Why did I take my most hated course in college?

4 28
Avatar for Argent
Written by
2 years ago

Flashback:

I started studying at the age of 5, well most of us are. I still remember my first day of school when my father gave me 1 peso coin as my penny allowance on that day. I was very happy and because of that, I was inspired to go to school and study hard just for the sake of money, but don’t get me wrong cause that was just a child motivation so that my dad can persuade me to go to school and that was effective. I finished kindergarten as the top one of the class. For them, it was an achievement that needs to be celebrated but for me, it was just a play and I think I didn’t even do anything to make it to the top, it just so happen that I already know how to read at the age of five, thanks to my mother who strictly taught me to read.

During my six years in elementary, I changed my motivation.  I always keep in mind that I want to become somebody, somebody that I can be proud of but first I need to study hard. Then later on I found myself enjoying the life of being an elementary pupil just like the rest of the kids. Six years of learning and adopting new knowledge that will become my foundation when I step forward to the next level of my life as a student. Honestly, from the moment I started grade school, I don’t want to be at the top cause I don’t feel I belong on that list that’s why I level myself and didn’t care about my study that much but I made sure that my grades won’t fall below 85 and so I did. I did not even get a grade lower than 89 which was enough for me, and if you’re wondering about my highest grade then it's above 95.

I started to take some interest in specific subjects in junior high. I don’t know maybe it’s just how life should be. Everything change. I love science and mathematics and I do love these two even now. There was a time that even if I don’t want to join a competition the school always pursue me and I can’t say no to them. I joined the school publication even I’m not a fan of writing too much maybe because I’m a lazy person but because I’m a natural vocal person and I love debates, the school publication coordinator still wants me to join the club and so I did. There was this specific event also that I was supposedly enjoying my free morning at school when suddenly my science teacher asked a favor if I can join them and become a substitute to another student because he’s not feeling well. I’m not wearing my uniform at that time so the guard of that particular  school where we were headed stopped me, thankfully I had my ID

Upon entering the venue of the quiz bee competition they are all staring at me as if I’m important or maybe because I’m wearing a blue shirt and jagger pants. In the end, we won first place or technically I won because It’s an individual quiz bee. As years went by, we are expected to think of our best course options which we will soon take in college. For me Bs. Biology, Education, and Medicine are the best options because I hate Accountancy, there was this time that I swore to myself and my peers that I will never choose accountancy because I hate problems and I don’t want numbers anymore.

Life indeed never had a straight path and it does contain so many doors for opportunity and failure I never anticipated that after my graduation, my mother will send me to my Tita's place and she planned to enroll me there without even my concern. Thankfully, my sister was there having her vacation leave and took me with her after. I thought I can finally enroll in a school where I can spend my Senior high as a STEM student but I was wrong because the school where I enrolled with drops their offer of the strand I wanted the most because the enrolled students were fewer than expected. So, I ended up in the strand of Accountancy Business and Management (ABM). For so many years of hatred of this strand, destiny still brought me here. This is the time when I finally found out about the wrong connotation of some about accountancy. They say it is more on numbers and problem-solving but it was a false argument. The fact is, it is more on understanding and comprehension. You don’t need to worry about numbers because you are allowed to use a calculator well unless it is a conversion. After all, it is rare for an accounting student to be allowed to use a scientific calculator most especially in major subjects.

I spent my senior high trying to cope up with unfamiliar terms in accounting subjects tho it was not that bad but I can’t find my enjoyment, I was still one of the top students tho, so, my guardians didn’t see any problems about it.

The Present:

When it was time to enroll in college, I took Bs. Accountancy just to be in line with what I finished in Senior High. I tried to enroll in public school but I was on the latter part of the list so, they rejected my application along with the other students who did not make it to the cut-off. I tried to take exams in different fields and passed them but I don’t want to start again from scratch and try to cope up with other students so I decided to enroll in other schools where I currently enrolled right now.

The first year was tough but nice. I got a scholarship so I didn’t worry that much financially. I’m a war freak by the way and I treat other people exactly like how they treat me, professors are not an exception to that. So, there was this professor who talks veiled things and events which was an allusion about me and one of my classmates and so I got pissed because she tackles it until the end of her time. So, when she asked the class to make a journal or a diary, I wrote what she did and explicitly mentioned that a professor who likes to tackle some personal issues of her student in front of the class without the student consent whether it is not directly pinpointed on him, still it was disrespectful and she acts unprofessionally and she seems uneducated. Not to mention that she is the scholarship coordinator of the school but I don’t care because she doesn’t have the right to do such things.

So, I’m now in my 3rd year in college and I’ve learned a lot so far, I can’t find a way to find my happiness in this course tho, but it’s alright I know I’m here because of my own choice and I do believe that in every situation we have, there are always options in which you can choose from the question is how are we going to choose which among those options is the best for us. For me, this is my choice and I’ll finish what I started.

Tips:

For those aspiring students there who want to take accountancy in college make sure you always have your calculator. Do not be afraid of numbers so long as you know how the four basic mathematical operations work, then you can do it. Be sure to read and read and read more. Try to enhance your comprehension skills because problem-solving in accounting is 30 percent numbers and 60 percent understanding. If you fail to understand the problem and the question then you’ll arrive at the wrong answer. Keep in mind that a problem in accounting is just like DABARKADs, one for all, all for one, meaning, one problem is related to every process so if you commit a mistake in journalizing then the rest will follow hence you’ll arrive at the wrong answer.

 

3
$ 1.38
$ 1.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
$ 0.01 from @dLifeWanderer
Avatar for Argent
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I think what you should remember in accountancy is learning how to follow rules and directions.. as long as you have that you're good to go

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a good tip dear.., when I was in my 2nd year in college, I am telling my brother that I wanted to shift to Engineering but he told me to try Accountancy instead, maybe because of the things required in Engineering which we can't afford. I am not good in math, I can't even memorize the multiplication table that made me want to take Engineering, I might enhance my skills and knowledge in this subject. But then decided to continue and finish what I enrolled. Fast forward, I graduated, did have a job related to my profession, but still asks myself if I made the right decisiion 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sometimes we choose to just go for what others want us to be. I think you did the right decision in choosing your course and if you're not happy then it's your choice. thank you for the upvote tho.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it's my choice..., at times I enjoy it, but there are times I question myself, if this is really for me or not 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago