Who Would You Save?

16 53
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Today, I am writing about an event that happened about two years ago or so, this memory was triggered earlier as I was reading an Her water didn't break ! by Bilqees. On this faithful evening, my former roommate had one of his course mate over, and after having dinner, we were chitchatting until a question was popped.

This kind of a situation is not uncommon for us, we often just pop up random questions or paint certain scenario or event to know how we'd act or react in such situations. This overtime had become one of my favourite things to do, it doesn't only give me a new perspective, it also make us bond and know each other better. Although, I do not remember who asked this question, I do remember what was asked. The question was:

"IF AT CHILDBIRTH, THERE WAS A COMPLICATION, AND THE DOCTOR SAID ONLY ONE OUT OF YOUR WIFE AND CHILD CAN BE SAVED, WHO WOULD YOU SAVE AS THE HUSBAND?

My roommate was the only one out of the three of us who had said he'd save the baby. His choice was based on the fact that he wouldn't approve the life of an innocent baby be exchanged for that of another human. According to him, the life of the child is just as or even more precious than that of the mother, and the very fact that it is a new baby, he/she deserves the opportunity to experience life too. Though, he made a good argument, I couldn't help but think his perspective stems from a place of sentiment.

I had asked why he wouldn't just save the mother since they can always make another baby? Then he pointed out that anything can happen, and fate may have just that baby for them, they may try to have another and never be successful. This argument was a long and heated one, and the problem was that none of us was ready to accept the opposing choice. Personally, I feel choosing is the logical choice, but that doesn't mean I should invalidate another person's choice because it is different from my choice.

I have always been an analyst of everything, often, I have been an analyst of people's choices. When I try to understand why a person said what they said or do what they did, I have often taken the multiple-perspective approach. People's choices, however irrational it may seem is always based on something, and believe me, more often than not, these 'things' they are based on may be logical to the person involved. There is always a backstory which is only known and understood by the person.

One mistake we make is consciously or unconsciously having an expectation, we like something, so it is strange to us when someone else says that they do not like that thing, so also when we have a particular opinion or make a choice, we are usually disappointed when others do not share our chain of thought or choice(s). We are all different and unique in our own way. Our experiences are also different, and so is our backstory too. Just as we have our reason(s) for choosing A, so does the other person have their reason for choosing B.

Recently, my friend mentioned that he had participated in a writing competition wherein he had written his stance on the argument we had years ago, and he had also won the competition. I haven't been able to ask him to send me his entry so I can read it too, but I guess he made a well articulated argument the judge(s) found logical and reasonable.

So, my dear readers, let's not discredit other people's choices because it goes against what we find logical. Also, I want to use this opportunity to ask you too, if you were in the situation presented above, what would be your choice, save the child or the mother; your wife?

Thank You For Reading 🖤🖤

Special thanks to @BCH_LOVER for the sponsorship renewal, I appreciate your unending support ma'am.


19
$ 2.34
$ 1.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.08 from @Trifecta
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 15
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I have liked your storytelling.

Most of the time, it becomes a climax of a movie scene, "Either the mother or the baby can be saved," as if the doctor can precisely choose an option! In real-life, no doctor can confidently say what they can do. They can only try to do their duties with utmost care and love.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

LoL. It was an hypothetical situation, and in such situations, any kind of scenario can be painted.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Everybody with e choice sha. As for me, I will save the mother coz there's a possibility that she will still get another child. And besides, I no get power to raise pikin on my own or go through the stress of looking for another wife 😆

$ 0.01
1 year ago

LMAO. No worry, your mama and the mother mama go help you out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would also choose to save the child. The mom had already experienced to live the life and she already felt love while the baby was still innocent. As they say's, it is better to lose our wisdom but we should always protect and choose to keep our hope's and children's are our hope's. Anyway I do agree with you, choice is being made logically and so we must not invalidate each one's choices as we all have different perspective.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You did give another perspective on the matter. But as long as there is life, there is hope (in the case of both parents being alive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A mother would always save her baby in the womb even if it would take her life...so I agree with your classmate's pov.... But some would say, save the mother then just make another baby 😅.. But losing a child would give depression to a mother..there are a lot of cases like that.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is also the argument my roommate made. But, for me, I don't think I could live with that decision.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope we don't experience such situations because it's really hard to answer such, for me I think I would save my wife because we would have another opportunity to create another child, because a child life without her mother is really going to affect the Child on the long run.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well, I understand you well and I agree to an extent too. Hopefully, we don't experience it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These emotional questions, I wish nobody faces situations like this. I will save the wife but I will also ask the wife, I know she will definitely say to save the child still I will root for her. As I don't think I will be emotionally stable to raise the child without her presence.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehe. I really hope we are not faced with situations like this too. Thanks for your contribution.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So, my dear readers, let's not discredit other people's choices because it goes against what we find logical.

This is true and we have witnessed this and experienced this during our presidential election. People are at each other's throats even families and relationships have been broken just because of differing opinion.

Regarding your question, I don't know who to choose honestly. Both arguments are valid. A life is a life.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

A life is a life indeed. Hopefully, we are never faced with hard choices like that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well people choices and thought will always be different , I will rather save the mother . I'm not yet use to the baby , if the mother should go I will so much miss her because she has already become part of me.. So I will rather prefer the mother to the baby, though might be painful, but we can always have another baby .

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well, that was the premise for my argument, all you have said and more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago