A World Without The Senses

6 29
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

The human body I believe is the best machine existing. Like the basics of most machinery, it has its own fuel called food. I believe humans had evolved over time to adapt to their environment and the world at large.and earlier today, as I was drinking my cup of morning tea, I was thinking about about our senses, and how the tongue is an hybrid as it could feel temperature and taste.

Brings to mind our senses. I am sure we are all family with the 5 senses and their organs:

  • Sight – Eyes

  • Smell – Nose

  • Taste – Tongue

  • Hearing – Ears

  • Touch – Skin

All these senses are independent of another, and they can all function at the same time for different people.

As I sipped my tea savouring its milky bitter-sweet taste, I couldn't help but wonder how we would have viewed the world without these senses.

SIGHT

Imagine a world without the eyes. I remember watching a TV show last year titled SEE, where most of the characters in the series were blind. But what's unique about that is that they have found a way to survive nonetheless, they have developed their other senses better than average, and could read knots and fight too without their sight.but I wondered if they really could see the beauty of the world, and not through a shade of darkness. How could they read books and see the other beautiful Hans they have known all their life.

Over the years, I have grown to like my room dark-ish and with little or no lighting especially at night. And even in that darkness, I could tell what was where and navigate the room like it was a bright day. Would I have been able to navigate the room so easily in the dark if I didn't have sight? I don't think so, as spending time in the room when it's bright had made me know what was what and where.

SMELL

What if you couldn't smell flowers, tasty foods, our lover's hair and every other smell we like. Imagine a world without the ability to smell, I suppose there would be no cologne or perfume, and maybe people wouldn't bathe for days because they don't smell anyway. But would we be able to tell the gas is leaking? Maybe there would be another way to tell that.

PS: I like the smell of petrol and new money note. Weird right?

TASTE

I don't think I can imagine life without the ability to taste the goodness of delicious meals and chocolate, Sprite, pizza. I mean these things gives us satisfaction because of their taste. But I guess on the plus side there won't be anything bitter or too salty or too spicy. Everything would just be bland.

HEARING

First thing that comes to my mind is the sweet sounds of music, the sound of a baby's laughter. How would we farm in life if we didn't have ear to listen to our parents and the words of wise men. I don't think I'd want to live in such a world.

TOUCH

Oh wow. What if I couldn't feel the warmth of my mum's hug, the gentle softness of a flower's petal. What if we couldn't feel our lover's kiss. A world without touch, where nothing is hot nor cold. Could we live in that world?

CONCLUSION

After carefully thinking about all the senses, and a world where they are absent, I couldn't get myself to be comfortable in thinking of life without them. They help us enjoy life itself. But if I must, I'd give up smell out of all.

Thank You For Reading 🖤🖤

6
$ 4.05
$ 3.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.02 from @Mictorrani
+ 4
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

This is really beautiful a beautiful writeup and I got to screenshot it. Smell of new currency note, you are not on your own dear, but smell of petrol, OYO is your case sire😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣 I am glad you liked it, and thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You love the smell of petrol? Omo! You really weird sha About the sense organs, doesn't the tongue have the sense of touch as well? Coz when something comes in contact with it, you can feel it even before you taste it 🌝

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Every other sense organs have the sense of touch as I can feel my eye, nose and ear being touched, . But they all have sensation specific to them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are just too much. Thank God I subscribe to you. With that I have access to right quality article that can ginger one to right mental attitude. This article is yet another high caliber write up. Am subscribed to your content wholeheartedly. I enjoyed it greatly. Keep it up.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You have such kind words, and I have been motivated to continue in that trajectory. Thank you sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago