A Book, A Call, And Missed Delivery

4 27
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

I'm not that busy but just trying to make myself busy. I don't want to just immerse myself in scrolling my newsfeed on Facebook when I have nothing to do. I wanted it to be more productive and useful. At least, I can have more learning and experience in my free time. Then, it occurs to me that I should start opening the pages of my e-books, start reading them, absorb the ideas written on their pages, and engrave those in my mind, so I can make them as a reference for future use.

I remembered that last night, we used to talk about movies on our group chat on Telegram and I have recommended a movie, "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies", to Laurenceuu since he asked for some suggestions of a movie wherein there is a mystery, action, thriller, and zombie genre in it. That's the first thing that comes to my mind, so I suggested it. I just hope that he could like it just like I can't forget how bloody lovely it was. I also remembered suddenly this morning that in the movie, the book "Art of War" was mentioned.

I wanted to search for it if it is a real book. As I opened my Play Books App, it just appeared on the recommendations as if Google did read my mind. I was even luckier when I saw the price of the book, it was just $1. Then, immediately bought the book, then paid via Gcash, and started reading it. At first, it got my interest 'cause I never expected its content. For some instances, I expected that it would be some action-fiction novel since the review says a lot about how much of a masterpiece it is. I surely never thought that the contents of that book were real strategies for handling wars. As in wars with the armed forces of two or more nations fight with each other until someone wins and someone loses.

Then, it occurs to me to call my friend who was our Tactical Officer in our Citizenship Advancement Training back then in Junior High School. He is also a Philippine Air Force Reservist Administration Officer in Bacolod City last year but right now, he is already an Ambulance Dispatch Officer. We often call each other to talk about anything like our love life, our previous friends, our previous teachers, politics, or any other topics that we could talk about when we get bored. So this time since he has a lot of experience in the military, I asked him about the book if he had read it or just heard about it. Unfortunately, he said NO.

He just urged me to keep reading it. He even said that maybe I can make use of my learnings from that book if I joined the reserve officers someday. He was just leading me to the topic of joining there again. I just laughed it off and said that if Covid-19 would permit me to go home next month, then maybe I would consider the offer. Then our next topic leads to the Mandatory Military Service of Sara Duterte if she would be elected as the Vice President this May 2022 elections. We exchanged opinions about it and in just seconds, our opinions were the same. We both agree with it. LOL.

I mean, military service is not just for battling in wars. We could also learn how to be disciplined citizens, some laws in our country, emergency preparedness, calamity rescue operations, environmental care, patriotism, volunteerism, and emergency medical services. Do you get it? It's not just for wars like the other politicians are mumbling about on media just to make the public remember their names. Those who object to this are just lazy and timid people. If you are physically fit, then why not?

We ceased talking about the topic and drop the call when lunchtime comes. After that, I got busy with my piled-up tasks also. When I finished, it was already past 2 pm and I have to hurry to take a bath to have more time to rest after. That rest time also means grinding time to me since it was the only time where I can type words on my Keep Notes, then publish it here and read some of your articles. I have been slacking off lately and my profit has also slumped to half of my November earnings. I need to push myself a little more to at least pump it higher this month. No to lazy bones, I got mouths to feed.

When I finished bathing, I checked my phone where I charged it while I'm in the bath. I was surprised to see messages from the delivery guy who was supposed to deliver my Gcash Mastercard. I never expected it since I thought they would deliver it after 7 days. They never mentioned that it was within 7 days instead. When I checked the time that the message was sent, it was sent at 3 pm, and when I read the message, it was already 3:16 pm. I hurriedly went to the gate to check if he was still there, but he already left. The guards told me that they can't claim it and just let me retrieve it when I got time afterward because Gcash was strict to instruct them to hand it over personally.

I called the delivery guy immediately and explained the situation, then apologize for not meeting him earlier. He said it was fine, they just can't hand it over to someone else but us, since it is a very important thing. They need to make sure that it wouldn't be lost or the information in it wouldn't be stolen by someone else. So we agreed on my terms that he could drop it on the guards and I'll just claim it afterward, settles tomorrow afternoon again. I told him that I have work in the afternoon, so I may not be available that is why he can trust the guards to hand it over to me.


And that's how my uninteresting day had been! How are you, people? I hope you are all fine and well. Take care of yourselves. Flu season and Covid-19 are actively infecting people these days.

Anyway, thanks for reading!

  • Images edited from Canva

  • You can also find me at;

Twitter|Instagram|Telegram|Torum|LinkedIn

5
$ 6.11
$ 6.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ling01
$ 0.05 from @Infinity
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

Comments

Quite a day, great conversations happened po. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga eh. Kakamiss yung usap-usap lang ng mga walang kwenta hanggang madaling araw.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So this only means na huli na ako sa balita, di ko alam na may planong ganito si Sarah if sya manalo hahha but I think maganda din maidudulot nito, lalo na sa mga lalaki.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Babae at lalaki po yan. Yan ang usap-usapan ngayon eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago