My cat rejects her children, help!

6 34
Avatar for zulfrontado
1 month ago
Topics: Cat, Pet, Nature, Life

Hello, dear friend of Read Cash!

My cat has had kittens, it's been 8 months now, they are older and more independent, and I feel happy to have them at home.

But, after my cat stopped nursing them, I began to notice strange behavior in her, characterized by aggression. She growled at them, she hit them with her paw, and she couldn't even be near them because she seemed to annoy him.

This worries me a lot, because when I started doing that, they were very small. Sometimes they were left face up like video game dolls because they were flipped with their paw due to the impact.

I have also seen on Facebook groups that some cat owners who have had babies have the same problem. So, I'll tell you from my personal experience how I solved it.


Gatina when I get home.

Practice obedience.

This is the most important point when having dogs and cats, that they obey their owners. It will make your life easier, they will understand orders, and they will even be able to help you.

Cats and dogs are very intelligent animals, so they understand words, gestures, moods, and gather more information than you expect.

So you can use this to your advantage. From the moment you adopt your pet, teach it with respect. Let him play, be himself, have fun, always take care of him, but never stop teaching him rules.

Management will even allow you to correct behaviors. So, this post is based on this practice.


White Bear, one of Gatina's children.

Tell him not to do it.

It's simple, especially when your cat obeys.

My dear cat is called Gatina, it is the union of the word "gato" in Spanish, and "Lina", a name that I really liked, but that mom did not want us to give her because our neighbor's name is that.

So, when he does something he shouldn't, I tell him: Gatina, no.

It has become a magic formula, because he stops doing what he is doing at that moment, looks at me intently, and decides to sit down, or go to another place in the house.

Something important in this is the tone of voice. I tend to use a more authoritative tone of voice when I give strong orders. While I use a softer one to say their names when they go to eat, or I make them affectionate.

Cats understand the difference in voice tones.


Gatina was currently playing catch with her children in the yard.

Be on the lookout.

This is the last step, it seems to me that it is also relevant to keep an eye on the baby cats, in case their mother becomes aggressive, or if they need something.

My cat was always very responsible with them the first months before exhibiting this behavior. However, she was attentive, she checked them daily, she saw if their eyes, legs, fur, mouth and entire body were okay.

On one occasion, one of the kittens, now called Junior, had a very dirty eye, as if he had cat conjunctivitis. He cleaned it immediately with warm water and sterile gauze. The next day he was better, as if nothing had happened.

So, keeping an eye on them is part of the care you give to your pets. It will help you detect things in time that may affect them, in order to provide a timely solution.


Until now these have been my techniques for taking care of my cats. If you have any others, I would love to read them in the comments.


The funds raised in Read Cash will be used to sterilize my cats Gatina and Carrot. I am carrying out a support campaign, you can read it in the following post:

Love of cats: Let's sterilize Gatina and Carrot, join the campaing

3
$ 0.05
$ 0.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Bisolammy
$ 0.01 from @Rememberme
Avatar for zulfrontado
1 month ago
Topics: Cat, Pet, Nature, Life

Comments

I have heard that cats behave that way. I’m glad you were able to change that and solve the problem Nice one and thanks for sharing

$ 0.00
1 month ago

You're welcome, yes, in addition to my cat, I have also seen this behavior in stray cats. Thank you very much for reading, and for your support. <3

$ 0.00
1 month ago

It is maybe normal in cat's world that behavior, because they have predator instincts and she done all that things to make them stronger and ready for cruel world of hunt, patience and reward claim.

$ 0.00
1 month ago

That's right, however, you have to be on the lookout, because there are cat mothers who do a lot of harm to their children. Mostly because of the territory.

$ 0.00
1 month ago

Territory is important to cats and food supplies, but I see in animal world brutal scenes with death at the end because of no reason, or we can't understand reasons.. Who knows..?

$ 0.00
1 month ago

That's how animals are, with behavior that is a little difficult to understand.

$ 0.00
1 month ago