"A boo is louder than a cheer"

13 31

Why so? asked my professor. It was once a normal day, but that one question changed it all.

I have no idea why it was me, but I answered anyway. Why so? I asked myself. A boo is louder than a cheerand it reverberated back into my ear.

A boo is something you say to a participant, or a competing somebody, or anyone that is not you that seeks applause and approval from someone else that could be you. Meanwhile, cheer is the opposite. It is something you say to uplift that somebody's self-esteem and awaken his fighting spirit. A boo is louder than a cheer. I asked myself again. Because saying something mean and awful to someone can cause them pain and leave a scar; who knows how deep? It can oftentimes lead them into failure and destruction. However, saying something good and pleasant can be the fuel that drives them into success; who knows how far? So you can choose either of the two; be somebody's wound or be somebody's medicine.

In a crowd, someone may not remember you when you cheer, but they will never forget you when you boo. So choose what mark will you leave for those who hear you. Your words are either a sweet honeycomb or a bitter woodworm per se.

Then that two-word question changed not just my day, but the-me-within. Once an echoing sound, now a lesson stamped and sealed. Therefore, I knew why it was me. Because it has to be me.

11
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Amare
empty
empty
empty

Comments

In a crowd, someone may not remember you when you cheer, but they will never forget you when you too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed! so let us choose to inspire others rather than drag each other down.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thinking of it now it really true, I have observed that the wrong things seems to always have more weight than the right things. A boo is always louder than a cheer even though a cheer has more positive impact than a boo. We as humans it is in our nature to always criticize. We tend to put more effort into condemning people rather than encouraging them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly! You have observed it right. Although at times it still puzzles me as to how and why us-humans hurt each other, and it is devastating. There is so much hurt in the world already, hoping that we may not add more to it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Personally too, I keep asking myself the same question, what pleasure is gained from hurting another human like myself. What do we gain when some is in as a result of the words we said or our actions and inaction. It pains me when I see how depressed people get just because of the word or actions of someone else... sometimes we might not see it but every decision we make affects someone else either positively or negatively.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well said! There are things in this world that we could not fathom and could not have control over, as we-individuals think differently. I hope everyone has the same mindset as those that do good. Let us just hope that one day it happens.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi Amare. You have a wonderful write ups. I invite you to submit it to "encouragement" community. Looking forward to see you there.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi there! Thanks for the compliment. I have already submitted it to "encouragement" as you requested. I hope you'll look forward to my future articles. Have a nice day!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A boo is louder than a cheer; this is one topic that deserves a spotlight. Our society today is now bedridden by savages so boos are now being echoed so loudly that the cheers seem inexistent. I wish I knew how to fix it tho..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed! However, do not be so downhearted about it. Truly there are things that we cannot fix ourselves as we don't have full control over it. Let us just keep praying for it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

While highlighting that a boo is louder than a cheer, there are always some factors to consider. 1) The society (I mean the community,environment or city) 2) The people's sense of judgement: ability to distinguish between right and wrong, good and bad.

And others...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You said it right.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A boo is louder than a cheer. I asked myself again. Because saying something mean and awful to someone can cause them pain and leave a scar;

$ 0.00
3 years ago