The threat of carnival

8 34
Avatar for ArteFM
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Nature, Diary, Blog, Life, Celebration, ...

Hello my dear friend from read.cash, I hope you are feeling very well today in spite of all the bad things that are happening in the neighboring countries, I hope you are safe and in good health. This year has not started well for many, but we must remain positive so that everything gets better.

 

Saturday, February 26th

 

I hope you already know what Carnival is, and if you don't you can read my previous articles: Carnival is coming, What is Calypso? As you have already seen, these dates are important for us Venezuelans, they are holidays of celebration and we are very rumberos, so many love when carnival comes because they are 5 days of celebration from Friday 25 to Tuesday 1, but really carnival this year is only Monday 28 and Tuesday 1, but well, we like to party....

 

The threat to the carnival...

I don't understand what's going on, the weather has gone a little crazy, maybe it's a product of climate change, I don't know. These days are supposed to be days of drought, not rain. I understand that in many countries there is winter, summer, autumn and spring, but in my country that does not happen, we only have rainy season and seasons where it does not rain.

We are currently in a dry season, it could rain, of course it could, but it is not very normal. Since Thursday the sky has been full of very gray clouds, yesterday it rained but very little. The sky was totally gray, there was no sun, the clouds threatened rain, the breeze was really strong, you could not walk well, the breeze pushed you, at night it rained a little, but what we had more was lightning and thunder.

The threat of a big storm started today...

From dawn until now (it's 6 pm) the weather has been totally gray, threatening heavy rain, lots of breeze that shakes the windows and lots of thunder.... Oh, oh, I don't want it to keep raining so hard, the power might go out and that means I'll be alone and in the dark in the house, I really don't like this, even less if there's a lot of thunder still outside. At the time I am writing this there is no internet, the rain has cut off all communication, making it difficult to send messages, call or write on read.cash.

I am also very worried about Luis, my couple. He left early with his brother because they have to play today at the carnival parade, but with the rain, I don't know what happened... There is not a very good signal, so I can't communicate with Luis. They were supposed to play around 4 or 5pm, but they left at noon to meet and rehearse with the other musicians.

I'm not really worried about them canceling the carnival because of the rain, I don't think so, I'm worried about Luis, my brother-in-law and the musical instruments, which can't get wet and they were not assigned transportation, meaning they have to go by public bus and they have to play pretty far away. So it's really dangerous to go by bus with instruments on top of them and it's raining

 

What has happened at the moment

Right now the rain has stopped a little bit, and I think I hear some comparsas in the distance, or maybe it's my mind making me believe that, I don't know... Has the carnival been ruined by the rain? I don't know... I saw that in several places where I live the comparsas would start at 5pm, but the rain didn't let that happen.

Despite everything that is going on I would have liked to see the parades and costumes even from afar. I just hope everyone is ok and that the concert goes great and ends early, because if they don't have transportation to come it will be really risky to take the public bus back.

Right now the sky is still covered with big black clouds, saying that it may keep raining later, I don't like those threats.

Why is rain a threat?

Well even though many of us like the rain, when it comes to an event it's a bit of bad luck that it rains, because it can make the effort that someone has gone through come to nothing, they can cancel the event and it's really sad. As a musician and artist I feel really bad if I have spent a lot of time preparing for an event and then they cancel it because of heavy rains, it's like the time I had invested didn't mean much, that's why it's a bit of bad luck, or we could also be in the middle of the event and get caught in the rain.

Finishing this article Luis has called me, he told me that he is fine and that he was at the house of a friend of the group, waiting for the rain to pass, but he doesn't know if they will play or not, he also told me that they will talk about the transportation since it was risky to leave like this.

It is 1am, the internet has just arrived, I had not been able to publish the article before because of this, a few hours ago Luis called me and told me that he was going to play at 11pm, they put his group last, all the events were moved because of the rains, I just hope that tomorrow this does not happen. Luis just arrived, he had a lot of problems at the concert, but he is fine.

Thank you very much my dear friend for visiting my article and having reached the end, remember that you can also visit and comment on the stories of my dear sponsors.

Sponsors of ArteFM
empty
empty
empty

See you in the next article!  

All content is original

All images were downloaded from the web

Greetings from Venezuela

7
$ 2.04
$ 1.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Frankmart
+ 3
Avatar for ArteFM
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Nature, Diary, Blog, Life, Celebration, ...

Comments

The rains are necessary at this time but in the mountains, the rivers have a very low flow. It's good that everything went well despite the rain

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, the weather was very cold and there was a bit of fog, but everything went well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, I'm glad that your partner finally got home safe and sound. Rain is a concern when it causes some damage and power outages. Stay safe my dear...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes, it came in the wee hours of the morning, but that's okay. I like the rain, but I don't go out much when the weather is like that because it's dangerous.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Venezuela.... Wow!!. That's in southern America, right..?. Rain has its way of spoiling ones plans and I must admit I have being a victim in the past, hahaha. Sorry about it there... I pray normality is restored and signs of storms disappear. Nice article friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it is in South America. I also wish the rainy weather was not in these dates, because it spoils the sacrifice of many artists. Thank you very much for your comment

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here for carnival it is always just cold and wintery weather...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I've always remembered carnival with sun and heat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago