Who wants to dance?

15 61
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago
Topics: Dancing, Life, Experience

I was 11 or 12 when I realized I can dance.

Unfortunately, it is true that not everyone has this ability or talent. Some people do live up to the idiomatic expression of "having two left feet." And that's quite sad because dancing is fun.

Okay, back to when I realized I had some hidden dancing talent. The small private school where I enrolled in after returning from Singapore had monthly programs presented by each grade level. This started in August (every level had a month to prepare and rehearse) and the Grade 6 students started the ball rolling.

I think it was the fifth grade when I caught the dancing bug, and it was by accident. A group was practicing their number in our room after classes. For music, we used a huge tape recorder, sort of like a boom box. I used to hang around and ended up operating the recorder. So, start the music. Stop it. Rewind the tape. And do it all again until the group finished up for the day.

Not quite mindless stuff since I had to be alert, especially when they're not starting from the beginning. So, watching them perfect this number imprinted the steps and routine in my mind. I definitely knew the music, and memorized the steps and blocking. Until one day, one of the performers was absent.

Part of the choreography required partner moves. The teacher knew it was important to get that interaction right and didn't want to proceed unless everyone had a partner. She looked around the room and saw me. "You!" She pointed at me. "You know the dance, right?" At some point during the afternoon practices, I would sometimes prompt the dancers with the next step or formation when they missed something. Teacher remembered that.

Since I was just going to be a stand-in, I agreed but slightly hesitant. After that round, and I got everything right, everyone in the room clapped! You know how to dance, they said. And I realized that while I may have been a stand-in for that day, I gave my all dancing because it was fun! Besides, I did know all the steps and the whole routine.

Guess what? I ended up being part of that number! Can't remember if I replaced someone, or another student was asked to partner with me. But that was my baptism of fire. And since then, whenever there was some dance number to be performed in my grade level, whether for our program or some special occasion, I was also part of it. HAA!

Eventually, I learned to choreograph dances, and even taught lower grade levels, including nursery and kindergarten kids!

In high school, I was thrilled that Grade 8 P.E. was social dance. That meant more opportunities to dance, or at least learn more dances regardless if I performed or not. Half of the year was learning the formal dances. That meant the waltz, tango, cha-cha, and boogie! And I looked forward to that, even if half the class didn't!

Turns out it was preparing students for the prom so we at least knew basic steps and would not just stand in the middle of the dance floor and sway, if we didn't have exceptional rhythm or any groove at all.

Of course not everyone had the facility to dance. Even when our teacher would teach every step slowly, it would still be confusing for many who 1) hated dancing and 2) couldn't really dance because their brain just didn't get it.

But to me, it was fascinating. The fancy footwork. The lightness of feet. And the grace. Wow! There were popular dance steps of our generation, which most of my classmates preferred. Still, it was a tremendous help to know the basics, and for an instructor to ingrain in us to always "feel the beat".

Then I fell in love with Gene Kelly when I saw him dancing to the tune "Singin' in the Rain." Imagine such complicated routine and doing it with water everywhere! Yet, you could tell he was having a lot of fun. He will always remain a favorite.

And how can you not admire Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers, the pair to beat when it came to dancing? They not only had technique that was flawless, fluid and classy, they showed audiences that dancing is enjoyable.

And when I watch a number with several dancers, with their movements synchronized to perfection, ahhhhh, that is heaven. Because dancing is not just style, steps, and technique, it is about moving as one unit.

Needless to say, the newer generation of artists who can dance, have natural rhythm and groove, get my vote. But I applaud them even more if they happen to participate in dance shows like "Dancing With The Stars" because that means really learning to DANCE and testing their mettle.

Okay, those guys and gals who are great pop dancers, with all the lockin' and poppin' and breakin', hats off to them as well. But that's just part dancing. I love the River Dance more (from the Irish) because that takes tremendous skill and timing.

If there's a movie or show, or series with a lot of dancing (Fame comes to mind, High School Musical, too) and the kids get to showcase their dancing wares, count me in.

As much as I love music, dancing transports me somewhere else. So, each time I do hear a good beat, and some danceable music (preferably from the 80s or 90s) then I will groove to that.

It's a good form of exercise because it requires the whole body to move, and improves one's coordination. Plus, as frustrating as it can get when you don't get everything right, it is F.U.N.

If you don't believe me that dancing can bring a smile to your face, whether doing it or just watching, then check out the clip below. The editing was wonderful using a more modern tune by the Pointer Sisters "I'm So Excited," but splicing all sorts of dance from so many generations timed to the music. Brilliant!

Source

Happy dancing...

Images from Unsplash

13
$ 6.68
$ 6.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Judith1969
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 2
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago
Topics: Dancing, Life, Experience

Comments

I love dancing so much, but I don't know how to move a step, but anytime I heard of the music I will feel like dancing,then I will end up dancing why setting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe, you can look for tutorials of very basic steps just to help you. Simple ones. Otherwise, moving to the beat is still dancing. What's important is to enjoy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When i read in school, my teacher called me for dance. But i didnโ€™t know how to dance. That moment was so uncomfortable for me. I never forget this time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww, that's sad. But I do understand that many who don't know how will feel like you did then. Did you ever learn to dance after that time?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love to dance but I confess I don't know how to do it very well. But I don't mind I'll try anyway. At the gym we warm up with dance therapy and I love it but I don't know how to keep the rhythm when there is a sideways movement. I get lost there. But I still do it. I think the important thing is to move the whole body without stopping the world ... greetings.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

People get discouraged to dance because they think they need to be really good at it. I don't believe that. Dance is there to express ourselves, have fun, and feel joy. So, keep at it, my friend. And let it bring a smile to your face!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was 12 years old too when our adviser told us to try to dance. Until then I usually join different contests in school and I was part of the dance instructor when I was in Four year. Dancing for me is my form of exercise and expressing myself

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yeah! There's just a lot of joy when you can move your feet to the beat and sway to the rhythm.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yeah. It's something that gives us happiness

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Olalala! I love dancing. My feet loves to tap with the beat. That it why I was so sad when my knee gaves up on me a few weeks ago. Though not totally healed, I can now dance a few cha-cha. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿงก

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's dance! I pray your knee will get even better so you dance more!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those were the memorable days of my childhood - dancing for school events and family gatherings. Haha I also thought I can't dance but realized it when others discovered I can. Currently doing a freestyle dance, thanks to the video clip ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awww. You made me smile that the video had you dancing. Love it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dancing is good by expressing yourself within the beats of a dance move.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it is that, too. And if you do it really well? WOW!

$ 0.00
2 years ago