The Beginning of My Dream as a Writer

3 32
Avatar for Awawu
Written by
3 years ago

I've always been a talkative writer. But only whines and life uncertainties and questions written in a whole page of my school pad. That was when I was in high school when family and school pressures me so much.

I want to be a writer. Writing articles, novels, and even for the school paper. I think when I hear or read something like- "I am a writer", when somebody asks someone. Cool, smart, intelligent. But I think my grammar could not be qualified to be a good writer. My vocabulary is not as dense as a person could be of my age. But I am trying. Reading books is what I do to compensate. Reading novels out loud, sending off different emotions to every manga I read, talking to myself in the mirror and watching more English shows. It may seem to be a bit late for me to learn this all, when I could've made a step many years back. But there are no point regretting. I just have to move forward and meet my goal.

Being a writer requires extensive research on the plot, the places, characters. You just don't write something and put it on writing then and then. What I understood is, in order to reach your audience effectively, describing each detail, emotions, and expressions mattered a lot. Your reader should feel that she is the main character, and the mind travelling through the imaginary world to which the author have created. It is like thrusting yourself in a the world of a video game where you have to play the lead, except that you cannot see the whole thing, but instead, your mind is picturing it.

Also dedication is very important. Yes, I dreamt of becoming a writer. I adored every friend I have who writes articles for a living. I wish I could too. I guess my confidence is backing off, knowing that my grammar sucks. But I am trying. And I will keep trying, because if I stop, then when?

So for you who's reading my 1st article, do you think I am good enough to be a novice writer? Please be my critique and I would appreciate every tip and advice that you can share to me.

2
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @eommaZel
Avatar for Awawu
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

NYC

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much. I am trying my best in every way. ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Writing this as your first article is a great step in becoming a good writer. I remember way back in high school, I'm also the same as you. Haha, my grammar isn't perfect 'til now and my vocabulary isn't wide also. I write short stories, poems, and journals when I was in high school. I'm not that good until now but at least I'm trying my best to reach my dream.

My writing style is different, though. I write what's on my mind, spontaneously. I write what I pictured and scenes that I imagined. It's kinda easy for me to write that way since I'm not that expressive when it comes to article writing.

Just do it little by little, one step at a time. Do it from the simplest to the one you can call a masterpiece. If you have that burning passion to pursue your dream of becoming a good writer, just enjoy what you are doing and just ignore those critics.

$ 0.00
3 years ago