My Principle of Getting Things Done: Slowly But Surely

17 25
Avatar for Amy05
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Slow, Sure Result

Rushing things out doesn't always come up with a good results at the end, so it's better to do it slowly but better results is surely.

My sister asked me, why am I so slow in doing my learning activities? She is actually waiting for me to get done in using her laptop earlier and she's a bit impatient about how slow I am to finish what I'm doing.

I don't have my own laptop so I always asked my sister to borrow her's but, most of the time she didn't allow me since she's also busy with it and she has lots of stuffs to do there since she's a fourth year college already and has been working on their field study.

Going back, she's been checking on me from time to time asking if I'm already done. Actually, I am trying my best to progress a little bit fast since today is the deadline of that activity even though my instructor just assigned it to us few hours ago. But, my overthinker self made me slow down even more.

I have these questions in my head like

  • What if my answers will be wrong?

  • What if my instructor will give me low grades for answering it wrong?

  • What if my instructor humiliate me in front of the class for my mistakes?

  • What if everyone will be disappointed with my work?

I admit, I am really an overthinker and paranoid. Whenever I'm doing things I keep on thinking carefully and I can't just do it in an instant especially if it requires proper decision making. I don't want the results to be compromised because of me, playing with the process.

One of my classmates even messaged me about that activity, asking if I am done already. I said "no" and she reacted haha on my message. I wasn't offended actually, because I know that she's fully aware about my attitude and personality. She even replied "okay ms. perfectionist" and I laughed hard with that remarks. I don't want to consider myself as a perfectionist yet since I am still not on the professional stage and I've been making mistakes in some of my activities even though I carefully answered it all.

Gladly, few hours ago before writing this article, I am finally done with my activity. And I can say that I am satisfied with every answer I made even though there's no results yet coming from my instructor. She hasn't evaluated it yet but, I am looking forward for a good or not disappointing scores because I know to myself that I exerted efforts on that.

As for my sister, she is now using her laptop though it's a little bit late and her eyes are sleepy already. I am a bit guilty because if I used her laptop for how many hours and I somehow hindered her to finish her tasks as early as possible. But, the guilt just fade away when I found out that she will just use it for some reasons not related to her studies and she's not actually rushing. She's just trying to pressure me, I guess, and that's why we end up laughing.

I'm always been a fan of the "slowly but surely" quote. That is one of my principle in everything I do, and I don't want my impulsiveness to prevail as I am afraid of the possible outcomes, though there are times that I inevitably commit it but, I ended up being regretful.

For me, it's better to progress slowly but I am surely heading to the best outcome unlike doing everything fast/instant but always end up failing and frustrated.

CLOSING THOUGHTS

Doing things slowly doesn't always considered as a negative act especially if we have valid reasons for doing it. But, if someone did everything slowly because he/she is lazy or not totally committed with his/her work, that's not acceptable at all.

Sometimes, if we achieve or finished something in an instant, the satisfaction doesn't last longer and could fade as quickly as it came. But, if we did things slowly with enough efforts, hardworks, critical thinking, and good decision process, for sure, the level of happiness at the end is irreplaceable and unforgettable.

Don't feel bad when you're progressing slowly that other's might laugh at you. Don't get pressured when someone finished something earlier than you. We all have our own timeline and slowly, we can surely achieve/reach everything we want in life.


Author's Note:

This article is inspired by my own experience earlier while doing my activity. I already "turn in" my activity in Google Classroom few hours ago and I am glad that I finished it before the said deadline which is later at 11:59 pm.

The allotted time is not that long compared to what my other instructors are giving but, I am still happy since I didn't rush things out and I didn't commit cramming or procrastination anymore unlike last year.

Anyway, thank you for reading this and I hope that you did pick some lessons here that you can apply in the future.

I want to express my gratitude for those who are consistently supporting me everytime I'm publishing my works. To all of my old and new readers, thank you very much for always leaning your time in reading my articles. And to my sponsors, I am so grateful for having you all, I hope you are all doing fine and happy.

May God bless you always! πŸ˜‡β€οΈ

Advance Merry Christmas! πŸŽ„πŸŽ…


Date Published: September 24, 2021

Lead Image and Gif: Originally made by me using Canva

10
$ 6.28
$ 6.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Marinov
$ 0.03 from @trixdawson
+ 4
Sponsors of Amy05
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Amy05
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Slow, Sure Result

Comments

May pagkapareho po tayo, nong akoy nag aaral pa sa college halos po lahat ng activities homework ay mabagal akong gumawa or sumgot minsan naabot ng ilang oras akong paulit ulit sa pagbabsa ng questions. Minsan kasi naiisp natin na bka hindi yun ang tamang sagot don or bka hindi mgustohan ng prof. Kinaiinisan din ako minsan ng frend ko non kasi may activities kami and isa lang din ang laptop na ginagamit so dahil ako yung matagal sumagot at gumawa dna man sa gusto ko perfect mas yung ok lang talaga tingnan. Kaya ayun kapag may mga ganun lagi akong huli. But sympre worth it yung score na nakukuha ko..

Ang cute nman ng gawa mo sa canva sis.. pano yan heheh yung may gumagalaw po hehe ang ganda kasi

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Masaya po akong malaman na same tayo ng mindset when it comes to doing things slowly at talagang pinag-iisipan talaga. Tama po kayo, mas maganda yung hindi tayo nagmamadali kasi most probably worth it talaga yung results.

Thank you po. Madali lang pong gawin yan sa Canva, marami pong mga designs doon na gif ang format tapos may mga animations din. Hehe☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis mas maganda ung pinagisipan talaga kahit matagal maganda nman kinalabasan...

Cge sis pagaralan ko gumawa ng ganyan sa canva po...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life is not to be hurrying about. Everything comes at the appointed time, slowly and steady

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're correct. There's a right time for everything, we don't need to hurry since we will still get there if it's meant for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely, Amy. Slow progress is still a progress. Does not mean we did is slowly, we can't achieve it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes po, as long as it's progress, no matter how slow or fast it is, we will still get there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Hindi nMan pabilisan eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama naman po wala namang masama na siguraduhin mo ang paggagawa mo sa isang bagay. Para sa huli ay hindi ka magsisisi dahil ibinuhos mo naman lahat ng effort at time mo po sa paggagawa nito. Good luck po pala sainyong studies! 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Salamat. Mas maganda talaga kapag pinag-iisipan natin lahat ng gagawin nating hakbang sa buhay. Gaya nga ng sabi niyo, para hindi tayo magsisi sa huli kung sakaling mali ang kinalabasan ng ginawa natin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama po I agree. πŸ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading your article made me think of how diligent you are as a student. You love putting effort into whatever you are doing and that's awesome. πŸ’—

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, I just want to keep everything well, and I don't want to disappoint myself and anyone around me. Though, I still commit mistakes. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We don't have to rush before we do things, rushing to do things will at the end destroy it. We have to do it one after the other to bring out the best result we want it to give us

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly my thoughts. We have to be very careful in everything we do so that, tge results won't be compromised.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said dear. Sometimes doing something in a slow pace make it more comfortable and usable. Wonderful narration dear. Keep it up.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, dear. It's better to do things slowly wherein we are very sure of the best result rather than rushing to finish something as quickly as possible with an ambiguous outcomes. And yes, everything becomes more comfortable because we are not doing things under pressure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago