The sting on Depression: Reasons why depressed people don't open up

3 39
Avatar for Amnaaa
Written by
2 years ago

THE STING ON DEPRESSION: REASONS WHY DEPRESSED PEOPLE DON'T OPEN UP

"I AM DEPRESSED"

Yes, that's what I said. Stop looking at me like I said I killed my parents. Yes, I'm still the person you knew, stop trying to look at me in a new light.

No, It shouldn't change the fact that I'm human, strong, and a great person. It shouldn't change the certainty that I'm intelligent, charismatic and someone to be admired. No, it shouldn't make me want to hunch my back, bend my head and squeeze myself around corners when I'm out in the open.

"I am depressed," shouldn't and doesn't make me weak, incapable, or ungrateful.

Don't you think it's high time our perspectives on mental health and depression change?

The sting has to go!

Sickness can befall anyone. Though some are susceptible than others, it can happen to anyone. If nobody is labelled 'weak' or 'inadequate' for having a cough, a fever, or a malaria infection, why then should depression be stigmatized in our society?

Do you believe depression is for the weak?

Do you believe that it's only those who can't cope with what life throws at them that get depressed?

Yes? That's the sting I'm talking about. Someone isn't depressed because he/she is weak, or can't cope with the realities of life.

Someone experiences depression because;

🔸 1. His/her brain Chemistry.

Depression, whatever may be the cause, is first and foremost manifested in the brain as an imbalance of chemicals called neurotransmitters. The imbalance of these chemicals leads to excitation or inhibition of certain areas in the brain that manifest as depression.

And for this reason, it is an illness just like any other disease that attacks the body.

🔸2. Genetics.

The blood genotype AA, for all its glory and presumed 'power type' is genetically susceptible to malaria infection. An infection that has a very reduced effect on their AS counterparts.

Will I be correct to call the AAs weak? Because they can't help but always fall prey to the mosquitoes transmitting malaria infection?

No.

The same goes for depression. Some people are more prone (genetically) to depression than others, and so fall victims to it more often than others.

They shouldn't be stung "weak" by the populace.

🔸 3. Other factors such as; loss of a loved one, failure, trauma, hardships e.t.c.

Nowhere in these causes listed above was 'weakness' mentioned. Yet, society has ignorantly added it.

This added stigma is a catalyst reason why depressed people don't open up about their depression.

Here are some of the reasons;

🔸1. They're ashamed of being depressed.

Which shouldn't be the case because no one is ashamed of having a cough or a cold.

🔸2. They're afraid of being called 'weak' by people who once admired them.

Most people going through depression are role figures that people look up to in one area or the other. Admitting they're depressed will change people's perspective about them.

Which I say again, isn't supposed to be so.

🔸3. They might have opened up before and they were misunderstood.

They may have tried opening up but alas! It was to the wrong audience and because of that, they've decided to lock up.

(Watch out for my next post on how to be the right audience for a depressed guest speaker.)

🔸4. They don't want their feelings to be trivialized.

In sync with the previous reason, and because of the sting of depression coupled with the ignorance of society, many people don't know how to handle depressed victims when they open up.

In their arrogance and ignorance, they tend to point out to these victims that they aren't the only ones going through this and should snap out of it.

This belittling of their situation makes the victim not want to open up the next time.

🔸5. They don't want to burden their loved ones with something even they can't understand.

Yes, sometimes, depression arrives without reason and when that happens, victims are left wondering why they feel the way they do.

If they don't understand, they might not want to open up to another person.

In summary, most of these reasons stem from the outlook society has on depression and its victims. The victims shouldn't be stung by society. They are patients as much as the malaria victims and should be given the same treatments.

As someone going through depression, you shouldn't go through it alone. Speak up to the right persons (professionals; therapists and doctors) or a loved one who would help.

Remember, depression isn't something to be ashamed of. It is an illness that needs treatment.

https://cdn.pixabay.com/photo/2017/08/11/09/31/women-2630140_1280.jpg

2
$ 3.35
$ 3.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Roojoroojay
$ 0.05 from @Sunfel
Avatar for Amnaaa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

When I was first diagnosed with severe clinical depression, it lost me for words. Denial was the first thing that came to my mind. I started on medication the same day they diagnosed me, but the denial lived on for few years. It came to a point where I got exhausted of the denial and exhausted of the depression.

Something just snapped. Since then, I was never in denial nor I was ever afraid or ashamed of my depression.

Stigma didn't exist anymore in my depressed world.

We have to lift the veil on depression stigma in order for us to heal and - to find the help we need to cope and to live a fulfilling life.

Thank you for the post to fight stigma associated with depression.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was also supporting from depression and now I am okay.Very important article for the people who suffers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This topic is very eye-opening and wonderful. If I may, I would like to ask if it is also depression that made me cut myself after a time of huge dissapointment ( I prefer not to tell specific event), however after I cut myself I felt ecstacy and relief and I am not sure if it was normal of having one after such a disgrace. So much my question is that, is it because I couldn't handle the emotional pain that it impacted upon on me that allowed my self-consciousness to release the pain that I have carrying through physical means? I am not sure if this is actually depression or just plain being stupid or crazy but I surely appreciate it if you'd spare some of your thoughts. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago