New Age

24 33
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: My day, Life, Birthday

Today has been quite the day, it marked the start of a new month in the year, and also a new age for me. Although, I was awake at the stroke of midnight out of being cautious not to be caught off-guard by my classmates who had planned to pour me buckets of water on my bed at the midnight. This is a tradition in my parts of the world, and it is a common way of celebrating with someone who is a year older or had just graduated from the university.

You see, I had to be vigilant and every time the door to my room is opened, I would look closely to be sure it was one of my roommates who came in. I made sure I didn’t sleep until my other mates were tucked in on the bed for the night and went on to lock the door from behind. I slept peacefully thinking I had escaped and won’t have to experience the water-tradition. Little did I know that they had all slept off and that was my saving grace.

When I woke up, a friend had come into my room and I didn’t notice that she was holding a small container behind her. I had let my guard down and thought she came to wish me a happy birthday. As I saw her eyes moved, I got a splash of water on my face and I must confess that I never expected it. She went to call the rest of my classmates who had simply advised that I leave the room because of the beds and clothes, and so I don’t spend a lot of time cleaning up after they are done.

I willingly followed them outside and sat on the floor as the had their fun. I am usually not the type to indulge in such traditions but one had to loosen up once a while right? After the ritual, I had gone in to have a shower and prepare for the class we were supposed to have. After the class, we all went back to the hostel. A friend of mine started making food as a small gesture. I saw there was a lot of work to be done in slicing all the vegetables and I helped a little to ease the work load.

The day has been quite memorable and special, particularly because the surprise I got was overwhelming, and I never expected it from those that pulled it off. It a milestone of age for me as I have lived a quarter of a century. I am really grateful for being alive to experience it. I also hope I experience many more of years.

Although, I caught a break and reminded myself about taking life more seriously as I am not getting younger but older. I hope decisions I start making now are those that would make a better future for me. I also want to use this opportunity to thank users on this platform who had made a birthday wish for me. I appreciate you all, and thanks for everything.

CONCLUSION

It is a new month, and I am familiar with the monthly review tradition that usually happens on the first day of every month. Truth is that I had not taken note or record of certain things at the beginning of February, and I am feeling lazy about doing it the hard way. But to avoid errors, I’d just skip this one and start keeping track from today, so I can start April off with a review of March.

Thank You For Reading 🖤🖤

11
$ 2.56
$ 2.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Kushyzee
+ 4
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: My day, Life, Birthday

Comments

Lol. I remember what we did to a friend in level 1. The previous night, I and the other girl stored the water we used in washing how clothes in two big buckets. In the morning, as soon as birthday girl was dressed and about to go out, we attacked her with our buckets. 😁🤭

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lmao. That's quite harsh, you all had to wait till when she was going out

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She would do something similar if it was another friend's birthday, Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I suppose that makes it fair then

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All is fair in love and in warfare. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂😂😂😂 Very well said

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guy you get luck say I no remember your birthday o, I would have been the one to pour you water at 12am 😂 Happy belated birthday bro

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hihihihihi. Good for me you didn't remember then. Thank you man

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday my friend Aimure. I hope God will grant all thr desires of your heart. Keep the faith and have a great journey ahead.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you very much Leticia. Amen to your prayers 💚🙏🏿

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No worries my friend. Stay healthy, and have an awesome day ahead.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, and you too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happiest birthday Aimure! 🎉🥰 Wishing you all the best. More years to come and always in good health. Health is really important Aimure. Enjoy your special day. Happy birthday again. 🎉

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much Ramona, I will remember to care for my health

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always welcome Aimure. 🥰❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy, Happy Birthday to you! I wish good health, more success and happiness in life...Happy New Month Aimure

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much for the wish, and happy new month to you too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happiest Birthday 🎂 more years to come with abundance of healthy living ❤️ Godbless you always and more BCH to come 🥰

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A very big Amen to that. Thank you 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday to you man and happy New year too may God bless you abundantly and answer all your secret prayers but don't forget to send my cake.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amen! Thank you so much Queen, don't worry, your cake is on its way to you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday to you! Cheers to your new age🥂 and good luck with keeping a track.

I wrote my own review from last month you can check it out . Best wishes!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much Didiee. 💚💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome 😌

$ 0.00
2 years ago