(Update: Fixed!) Boosting Glitch - Paid, but no Boost

12 22
Avatar for AntiSJWLeft
3 years ago

(Update: I contacted the site admin and this situation has been fixed!)

I've had a pretty good time using Read.Cash, but yesterday I ran into a pretty serious bug that cost me a little bit of money.

I tried to boost one of my articles from my wallet, but got an error message. I tried a second time shortly after, and got the same message. About an hour later I tried a 3rd time and it worked, but I noticed that the money for all three boosts had been taken from my account. I looked at the My Boosts section of my account menu and confirmed that I had not actually gotten any views or interaction from the boosts, and the boost was never marked as active.

Here is the record of transactions from my wallet. Of the three significant transactions (ignore the one cent tips) only the one circled in red led to a successful boost:

Again, my experience here has been good overall, but this was a bit of an issue. I know $5 isn't a lot of money, but I would still appreciate if this could be fixed somehow.

8
$ 0.19
$ 0.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of AntiSJWLeft
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for AntiSJWLeft
3 years ago

Comments

AFAIK, Read.Cash is a one man shop, but to the extent that is true, he's quite dedicated. Send him the info using the e-mail address at the bottom of the menu that pops up when you point at your balance and I imagine this can be resolved. While he has banned himself, you can still read articles from him that might be relevant to some degree, for instance: https://read.cash/@Read.Cash/is-your-money-safe-e2377bed https://read.cash/@Read.Cash/stolen-money-multiple-devices-etc-3e3ef9c3

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thanks for the info! And yes, this just got fixed! Out of curiosity, why did he ban himself?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

He posted this: https://np.reddit.com/r/btc/comments/i0bkfx/readcash_founder_threatens_ban_permanent_fund/

He stated in that post, he would ban someone if they posted it on read.cash and that's why he posted it on reddit instead. He thought the post got moderated, but he still wanted it posted, so he posted it on read.cash and banned himself for posting it on read.cash accordingly. I can't find it on read.cash now, or I would have just pointed you to the read.cash copy. I also wouldn't have found the reddit copy, because I assumed he was correct that it was moderated away, but the jist of the explanation would have been the same. I think the read.cash copy included this explanation. Someone else posted this when he did it: https://np.reddit.com/r/btc/comments/i0mei2/sad_fact_of_the_day_readcash_banned_himself_from/

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for showing me that, it is very informative. There is always drama in the crypto space unfortunately, and it does look like (as far as I can tell) that "copy" never emerged. I'm glad to see that the site seems to be moving forward from this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, he posted it on read.cash as the read.cash user and then banned himself. I'm not sure why it's gone now. Unless you mean some potential article he discussed in that post, been a while since I read it all. Definitely easy to get disillusioned when you're trying to drive something like BCH adoption and it seems like everyone is out to stop you one way or another.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It will be ok

$ 0.00
3 years ago

same here .spend small amount of money for boosting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I experienced something similar yesterday. Send a mail to hello@read.cash detailing the amounts and failed boosts. Also include your username. I hope this helps.

$ 0.01
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

Just to update you, this worked out! I got my money back and everything is good now!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am very glad to hear that. Cheers mate

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

Thanks, I'll give this a shot!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article dear.Please also visit my articles.

$ 0.00
3 years ago