Discouragements Exist To Keep Us Going

5 29
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

Along the way to reach our goals, it is inevitable to encounter such obstacles, hardships, a sudden delay, misleading choices, a set of dilemmas, and most of all a lot of DISCOURAGEMENTS.

These things suddenly come out to block our way towards our goal as if testing our limits and patient to see if we deserve it or not. If you give up, YOU LOSE. If you pursue it until the end, then CONGRATULATIONS, YOU WON.

I Like Discouragements, Keep It Coming...

Image source

My main plan when the face-to-face classes are back is to enroll myself in College. I don't care if I'm already 3 years late or so, I just want to finish my studies. It's not a race anyway, it is about how much did you learn to boost your competence and skills to get you prepared for your dream job. With the situation right now, I guess it is not convenient to rush to graduate right now.

I have this Aunt and we're currently working on one household here, so we often talk. At first, I'm moved by her words since she is advising me to plan for my future and save as much as I can because we are going home when the quarantine is lifted. We are just talking until she asks what is my plan when we get home.

I said I'm going to study again and I'm going to enroll myself in college. I thought she is going to support me as she often does, but she did the opposite this time. I feel disappointed, I didn't expect that she would discourage me and persuade me to do her suggestions.

Not Bad But No, Thanks.

Image source

Well, she suggests that I should just use my savings on a business to help my family. She says since we're suffering from a pandemic now, many companies have been shut down and many people have lost their jobs. She said, if I pursue my college, I still can't find work since the competition is high because of those many people who lose their job. She also says that I already lost my chance to study because my time for it has passed already.

Her suggestion isn't bad but I'm determined so I don't buy it.

Let me break down what she said, then argue with it.

  • Use my saving on a business.

Yes, indeed. I'm going to put up my business and it's a part of my plan. No need to remind me. Actually, I have already started it. I bought a piece of rice paddy land from my mother. I also invested in other agriculture projects like planting vegetables and I can have a share of every harvest. This kind of business is used for essential needs, so I don't think I can't profit from it. If I don't put up a business, what else can I spend on my studies? Since I have a business, it doesn't mean that I should just stop right there and drop my plans. I can still study while having a business. Proper management can solve it all!

  • Unable to find work since the competition is high right now.

The competition is high right now, that's true. As an effect of quarantine restrictions, many companies, and establishments have been closed and bankrupted. As a result, the rate of unemployment increases. But it is the situation right now, what about 4 to 5 years from now? It's not like we're going to be stuck in this situation forever. When I enroll myself in college, it's not like I'm going to graduate instantly. I still have to spend 4 years to graduate before I can find work. Who knows what will be the future holds 4 to 5 years from now?

  • My time has passed already.

So, I can't study because I'm already 3 years late? Some people still study even if they are married and have children already. Some people still go back to school even if they are senior citizens already. Some people take a second course because they realized the first course isn't suitable for them. I have known a lot of people like that.

Remember the advertisement for Nescafé, the one about a security guard at a school in his forties?

He is married and has kids already but he still chooses to pursue his studies to give a brighter future for his family. He studies in the daytime and works at night time. Right now, he is a school teacher.

If he just stayed as a Security Guard and give up on his dreams, what do you think will happen to him? He will suffer and his family will suffer from poverty along with him.

I will leave this quote here.

Image source

CLOSING THOUGHTS

I argue with my Aunt about those using those standpoints that I stated above. She still insists on her suggestions, though. I just stop arguing with her and drop the topic since she has high blood pressure, I don't want to instigate her because I know I will be the one to blame if something bad happens to her. All I can say is if you're determined on your dreams, don't stop and don't give up.

____________________________

Lead image: source

Thanks for reading until the end. Stay safe and God bless us all!

3
$ 1.06
$ 0.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ZehraSky
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

Comments

While I believe your Aunt's suggestion came from a place of support, I disagree with her sentiment that the time for you to study has passed.

Education has no age limit. As long as you want to learn, you can still go to be educated. Having a diploma seems to make more options available to you in any case. Also, you will get more opportunities to expand your network which wi help in handling a business.

It's great that you invested your savings to a business too. That will be a great help in the future.

Good luck on your plans! Hopefully the pandemic ends soon so that we can go back to face to face classes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When she said my time for studying had passed already, that's the most disappointing part. But you know Boomers, they don't want to be corrected. So I just shut up and keep my arguments silent.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice! Your aunt's suggestion was really not bad at all, but yes! It was JUST a suggestion, and you are very free to stick on your own plans. Do your best, you can do it! My older sis haven't studied college for six years now, she is still working. :( Education is valuable so I hope she could study too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's never too old to learn. My cousin just graduated and he is 30. It all depends on your determination.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this. My ate is such a patient person.

$ 0.00
2 years ago