JOMO: The Joy of Missing Out

10 26
Avatar for Amy05
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: JOMO, Being Alone, Peace

We all have different ways on how to achieve peace, but for me as a lover of solitude, being alone for a moment gives me peace and joy.

Most people around me especially my friends, neighbors, and even my family sometimes ask me why I prefer to be at home, alone in my room, instead of going out to socialize with other people. They are encouraging me to be more interactive though, I am not really the type of person who's afraid of meeting new people, it's just that, I don't want to continuously talk and talk without any purpose at all. If it's just for the sake of gossiping, I'll pass, I'm not into it.

So, going back, maybe some of you already knew that I am an ambivert (being an introvert at the same time an extrovert), but my introverted side is more dominant as I am not really the friendly and talkative type of person in real life. Maybe, if you got to see me personally, you'll have this first impression that I am strict, intimidating and brat type of woman who prefer to isolate herself rather than engaging in a nonsense talk. Though, it's partly true except the intimading the brat type of person. I am quite strict especially if I want to commit no mistake with something I am passionate about, but mistakes are inevitable so, I am trying to put a limit with my perfectionist mindset.

So, since I am more of an introvert person, being alone is my way to regain my strength after draining it somewhere with other people. Unlike those who feel more happy when they're with someone, me, I prefer to be alone while doing my hobbies and that's how I relaxed myself.

Taking a break from the crowd of noise is very important to me to maintain and take care of my physical, mental and emotional health. Maybe, some of you have this joy of missing out as well, however some may be experiencing the fear of missing out when they're alone.

As a person who is fond of JOMO, I can still manage to be at peace even though I don't have any idea of what's happening outside of my comfort zone. Sounds selfish, but I am not. I mean, I am not that kind of person who gets weary upon what could be my friends doing without me, like, are they partying or whatsoever. When I decided to be alone, I will shut down every distraction around me and relax with just me, alone. However, if I feel like I am already recharged and needs to go out, I can easily switch my personality into the opposite type.

My point here is that, even though we have this quote saying "no man is an island" which empasizes that we can't live without the help and presence of other people, we can't also survive if we are always depending on others instead of relying on ourselves.

Being alone will help us to realize and learn that at the end of the day, ourselves is the only one who will not leave us. There's no permanent thing in this world, maybe on the next day, all of those who supposedly staying by our side will leave us alone. With that, if we already trained ourselves to enjoy being alone and have this joy of missing out, we will not be so afraid if we got to stay in a place with just us.

However, maybe, we will be so sad when others left us alone, but on the other side, if we already get used to being alone and being self-reliant, we will not be in so much trouble, dealing with solitude.

I am not encouraging everyone to isolate themselves rather than interacting with other people as socializing will also help us to develop our communication skills, however, if you feel like draining and needs to be alone, feel free to do it. There's no need for you to be afraid upon being alone since we all need it and that's okay.

Don't forget to have your 'me' time and relax if necessary, rather than keeping yourself tired for the sake of other people while forgetting to take a break for your own good.


CLOSING THOUGHTS

Being alone is sometimes or often the best way to relax and get away from the toxic side of our society. We are not always required to socialize outside just to be happy, as we can also find our happiness in the four corners of our room or simply just inside our house with our loved ones, while doing the things we love and being surrounded with anything that make us feel relaxed.

If you're tired, take a break. No need to pressure yourself to be in a crowd all the time.


Author's Note:

As a sign of gratitude, I want to express how thankful I am to you, my readers. Thank you very much for those who keeps on supporting me with my articles, and I hope that even though my writing skill was not yet pro enough, you are still learning from it. I am very thankful also to my sponsors, I am hoping that you are all doing fine and for you to be showered with more blessings from above.Β 

May the good Lord bless you more with love and grace! πŸ˜‡β€οΈ

Thank you so much for reading! πŸ’•


Date Published: January 14, 2022

Lead Image and Gif: Originally edited by me using Canva

8
$ 2.07
$ 1.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.05 from @BCH_LOVER
+ 4
Sponsors of Amy05
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Amy05
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: JOMO, Being Alone, Peace

Comments

I also like to work in solitude but they say "no man is an island" so I think I need to balance socializing and spending alone time with myself. However, I like to be alone most of the time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same here. I am more on spending my time alone, though, I am also trying to socialize coz it's a must as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also like that, I prefer being at home than socializing with other people. I find peace whenever I am at home. Some would ask why I am just at home and I just tell them that I am not that comfortable being with others who only talks about the life of other people

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with you. It's better to focus on our peace alone rather than engaging ourselves with nonsense gossips.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Count me in to the team Jomo. Hehe. That's a nice abbreviation. I only know Fomo, particularly in crypto world.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's what I usually read as well especially in crypto related articles. I want to write about FOMO also as an opposite concept of what I've written here, but the problem is I can't relate to it that makes me lost in words. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I prefer to be alone. I am only accountable to myself. Pain or happiness.... I'm alone enough to handle this.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's so strong for you. I like how self-reliant you are when it comes to your own happiness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you, ma'am. It's better to be alone than to be with friends where you can't find the real happiness and joy inside you. It is better to be that kind of person. As for me, I am feeling relaxed when I'm at home. It makes me feel safe, happy and in peace. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same thoughts as mine. I feel more relaxed when I'm alone at home rather partying outside with my friends and random people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago