The Good Life

8 8

I recently relocated to another state in my country. Got an apartment at the Island part of the state, because I was told “good life resides there”. Everyone loves a good life right. I started off by applying for jobs around the island, taking a good view of the good life I have come to join, meeting new and interesting people, enjoying a better power supply, it was really looking like good life actually resides here. Few weeks later, I was called for a job interview with a reputable company. The interview went well, I impressed the manager and I was applauded for my accomplishments at such a young age. The result for the interview would be out in two weeks time and I was quite confident that I was going to get.

While waiting for a feedback from them, I used my free time to explore my new environment. Every sound felt like a melody, the sky embraces me with all its hues, the sun smiled down so warm on my skin like the love of a mum, the sound of the big cars driving so fast and the beautiful crafts and arts that represents the ancestral history of the state. It felt like paradise on earth, I felt like my hard work of so many years is beginning to pay off. Two weeks wasn’t so far after all, the company called on a Thursday morning to congratulate me on my new job and I was asked to resume work next week Monday. I was excited not surprise because I know my worth. I have suffered way too much to get to this point. The sleepless nights, days I lost loved ones because of financial constraints, the hustle and bustle of the big cities where your efforts feel like little or nothing at all. Life hasn’t always been this good for me, but now I’m ready to enjoy life because I have earned it.

The sound of the rain as it poured down throughout the night was a melody to behold as I slept soundly, because this is the first time its raining since I moved here. The day to start work was finally here. I woke up early and prepared because I wouldn’t want to be late on my first day at work and with the rain that fell yesterday night there might be a little traffic. I’m all set to go, just locked up my house, walking down to the bus stop to take a bus but only to see an ocean throughout the street. I was in total shock; I couldn’t believe this. How is this even possible? Is this part of the good life? Does this happen every time it rains? Am I supposed to swim to work? How can such big area not have a good drainage system? How do others in this area survive? My last question was quickly answered as I saw most people driving out with their big cars.

Then clarity set in, “good life resides” here they said. Now we know the people that truly enjoyed the good life. People like us are just taking a bite. But on a second thought, are they really enjoying a good life. Having your car go through such can cause serious damage, some cars might even breakdown. How can this be a good life; you pay such huge amount of money to rent or even buy a land in this area only to be going through this every rainy season. This is really an eye sore and the reality of life is that people still say this is where good life resides.

 

2
$ 0.00

Comments

Wow. Like I can relate to your story, it's very unique, love the way you express yourself in it. Keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well Great article 👍. I have this though but I won't say it. I'll just keep them for myself.

Waiting for more article from you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good life article is really very nice. I liked it very much. Thank you so much for sharing a nice article. I also try tom make my own article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good life... I have the same. For a change already weeks without water. Before mud mainly. I guess as long they can ask what they want you can take it or leave it. I know years ago there was some protection if you rented. You could pay only a part of the rent. The government changed it. No matter how bad it's even allowed to raise the rent.

I added your post to Freewriting.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We need a good life and all of us want a good life. Work hard if you want a good and healthy life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True good life thats people wants always to have a good happy lifetime, we always dream that all peoples dream that a happy life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Every person want a good life but it is possible with hard work

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And that is the good life, that you thought you had achieved, by your way of moving, and waiting for your hiring, since from there, you did not imagine, that the roads would be as you found them, a neighborhood.

$ 0.00
3 years ago