Whistling for joy

7 22
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

I love to whistle. I discovered I had the talent for it. Not everyone can whistle. By whistling I mean a tune, not just some random melody, but an actual song. I can probably accompany someone singing as the background music. That kind of whistling.

I just enjoy hearing the sounds coming out when I purse my lips and curl my tongue then blow. It's not only the sound that comes out but the beat I can create, and whatever else makes for music. I can increase the volume or lower it, and put in emotion like I would when singing.

It was a complete surprise to learn other people can never do it. My niece keeps bugging me to teach her. She would come up close to my face to check how I did it, but leaves frustrated, when all that comes out of her mouth is air! And sometimes, spit... ewww!

Learned or born with?

Who taught me to whistle? I can't say. Probably my dad. Or not. I never heard him whistle, come to think of it. Did I just wake up one day and I could do it? I really have no idea.

Nor did I give it any thought that there are people who would like to do what I can but just can't. Some have really been amazed by my ability. Hahaha! But I guess the fact that I can play a whole song, even those with difficult melodies, can be astounding to their ears.

While I can also carry a tune, sometimes I just find it enjoyable to whistle instead of sing. Or if I don't know all the lyrics to a song, but love the melody, I would whistle it.

Whistling position (License: Creative Commons)

Taking away boredom

While working, especially doing mindless chores like washing the dishes or doing the laundry, whistling takes away the monotony of the task. Sometimes, it's easier to recall a song when I whistle it than sing it.

And while driving, I whistle whether with the radio on or if I remember some tune I like. It can be relaxing, especially when stuck in traffic.

I can probably record a series of songs, all whistled. That would be fun! But I don't think I've ever recorded any of my whistled tunes. I think it would sound entirely different listening that way, rather than just hearing it live.

It's just as enjoyable whistling along to a song playing on the radio or whatever, then harmonizing, or adding my own spin to the arrangement.

Good for health, too

And guess what? Whistling also has health benefits. Increasing lung capacity for one. It takes effort to blow our air, and with the intent to create a specific sound, that effort is doubled. So you get to work out the lungs, and improve its capacity.

The pursing action of the lips also stimulates the vagus nerve. (I did NOT know that.) This nerve transmits a variety of signals from the digestive system and other organs to the brain and vice versa. It is quite an extensive nerve, running from the cranium, through the neck, to the thorax then all the way down to the abdomen.

And if you want to activate the thyroid and parathyroid glands, whistle!

No catcalls, yes to bird calls

However, I've also learned I while can do catcalls, another form of whistling that is meant to cheer or jeer, I rarely do it. Sounds a bit offensive. I can't whistle by placing two fingers on the lips and then blowing out a piercing sound to call someone's attention.

And oh, I can also imitate bird calls. It is another form of whistling after all. Sometimes, I call out to birds that way and they respond. But that's more tiring because I have to approximate the sound they make. Otherwise, I'm just polluting the surroundings with noise.

It's also challenging to try imitating bird sounds when I hear something new. That means a new specie has found its way to our backyard. As fearful as I am of feathered creatures coming into my space, I like watching them, and admire their colors, sizes, and whatever other features set them apart from others.

I've never really tried checking out for others with the same ability, or met someone equally adept at it. That would be fun, and we can do a whistling concert!

Sigh... I only wanted to take my mind off some bad vibes. Yes, whistling can calm me down. I'll feel better when I finish playing a few more songs.

5
$ 12.40
$ 12.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

Comments

Why not join PGT? This will be a unique talent to cheer. Not all can whistle and not all can create a tune. 👍❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha! Thank you for the vote of confidence. But unless you can whistle Beethoven's Symphony No 5, baka di ka pansinin ng judges.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can only imagine a person whistling Flight of the Bumblebee!!! HAHAHAHHAHHHAA You'd definitely win if you do so!!!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Only now did I find out that whistling is good for health. Rarely does anyone have such talent? I also have a cousin who knows how to whistle but isn't very good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, although I figured with all the blowing you need to do, there had to be some health benefit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's so nice to hear about it. But I dunno how to make a whistle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's okay, so many are also like you. hahaha. Thank you for dropping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago