Why is good healthcare system a luxury?

0 10

Death. The unwanted visitor that came into my home unannounced and took my priceless grandmother. I clearly remember the sound of her laughter, her melodious voice when she tells the tales by moonlight, the sound of the dices when she taught me how to play and her grin when she wins a WHOT card game.

I lost my grandma in the year 2006, to the cold hands of death due to wrong use of drug in her health management. I could clearly remember my mum’s voice when she came in a day after my grandma was admitted due to work as she shouted “change this drug”, because grandma had a history of low blood sugar but her intervention came late because grandma was already in a hypoglycemic coma. As a child, all I could think of was, why was grandma given a wrong drug? That thought kept on echoing in my head throughout my childhood up to my adolescent age. But one thing finally became clear to me and that’s the fact that in my country good healthcare system is a luxury and not a basic necessity.

 Nevertheless, this clarity didn’t stop me from asking questions such as: Why is good healthcare not easily accessible? Why is our healthcare system inefficient? Why are there increased medication errors which can lead to untimely death of a loved one? Why can’t accurate and personalized health care information be easily accessible? Why is good healthcare system a luxury? This is the dilemma we having been living in and hoping it will change soon.

 As the saying goes the youths are the future leaders but in my country that saying may just remain as a saying. But I must keep up with my positive attitude towards every negativity cause that’s the only thing keeping my sanity.

 

1
$ 0.00

Comments

Please guys read and tell me what you think. Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your post is awesome, I can feel the emotion in it. Death is one thing we can never predict, we just have to accept it which ever way it comes..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You go baby girl, I love your write up there is a connection to our ongoing current situation.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It feels surreal to hear a medical perspective on a personal tragedy. Kudos for the breakdown. Keep going

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's a nice one, the message of the story is actually in relations to what we're facing presently. May God help our Country! Well-done dear....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Always be positive my dear. Yes its is very important to have quality and class healthcare..Thank you for information. 😇

$ 0.00
3 years ago