Gone are the greeting cards

10 81
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

It was around 9 AM when our long-time neighbor (who thinks we're a general store) called up asking if we had a spare greeting card. My first thought was a gift card (you know, TO: FROM: Love...) but she was specific: the usual greeting card, even if it was blank.

Turns out my mother did have one! An old one, judging by the envelope's color and the fact that its flap seemed stuck. But never mind those stuff, she'd steam the envelope open. The important thing is there was a card she could use.

Several hours later, someone rings the doorbell and it's our neighbor's driver handing over a greeting card to replace the one Mom sent over earlier. I didn't inspect it but from afar saw that there was a flickering red light highlighting the words "Happy Birthday!"

Mom promptly crossed over to the neighbor's house and gave it back.

And this funny incident suddenly made me think about those greeting cards, specifically Hallmark cards, that were a huge thing even up to the late 90s. I confess it's been a long time since I've shopped for one. With virtual cards and emails and even social media sites, greeting cards seem to have somewhat faded. Kids today probably don't know what these are.

When I was much younger and my favorite haunt would be a bookstore, I would spend a great deal of time browsing through the greeting cards section, checking out the artwork and the witty, dreamy, sweet messages for every occasion imaginable. And yes, I would often hoard them - well, I'd pick three to five cards to buy each time - so I'd have some handy to send someone when the time came.

Browsing through the greeting card section was fun!

Source

Those were the days when snail mail was still a thing, and receiving letters and cards was exciting and brought a smile to our faces.

In fact, there was a time when I thought of applying for work with Hallmark (or any greeting card company) or sending some silly poem or greeting for printing on their cards. While I would never be credited for it, I was certain seeing my work on some card, with some pretty artwork would be a very proud moment.

That would be a very cool job, although at some point you might dry up or get writer's block after churning out so many messages that some individual would be passing off as their own to someone they cared about or was enamored with.

Greeting cards were precious. As much as I loved the creative and meaningful messages, I appreciated them even more when it came with the sender's own message in their handwriting. Yes, greeting cards demanded you sign it with a pen, or write on it (at least the Dear part, and Love closing) to add that personal touch.

For someone you love... (Original photo)

Here's a confession: I hate it when my mother asks me to write on a card for her, usually birthday cards. Her excuse is I had a better, more legible handwriting. But the truth is she felt inadequate writing down her own message and would urge me to write something more, then sign her name for her. Ugghhh!

Like handwritten letters, greeting cards are personal. Even if you're just writing down a one or two-liner, doing it yourself makes it more special for the recipient. I always thought it was cheating when you couldn't even pen some short message on a greeting card on your own, or worse, sign it yourself!

When the idea to write about this topic formed in my head, I went in search of old greeting cards I received to share as visuals. I know I've disposed some of the cards I got over the years, but I did keep more than a handful.

I have a healthy respect for those writers who sold their souls to make a living by creating those thousands of messages that people used to lap up and feel like it was exactly what they wanted to say. I wonder if they kept churning them out with little to no feeling after the first 10 or 20 that they produced.

Still, with emotion or not, I will always be in awe of such talent because it is not easy to create and string words together that will sound really, really heartfelt and even witty. Come to think of it, when I pen my own message for someone on a special occasion it takes me quite a while to complete it.

I know there are still greeting cards in bookstores, but it's no longer an extensive selection as it was before. Much like stationeries, which isn't that hot either. When things are really back to normal, I just might go check them out again. It would be interesting to see how the writings have changed over the years.

And if you've never sent anyone a greeting card in your life, it might be a good experience to try it even just once. Because if I remember it right, there is as much joy in giving one as there is in receiving it.

A Valentine card... (original photo)

I know, it can be quite costly, but it's a worthwhile expense. What you'll get in return is priceless, I guarantee you.

Remember, go over all that's written in the card. Read it aloud even, just to make sure it's something you want to be saying, and you actually mean what's written there. The key to finding joy in greeting cards is sincerity. It was created for every person who feels they can't find the right words to say to someone else. So, like buying shoes or clothes, you need to pick the right one for that person.

Yes, social media can get your message across in real time, and for all the world to see. But you're only actually greeting them with the usual stuff. There is still something very sentimental about receiving a very personal greeting that says so much about what another person feels about you.

Life isn't always a race. Savoring moments is more important, because those are what last. Taking time to really say how or what you feel for another person - your parents, siblings, friends, significant other - gives so much more meaning to relationships. Sometimes, a greeting card with your signature is still better than a facebook or twitter post, or even an email.

Make someone smile, and feel good!

Lead image: Original photo

8
$ 5.94
$ 5.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 3
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

Comments

I love greeting cards and make many myself but I quite rarely receive any.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awww... you make your own, how wonderful! But I am sorry you don't receive as many. In time...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I am doing this things it ls really mean it on me. Im rarely doing about it thats why when I am making greetings cards this would be special to me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love doing own greeting cards but my problems is my handwritten hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As long as it can still be deciphered (hahaha), then go for it. At least the recipient will see your effort and appreciate the sentiment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana nga na appreciate kaso na windang sa written eh ahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I loved sending cards and even had the pleasure of making them myself. A blank sheet of paper. Paint or draw whatever art I wanted and then write inside. A pleasure. I never did it again. Just memories.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, homemade cards were even more special. I don't paint and my drawings aren't really very good. But, however way I can decorate a card, I would do it, then just fill it with lines and lines for the recipient to read. Or I would take photos and use that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes to going inside bookstores and looking at cards, postcards and even bookmarks.

I sitll love receiving handwritten notes/cards and still love sending them out too. Well the only people I sent out to via the snailmail were new friends i met in camp (because there were no friendster/fb/messengers yet when I used to attend camps) , close relatives,.. the close friends I give out letters to I almost see them weekly lols. That was way way "then"

It is amusing and I still am amazed how hallmark writers can string in words along with a heart in a postcard/greeting cards. Hah! might start sending out some of the OLD stuff I stashed somewhere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, you still have some leftover cards? Go! Surprise someone... But it does make you feel good, right? Dunno if I still have unused cards, if I do, they'll be headed off somewhere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago