Does your Grades really matters?

3 49
Avatar for Argent
Written by
3 years ago

Before anything else, I would like to clarify that this article has nothing against the regulation of any school and/or any department of the government nor a form of persuasive argument to encourage anybody not to give their best in their studies, thus this is just an opinionated piece base from personal experiences and point of view of the author.

Have you ever experience receiving a low grade if not fail in any subject that you've already taken? Does it hurts you, given the fact that you know you can do better than that? or Did yo feel ashamed or embarrassed because of this? or perhaps you've already felt unconvinced at least one time in your school life because you receive a grade which you think is not proportional from the performance you gave?

Well maybe all of us or some if not all were a victim of these scenarios didn't we? Personally, your's truly is one of the victim and it happens not once nor twice nor even trice but I think more than ten times. I've experienced the first when I was in grade 6, that time I wanted to show my best in each and every subject because I knew that it will be my last year in elementary and I want my parents to be proud of me and so I did my best. At first it was great my teacher even pinpointed me as her favorite because as per her I'm so active in class discussion and recitation specially in Math and Science in fact she even assigned me to teach my classmates who's copes up slowly in our class and so the first to second quarter of the class goes well and doesn't surprise me anymore because I'm a consistent honor student but what surprises me was the result of my grades in third and fourth quarter, I've lost almost 10 points in each quarter and it's very disappointing and I was so embarrassed with myself up to the point that I asked myself why did you let it happen? how did you become so lame and fool? but then again I realized that I can never return to the past and try to fix what is need to be fix and so I accepted it same as my parents well actually the fact that I passed all of my subjects is enough for them and I'm very blessed to have such a proud parents like them.

I thought that feeling of embarrassment will never happen again but I was wrong because in my 3rd quarter of grade 7 I received a grade of 79 and it was shocking because my previous grades in the preceding quarters was all line of 9. My teacher then asked me how it happened? we even traced my documents such as projects quizzes, activities and later on found out that I did not missed any of these documents but she gave me a lower points because at the time when they were doing those activities I was sent to other school as a representative of our school to compete of course then the issue were passed on the higher authority of the school in the end I decided not to change it because that time It doesn't matter anymore to me, for me it just a number and even if I get a failing grade that only means I failed their expectation but in the end I can still say that I grew as a man because I learned something that's why from that moment I stop looking at my grade as a reference of development because I knew it isn't.

Just think about it, there are people who isn't that good in school but later on they become successful in fact even more successful as compared to their classmates who excels pretty much in their school days, there are also farmers who did not even finish their basic education and yet becomes successful. So I think it no matter what your grades are it doesn't measure your intelligence, it is just a measure to satisfy the others expectations, and to prove yourself but not define you as a person and as an intelligent individual.

However, I didn't say that you can let your grades fail and you will not make a way to improve it and let it same as before remember your grades is a precautionary measure to prevent others to judge you and to secure that you will still finish your studies. I'm telling you it's best to graduate with flying colors and it's good to push through and make a good mark just erase the mindset that "if you receive failing grades or lower ones then your life is doom" because I'm telling you that kind of mindset is bulls**t.

Now for those students out there always do your best but do not push yourself too much because anything too much is harmful. Just chill in yourself find time to relax and a wonderful time to learn. As of now I'm in my 2nd year college and the only thing I can share to you guys is the fact that learning do counts yet it cannot be measured by numbers. And one more thing, in college, it's better to have a unity in class please learn to lift yourself and the others then eradicate the competition in that way we can survive college.

thank you for reading this article!

Note: this article is not proofreaded

Note 2.0: this article is opinionated so feel free to criticize!

4
$ 2.65
$ 2.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Argent
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I grew up in a strict family so I have a grades to maintain, and now that I'm in college as an education student I still have grades to maintain. So, yeah, grades really matters to me. But it also happened to me that my teacher mark me INC and I don't even know why since I am very diligent in passing all the requirements and tasks. When we traced it back, we found out that it was the teacher's fault since he didn't look carefully for the project submitted. But it's all done, I was scolded by my parents already and I still needed to comply for that INC. What a pity. It's really hard to be a student.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Does it hurts you, given the fact that you know you can do better than that? or Did yo feel ashamed or embarrassed because of this?

Personally, I am a senior high student during this pandemic. Since it's pandemic, we need to have modules to pass every week. I need to answer it and unfortunately, we only waiting for deadlines but we didn't noticed that we are just searching for our grades and we are not learning. That's sad truth. I got good grades but all of them are from Google

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Growing up as an honor student I've always tried to do my best to have good grades but I do so not to impress but for myself to have better opportunities for scholarships and to quality education. I always remind myself that it's nit the grade that matters but the learnings that you get that. Also try not to compete with anyone, but comoete with yourself and always aim for your improvements.

$ 0.00
3 years ago