Forgotten Friendship

27 28
Avatar for Amy05
Written by
2 years ago

Real friends are those who treat us like a family even if we are not related by blood. Even if they are not beside us, we are still connected by our souls and hearts.

That's what I always keep in my mind whenever I think of my friends who I am not hanging out with lately due to pandemic and we are just stuck in our house studying for our online classes.

We are not bonding anymore but I am still connected with them through online chats and virtual call. Sometimes, I still felt sad whenever I realized that I am not with them physically and I cannot see them personally.

Gladly, I still have my true friends who still keep on checking me out and never get tired of replying to my chats once in a while even we are all busy with different stuffs. But, I also realized that some of them were not the same anymore.

Through this years, some of my friends are getting far away from me. I don't want to act like a childish one who will rant and think of broke friendship just for no replies or no contact with them, but I have this feeling and intuition wherein I am very sure that I am not already playing a part on some of my friend's life.

Here's the story:

I have this friend whom I am very close to before given the fact that we became classmates during Senior High Years and we even shared a great memory and bond with each other during those times. I treated her as my own sister and I can feel that she's also treating me the same way. I am pretty sure that she's sincere with those actions she showed to me so I never doubt her with that.

But, things started to change when pandemic started and we cannot go outside anymore without restrictions. We became stuck in our own home and we've never seen each other for almost 2 years already.

Of course, we still have contact with each other during those days, and I understand her when she never had a chance to reply to me for quite some time because maybe, she's busy, same with me as well since I am also busy with other stuffs like when it comes to my studies, household chores, printing business and among others.

Those days, we are checking on each other sincerely without hidden agenda of benefiting from each other. But now, I don't think there's no sincerity anymore.

She's only chatting whenever she needs something same with my other friends before. As much as I don't want to get hurt, the pain is slowly lifting me to face sadness I've never wanted to feel.

Our conversations merely revolved on educational stuffs, asking me if I can help her in doing her essays, reaction paper, and other learning tasks.

I thought, helping her out will make us to be reunited again but, whenever I sent all her needed answers, she will just react "like" to my messages and never replied anymore.

I remember the time when I changed the topic of our conversation and I ask her instead if she's okay, and if it's fine to catch up with each other's life stories without involving our acads. She said, she's so busy, and maybe we can just talk next time for that and focus more on her dilemma. I clearly understand her situation because maybe she's rushing for things or what, but, when I saw her shared post about random stuffs and even replying to fun comments, that's when I started to question myself if I am really a good friend to her or if I did something wrong that will make her upset to my behavior.

Days and months had passed, she never replied to me anymore but, one time, she started to bug me in my messenger account. She started her message wuth "how are you?" followed by "are you busy?" I thought, that will clear things up on my mind and my doubts of her will fade away but, I was wrong since she just chatted me again because they have their oral presentation and she asked me if I can help her in finding the references of her topic.

Now that they are just starting the first week of their classes, her name never shown up to my messenger again for almost 3 months, never replying even though I am checking out on her lately. That's the case with my other friends as well wherein they are just chatting me when they need something and as their friend, I often grant their requests but not to the point of doing everything already without them working on it.

I am merely giving some advices instead of answering their activities directly, because I realized that they're being dependent already, and that shouldn't be tolerated anymore.

CLOSING THOUGHTS

Am I really just befriended because of the benefits they can get from me?

I think, yes. But, despite the situation and their behavior towards me, I am still keeping the memories we've shared to each other and I still acknowledge them as my friends.

On the other hand, I am very thankful for those real friends of mine because even though we're not always communicating, still, they never forget on replying and checking me out even if they don't need something, just to catch things up that we've missed to talk about since the pandemic has started. Their treatment never changed and I greatly appreciate the simple acts of strengthening our bond, and that deserves to be focused on rather than being sad on forgotten friendship.

Real friends are rare, so if you have one, keep them and never break the bond you've shared.


Author's Note:

I want to express my gratitude for those who are consistently supporting me everytime I'm publishing my works. To all of my old and new readers, thank you very much for always leaning your time in reading my articles. And to my sponsors, I am so grateful for having you all, I hope you are all doing fine and happy.

May God bless you always! 😇❤️

Advance Merry Christmas! 🎄🎅


Date Published: September 28, 2021

Lead Image and Gif: Originally made by me using Canva

10
$ 4.60
$ 4.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Marinov
+ 6
Sponsors of Amy05
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Amy05
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

So true🥰real ones never forget🙏 kaya wag mong ipilit ,kasi yung tunay ay di ka iiwan dear🥰❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Totoo yan, kung tunay silang kaibigan, kahit anong mangyari di yan makakalimot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po, true friends never forget in your ups and down.. still they are always there..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uyyyy sobra nman yung ganyang friends :(. As for me, di ako nag hohold sa mga ganyang tao sis. Kilala ka lang pagkailngan ka.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ang sakit nga pong malaman na parang kinaibigan lang nila ako kasi they wanted to benefit from me. So, minsan ignore ko nalang din po kasi nakakastress isipin yung ganun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truth to be told our environment rotting day by day. It's high time grab those helpless hand. But never ever hold someone's hand who's constantly stabbing you from back and would wash away your colours.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You have a great point, we don't deserve a friend whose only there when they need something that may consider as backstabbing already.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe naman. You should let that friend go for she's not really your friend. It's good that you didn't give her fish but instead, you teach her how to fish

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Opo, real friends will never do that kaya hindi ko na rin po pinipilit yung sarili ko sakanila kasi mukhang hindi na rin po kaibigan ang turing nila sakin. And, I don't want them to depend on me that much, kaya I am saying "no" sa mga request nila na mapang-abuso na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mabuti naman kasi hindi sila makakatulong sayo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always sadden me when I realized that the friend I have are friends of benefits , friend that tends to be my friends because of the benefits they get from me. But when I realized this I better cut off from them.

What's the benefits of keeping them when they are not there for me when I need them, friends that will change because of a little thing , I don't want them to come my way, but when they eventually come my way..I will rather stay away.

A good friend should always be act as one, always be there when no one is there, a good friend will always stand by you not against you, and will always try to bring out the best in you.

My thoughts, I suggest you should just move on with life, they more you Kee it in your mind , it will keep on hurting you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for the advice. Keeping them will just make me feel stressed but, I am still holding the memories we've shared with each other. Maybe, when they already changed their treatment to me just like before, I can still forgive and accept them again. But, if they don't, then moving on is the right thing to do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly! The only thing that is permanent in life is a change. Go you ghatt to put it aside when you don't see them changing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nangyari na din po sa akin ito. Kahit hanggang ngayon nga po ay nangyayari pa rin sya sa akin. Nagchachat lang po sila kapag may kailangan sila at magtatanong pero kapag ako na po ang nagmemessage sa kanila ay puro seen lang ako. Medyo nakakahurt po talaga pero hindi ko na lang po masyadong iniisip dahil ayoko po na ikastress ko pa po ito.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nakakalungkot nga eh, parang kinaibigan lang tayo kasi magbebenefit sila, pano nalang kaya if wala silang makuha satin then, baka totally ignored na tayo nun. But then, ayun nga, wag nalang masyadong isipin para di tayo ma-stress.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayun nga po eh kaya minsan po sineseen lang nila ako dahil wala po silang nakukuha o napapala sa akin minsan. Ayoko naman po kasi na masanay sila sa ganun, yung lalapit lang sayo kapag may kailangan pero kapag wala hindi ka din po nila maalala.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo, kaya ngayon narealize ko na hindi rin naman masamang tumanggi sa mga request nila especially kasi parang abuso na eh. Kaya lang minsan pag hindi sila napagbigyan, sila pa galit. Mapapaisip nalang talaga tayo kung friends parin ba natin sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo sila pa itong nagagalit. Kaya dapat po talaga ay pipiliin po natin ng mabuti yung mga kakaibiganin natin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some of those creatures used us for their own benefits. Same thing happened to you. Sorry about that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I don't think if that's still considered as friendship when there's a hidden benefits that they want to get from us. Thanks, anyway.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I only have like 5 friends in real life. 3 of them are here on read.cash :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So, there are still 2 friends left and you are all here already. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have some friends in my life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Friendship is a thing that cannot be forgotten. I have some friends in my life. Whose predominance is the most in my life. But it feels bad for you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It shouldn't be forgotten but, there's no assurance at all that our friends will change their treatment on us as time passes by. But, if the friendship is real and sincere, there's no way for it be gone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago