How to be Self-Taught

11 138
Avatar for zulfrontado
1 year ago

July, 07, 2022. | No. 85

Hello, dear friend of Read!

Semesters ago I learned the word "autodidact", thanks to a class of Initiation to the University. And this consists of learning or acquiring skills on our own, without the presence of a teacher. I found it fascinating, and it was something I thought I couldn't do, but I was wrong.

So I got to thinking, the things that exist today were discovered by someone else before us. So we can do anything, for the simple reason that we have that ability to be creative, to innovate, and to learn anything we want.

We just need to look for the information we need.

The books in the library.

My parents always bought books when we were kids, so I have encyclopedia, atlases, and a lot of collections that I love to read. My dad loved to read the newspaper, he would ask for books and buy them.

He would always come home with something for us, so in part, books are like that connection to my childhood. And at the same time with my father.

There are many like my parents, so most of us have libraries full of books in our homes, which, thanks to technology, we stop browsing. However, there is a lot of information in them that can be very interesting for us.

As long as they are related to what you want to learn. In my case, I wanted to know a little more about drawing, history, business administration and psychology. So I collected them, placing them in a visible place.

I have also found a series of English books, because I want to learn the language, since I speak Spanish. But, I have only kept two books that I think are very complete to study on my own.

Besides looking for the books, you also have to dedicate time, and be determined to learn.

In my opinion, this is a good way to study. Because reading stimulates concentration.

YouTube, and its educational videos.

Not everything on YouTube is showbiz, and people showing challenges, questions and answers, as well as other things. There are also a lot of content creators that teach you how to draw, design, learn languages, play an instrument, recover your self-esteem, and many other things that can be useful for you.

My sister is learning French thanks to a YouTube video creator, and I improve my drawing by watching a channel about it, on the same platform.

You just have to search thoroughly and put in the right words to find what you are looking for.

Trial and error.

Let's say, this only applies to some things, like in science for example, cooking recipes, doing some novel experiment, riding a bike on your own, and others.

Personally I apply it to learning to swim, although I rarely go to the beach, I try to swim. Sometimes, it doesn't go as I hope, and I swallow a lot of salt water. But someday I will succeed. In the same way I will do to learn to ride a bicycle.

I also apply it in the kitchen, and a lot. I don't know some things, so I do them my way. The results are that most of the time things turn out well. However, if I get distracted or overdo the salt, it ends in disaster.

Teach someone else.

When I read something I always tell my sister, my mom, or anyone else. I also like to teach people what I know by giving my long explanations.

This way I manage to learn things much better.

This happens because you learn something, but by repeating it so many times you exercise that learning, which makes you master it. So it is an excellent technique to be able to study, obtaining better results.

We can always ask for help.

It is interesting the idea of learning on our own. Especially when we succeed to say with pride that we learned to do it on our own. But, sometimes you have to ask for help, and that is not bad.

Nowadays there are many courses and people willing to help anyone who wants to learn. Which is wonderful, because we can achieve our goal in less time, or do it perfectly.

Regarding my English classes without a teacher, I learn the lessons, I also google pronunciations to have a clearer idea. But I also love to learn techniques or have someone who knows the language explain one or another thing to me.

Luckily I have a classmate in college who is more advanced in the language. So I tell him my doubts.

Meeting people.

I think human relationships are so wonderful that they allow for feedback. I'm usually a parrot. I don't stop talking. So much so that I have a blog as a place to write my ideas.

In this way I have met interesting people who have taught me many things, both what I can do and what I should never repeat.

---

So you see, it's all a win, win. If you want to learn.

Zul Airan Mujica Frontado (@zulfrontado) | Venezuela.

❤️ I bid you farewell, with love and a big hug. thanks for reading!❤️


Original text by zulfrontado ©.


Read my other texts (poems and articles) very interesting. You can also follow me on social networks:

ReadCash BLURT ✒Wattpad ✒myLot ✒Twitter  ✒Telegram

Many thanks to my sponsors for their valuable support! ❤️

Sponsors of zulfrontado
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 2.77
$ 2.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Duvinca
$ 0.02 from @Lara888
+ 2
Avatar for zulfrontado
1 year ago

Comments

I also explore youtube to further enchance what I know now in programming language.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

YouTube is a great tool with which you can learn an infinity of things.

Thanks for reading me. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

El metodo de ser autodidacta, ha quedado demostrado como funcional desde tiempo inmemoriales, como bien afirmas y compruebas con tus experiencias, no olvidemos que nuestros antepasados con muy pocos estudios tenia logros impresionantes, convirtiéndose en expertos que luego podían dar clases incluso a los que ya estábamos en colegiaturas, Gracias por este refuerzo, que tengas bonito dia.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Así es, la humanidad ha logrado grandes cosas con este método, y aun se sigue aplicando. Gracias por leerme. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well friend, I congratulate you for your desire to excel and your desire to learn more every day and I confess that it is very difficult for me to be self-taught, although I have not tried much.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

To be self-taught you have to work on concentration and creating goals. But, we can all learn the way we like the most.

Thanks for reading me. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love books very much and I love reading and reading, but because of my exams now I study a lot and read medical matters. As for reading for entertainment, I don't have enough time for that. Also, YouTube is a great place for learning and gaining information, not just entertainment, so many medical matters are explained beautifully on YouTube

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's true, I have found quite interesting videos about psychology, which have helped me a lot with some things. There are even audiobooks in case you have to do other things. You are quietly listening to your book.

Thanks for reading me. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

En el mundo tal y como está, en el que no se fomenta la apertura de mente y potenciar el talento sino la mediocridad, ser autodidacta va a ser fundamental y también "factotum"!!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

No se fomenta porque se busca lo que sea más fácil. Sin embargo, con tanta tecnología es algo en lo que se debería de hacer hincapié. Por eso cuando se crea contenido hay que buscar la forma de fomentar el conocimiento.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exacto utilizar la tecnología con buen fin no sólo por comodidad o para entontecer a las masas, buscar su parte positiva y que sirva a nuestro favor.

$ 0.00
1 year ago