Expectations and Reality

30 39
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

I had woken up as early as 5am yesterday, so I could read some articles before I make food to eat and prepare for class which I had expected to start at 9am. It wasn’t until some minutes before 8am did news reach me that our class would be by 12noon.

I was glad to hear that, and decided to do other things and rest more before it is time for class. Then at 9:33am, there was another news that we would be having a class by 10am instead. I was taken aback because I had not had anything to eat then, neither have I even had my bath.

I knew going to class by 10am reduces the chances of getting a break for lunch, so I decided that I must eat first, before going for the class, and didn’t care if I got there late, long as food was in my belly. The swinging of what was between the spaces of expectations and reality had been the reason I am writing about this right now.

Oftentimes, our expectations and reality have no point of intersection, I must admit it is usually very exciting when they do. The joy of expecting something big, and it comes even if it is with delay. Having expectations is based on our hopeful and optimistic nature. I remember writing exams and expecting to fail because I know I did quite poorly. But, when results come out, I end up not failing. Having negative expectations and getting positive reality is really a good feeling.

On the other hand, having a positive expectations and getting a negative results can be quite devastating and demoralising. Imagine an exam you’d done so well in, and coming out of the examination hall, you were confident of passing brilliantly, but when results were out, you saw that you had failed the exam. That can be quite depressing.

Personally, I have always maintained a mindset of being prepared for the worst and hoping for the best when it comes to my expectations, especially when it comes to result of my action. When it comes to humans, I tend to have little or no expectations at all. The reason is simply that I have been disappointed many times because I had expectations of people. Now, I’d rather be impressed by your actions that I didn’t expect than be disappointed.

CONCLUSION

I am not categorically saying that people are not reliable, truth is that we are fickle by nature, but there are those who are very reliable, especially when it comes to us. They could be your family or friend or even an acquaintance. I am just saying that sometimes expectations and reality do not meet, and we as people should learn to accept that and move on whenever this happens, instead of dwelling on it for too long and being depressed from it. I do hope that for us, our expectations and reality meet at points we want them to.

I had started writing this article since last night, and couldn’t finish it because I was quite tired and sleepy too. Even though I woke up several times in the middle of the night to continue, I dozed off every time. I just decided to sleep and complete it this morning.

Thank You For Reading 🖤🖤

I want to use this opportunity to thank my newest sponsors I am very grateful to @Bloghound @foryoubtc09 and @DocLayla for the hand of support they have extended to me. I thank you all very much.

12
$ 2.55
$ 2.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @fantagira
$ 0.05 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 5
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

You are very right. Many times, our expectations might be different what reality would bring in. There was a course similar to religion I did and I was sure I would pass because of how I focused in doing it in the exam hall, but I was surprised when I saw lesser score. If I had connection in school, I would have gone to ask for my script to know what went wrong. It´s always sad when reality gives you something less to what you expected.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Really sad. But if you were sure, you have the right to request for your script. In my school, you can even ask for it to be remarked by another lecturer, but you pay 50K for that. A lot of people don't do this because it puts one in the bad book of the lecturer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Expectations and reality it a nice topic that point out the issues of life . Definitely what you expected is not what you will meant some times in reality Nice meeting you I am pretty sure your am from my country Nigeria your username speaks better nice meeting you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I am Nigerian. Nice meeting you too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is why they say never expect from other people to avoid disappointments :) It is not bad to expect but not put everything on it :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, if you expect too much, you end up being disappointed

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to be really expectant before. When I do something good, I would expect some thing good to come out of it and the other way round, but then it turned out to be disappointing sometimes, then I stopped expecting. I tried to do he best I can and keep doing that. Then I have also Learnt not to let human opinions bother me much, cos they can give you high hopes and dash you in a second.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's very true Danika. Humans can disappoint you in a flash

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Preparing for the worst and hoping for the best is sure a safe solution. I like to replace expectations with dreams and visualisations. Often times imagining what we would like to achieve, while applying emotions we would feel when we already received it is a great way of manifesting the effects we want 💙

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I understand what you mean. dreaming about it would make us more invested in achieving it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We need to focus on both the positive and the negative. We should always work hard until we get the right results. Success should not be thought of before hard work. Anyway, you got admirable sponsors.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you very much 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I neither expect negative nor positive. I just work hard without keeping the results much in mind. This way I am neutral. I only expect what I know is inevitably mine

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is also a good idea. Maybe I can use it for myself too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also used to expect negative, it's my way to lessen my disappointment 😅.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, this is much better that having great expectations and rnd up being disappointed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a pessimistic person also, I often think negative first in every situation coz I don't have the self-confidence and also I know the quality of what can I do. Like you I've been in examination before, a one big shot examination which I expect that I already fail coz Im not smart person than other but the outcome is positive I passed the examination. Persoective Vs. Reality is a big different

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You have said it beautifully. Perspective also matters in this situation. And you should believe in yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is human nature. Expectation and reality will never match. But we have to make a connection with them, right?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Precisely, have to hope it connects. Having less expectations so that reality doesn't take us by surprise

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try as much as possible not to skip breakfast . Mom always say " breakfast is the most important meal of the day". And she will make me repeat after her several times even though I was already running late. 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😂😂😂😂. Truth is I skip breakfast most of the time and it is usually because I don't feel comfortable whenever I eat early in the morning. Other times, I am waking up late and there is little or no time to prepare food to eat, so I just have a cup of tea. Sometimes with biscuits

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a brother who's just like you. He claims whenever he eats breakfast, he would be full for the rest of the day.. he prefers to eat around 11am-12pm... If I try that one, the worms in my stomach would have already destroyed my stomach walls since 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I suppose it is because you're used to having breakfast and otherwise would be unsuitable for you. Before I was a student, I used to sleep quite late and wake up late too. So a morning I am waking up by 9am, I will have breakfast 10am or 11am, so you can see how I got used to that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So much relate my friend. When I have a negative expectations and I lose hope. The times I was really down because of the negativities in my mind even a little I don't expect it then when the time your negative expectations ruin because the result is unbelievable, you made it. It's like something magical. I felt God save and help me. It's the best moment I have.

The next, when you positive expectation turn into a negative one. It's the most painful I've experience in life but still continue.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the spirit Ramona continue to live your life irrespective of the hurdles that you might face. I am glad you moved past that time 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much Aimure. I surpassed it with God in my life Aimure. He save and help me those times.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good to hear Ramona, I am happy for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much Aimure. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago