California to Texas

7 42
Avatar for AceyDeucey
2 years ago

I've never regretted leaving California where I was raised and then on to Texas where I was welcomed with my kind of people: kind but rugged; fair but not to be messed with; cool but hot like a desert.

When I grew up in Southern Cali things were great. People were friendly and suspicious of one another at the same time. Anything north of Los Angeles I considered Canada, though there were many fine people living there, until one got to san Francisco, a once magnificent city and now a dump (literally).

But SoCal and California really began to change in the 1990s and I felt it was time for a change. I wasn't sure where at first, Florida maybe, but I loaded up a U-Haul and headed east with no specific goals in mind.

I breezed through Arizona and stopped in New Mexico several times. I'd flown over in an airliner previously but nothing compared to driving though its scenic beauty.

New Mexico

I stayed in Albuquerque for a spell and thought I might wanna settle down for a few months to see if it met my fancy. I was from a big city in Cali but the desert and mountains were more to my liking.

Instead of making a quick judgment, I moved further east and came to Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. I journeyed south into Texas at that point and smack dab into Dallas which I wound up calling my new home. Now Dallas is not for everyone, but it sure enough is a fine city and wild and yet tame.

Sunset in Dallas

I took a liking to the gals with their southern drawls and free spirits. The city is full of entertainment if that's your thing. I like baseball, football and plenty of hockey and car racing - professional style. We have the Dallas Cowboys, Texas Rangers, Dallas Stars, Dallas Mavericks and more.

Now I reckon sports aren't liked by some folks and that's fine by me, but getting up in my jaw about it might find a size 9.5 boot in your posterior. I'm a friendly type but not one to cotton to no latte swilling, pink-haired types. My patience has its limits.

Aside from the crime, I love it here in God's country. Yes, I conceal carry a Glock-17 and it's totally legal. Some folk just don't cotton to work and let the gubmint handle up on their business. I'm the independent feller you heard about, some say a redneck.

Anyway, I wanna thank @Scotty17 for giving me an invite here on this platform. Now and again I'll drop in and share what's on my mind but I'm new to crypto and writing on the cheap. I have my own investments and one of 'em ain't a family.

Y'all take care now and have a fine November. I'm a-hopin' for some snow this year and some nice holidays.

#1 11/1/2021

Sponsors of AceyDeucey
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 2.57
$ 1.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.11 from @Scotty17
$ 0.20 from @MarielB22
+ 1
Sponsors of AceyDeucey
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for AceyDeucey
2 years ago

Comments

@Scotty17 invited you, huh? Well if he'll vouch for you, consider it done as far as me subscribing to your blog. Welcome aboard.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Much obliged, Miss.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't blame me if he goes off on a tangent.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Joke lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It figures. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There you are you old sodbuster! lol Don't worry too much about this one, guys, he's a lion with a kitten's heart - as long as you don't cross him. I threw you a buck to get you primed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome to read!

$ 0.00
2 years ago