Restoring Bitcoin.com Wallet

5 131
Avatar for Alpher
Written by
3 years ago

I opened the Bitcoin.com Wallet two weeks ago when I joined read.cash to have a store for my Bitcoin cash earnings. Before that, I read about the importance of the 12-word recovery phrase (Your recovery phrase is the key to access your wallet in the event you ever lose or break your device) and I immediately wrote them the phrase on my diary and a jotter which I kept hidden in my room. The Bitcoin.com wallet also gave me the option of backing up my wallet to the cloud (Cloud backup) and I did. With these, I can regain access to my BCH asset in case I ever lose my device.

Earlier today, my phone crashed and I could access it. I took it for repair and the guy flashed the phone without backing up any of my files. When I regained access to my phone, all installed apps, documents, and media were gone, I had to start afresh. The phone came with Chrome. So the first thing I did was to update the chrome app and download and install the Bitcoin.com wallet app. Then, I launched the app and restored my old wallet holding my BCH earning using the 12-word recovery phrase I wrote down in my diary.

Restoring Bitcoin.com Wallet

You can restore your BCH wallet on the Bitcoin.com wallet app via recovery phrase and cloud backup.

How to Restore Bitcoin.com wallet using 12-word recovery Phrase

  1. After installing the Bitcoin.com wallet app, launch it “+ Add” to the right of the wallet app home screen.

  2. On the “ADD WALLET” pop-up, tap on “IMPORT WALLET”

  3. Now select the wallet type (Bitcoin cash) and enter your 12-word recovery phrase.

  4. Once you have entered all the 12 words correctly, tap “IMPORT WALLET”

  5. If you followed the above steps correctly your BCH wallet will now be restored and the fund should appear on the wallet's Home screen. If you have other sub-wallets, you’ll have to repeat the above steps to restore each using their individual recovery phrase.

How to Restore Bitcoin.com wallet using Cloud Backup

All you need to do is log into the Google account and input the password you used when you set up your cloud back-up. This is the simplest method available.

You will be prompted to sign in to your Google account once you open the app, or alternatively, you can tap the "Settings" cog in the bottom right corner of your "Home" screen and hit "Security center"

Backing up my Wallet

Creating a secure backup for my wallet was an important step I took when I first created my wallet on the bitcoin.com wallet. With it, I was able to regain access to my BCH sub-wallets and the funds in them. As long I have written down my 12-word recovery phrase, I will always be able to recover my wallet and the assets I stored in it whenever I lost my device or lost the information on my device and it’s the case. So if you have not yet securely written down your wallet’s 12-word recovery phrase or you can’t recall where you wrote it initially, I recommend you do so now while you still have access.

How to find your 12-word recovery phrase on Bitcoin.com wallet app

  1. Launch your Bitcoin.com wall app from your device.

  2. Select the wallet you wish to see the recovery phrase.

  3. Tap on the three dots symbol (settings option) at the top right corner.

  4. Scroll down to tap on “show my recovery phrase”

  5. Now write down the 12 words sequentially from the first to the twelfth word.

Important things to note

  • Securely store the piece of paper on which you have written your recovery phrase someplace safe. Treat it as a valuable document.

  • The recovery phrase can be used to access your wallet and the fund within; its safety is in your hands. Never share with anyone. 

  • Securely writing down your Bitcoin.com wallet 12-word recovery phrase you will always be able to restore your device when needed.

  • If you lost your device and you do not have the recovery phrase, you will lose wallet and the assets in it.

  • When entering your phrase, all words must be lowercase with a space separating them, no punctuation.

  • If your phone is stolen, the individual may gain access to your wallet even after you have restored the wallet to a new device. So it would be good to move your fund to a new sub-wallet.

Please note that if you create any new sub-wallets within your Bitcoin.com wallet application, you will have to back these up separately.

7
$ 2.08
$ 1.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Omar
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 2
Sponsors of Alpher
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Alpher
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Nice article. This will be helpful to beginners.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for sharing sir 👏

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for sharing. This would come handy in the future as we will never know if we will experience such. Cheers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome. It will come handy in the nearest future for me and some user as I want to start a little competition that has to do with recovering wallet. So those that don't know how to will be redirected to this post for guide. I hope the competition will earn your support. BTW thanks for the tip.

$ 0.00
3 years ago