, it's really one ourselves how we deal with our problems. Don't let it eat you..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah yeah, I also have mentioned that to him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago