Do you like milk?

30 46
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

I don't like drinking milk. No, wait! Let me qualify: I do not like drinking powdered milk, which was pretty much what we were given when we were very young.

Unfortunately, there were no cows next door, and purchasing fresh milk was quite expensive. So, for our nutritional needs, powdered milk it is. The thing is I don't like the taste of powder, which never really disappears even after it's dissolved in lots of water.

There was a time, though, when a milk truck all the way from Los Baños, Laguna would drive up to the house weekly, and we'd get our supply of fresh milk that was not very costly (I think, it wasn't me who was paying).

They brought along those steel canisters and people from around the neighborhood would buy, so that was probably cost-efficient for them to come around. And they also had deliveries en route.

Looking back, I don't know why they stopped coming by. And if by then we were ready to leave for Singapore... or was that after we got back? I forget.

Still, I favored the taste of fresh milk (pasteurized, of course) and didn't mind consuming more than a glassful, as was the requirement, before leaving for school.

The powdered milk, however, took me forever to finish! I didn't even think incentives worked. Oh, but I did enjoy adding Milo (choco malt drink) to the powdered milk. That seemed to mask the taste somewhat.

To this day, I can consume fresh milk, but still pass when it comes to powdered milk. I don't mind using it for cooking, though. Works just fine, and cheaper, too.

Milk with cereal is okay. Cookies and milk, okay, too. Milkshake? Sure, why not. But all fresh, no powdered, thank you.

I do like polvoron, which is made of powdered buttermilk, toasted flour, butter and sugar, cut into small oval shapes then wrapped in colored cellophane paper, then chilled.

We enjoyed making them as kids, at least the wrapping part, because half of it would already end up in our mouths!

So, why the memories of milk?

I tried making the three-ingredient ice cream early this morning. And one of the three is condensed milk. Now THAT I remember very well.

Sweet, creamy condensed milk

Source

For afternoon snacks, our nanny would make me a glass of condensed milk with water, and since it was very sweet, that was more palatable than the powdered kind.

As an adult, my memories of this type of milk only goes as far as leche flan (caramel custard), which my grandmother, aunt, and even Mom, used to make. Mom and Aunt still make on rare occasions, and they still follow that same recipe handed down from Lola.

Am not a huge fan of leche flan, unlike most of my relatives who relish it and would be competing as to who got to bring home extra flans after a party or reunion. A small slice would be okay for me. One of my uncles could finish one whole flan in one sitting if you let him!

Anyway, back to condensed milk. So, when I had almost emptied the can, I added water to wash off any residue, stirred, and gulped it down. Voila! The taste comes back. And it's still the same although it's a different brand I used.

Now that was comforting. Yeah, it was sweet, but not overly, since it had more water and I was just rinsing the can before taking it out to the trash. I guess that's why I preferred it to powdered milk. It was creamy, and didn't have that cloying taste of powder!

And oh, oh, I also remember slathering bread (pan de sal in particular) with condensed milk to eat as snack! Yeah, that was good, too. Two pieces did it nicely. Not that it was enough to substitute for the powdered kind.

More milk memories suddenly rush in...

My eldest nephew did not enjoy the benefits of breastfeeding. His mom had a rough time then and no matter what she did, there just wasn't enough milk for the baby. So, they had to turn to formula milk for his sustenance.

Unfortunately, the boy was lactose intolerant and it was several months before the pediatrician finally diagnosed this. He had to be hospitalized because he was turning blue, and I remember driving him and his parents to the hospital because his father was in a state of panic!

I drove like crazy then because time was of the essence, and got him to the ER just in time. We looked for a more experienced pediatrician, and that was when we learned that he was lactose intolerant, and needed a special kind of formula.

As a result, however, he had a weak respiratory system growing up and would be prone to colds and cough. Thankfully, through careful management of the pedia, he outgrew that and is now mostly healthy.

His younger brother was more fortunate in the breastfeeding department and did it for about six months. By this time, his mother obviously knew what to do, and was successful in expressing milk and letting the baby latch.

It would be their youngest, a girl, who really reaped the benefits of breastfeeding as she did it until she was two years old! And because it was never a combination of formula and breastmilk for her, she wasn't quite comfortable with a feeding bottle. When she had to be weaned, it was straight to a glass for her.

They don't seem to have any problem with powdered milk now, but I know they enjoy fresh milk more. But then again, they don't drink milk as much now.

I do take calcium supplements in place of milk, and that seems to be working out pretty nicely. The brand I've switched to now seems to have helped strengthen my bones, especially since I have a weak left knee.

Wow, that was quite a discourse on milk... and all because of a can of condensed milk. By the way, my ice cream came out just fine.

Images from Unsplash unless credited (Source)

13
$ 8.29
$ 7.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @wakeuplincs
$ 0.10 from @Gemstone
+ 3
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

Comments

No pics of the ice cream? Haha.

I also have a milk story, I tried to cook pastillas but it didn't come out the way I expected. XD As for the milk powder, wow your tastebuds are quite sensitive it seems. Maybe because I don't have a problem with milk powder that's why I don't know the powder taste you mentioned. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The ice cream, alas, is gone. Kaput. Finis! hahaha. Hmmm pastillas. The only pastillas I like are those from Leyte, made from carabao's milk, and processed in a house filled with bats!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

House filled with bats? Like the ones in a cave? Oh my... I used carabao milk too and boy it was a tedious process which I also wrote in an article here. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay, I will read that article! Can you send me the link please?

Yes, a house which is occupied by bats. The owner didn't want to (or maybe couldn't) get rid of these mammals so that portion of the house is like an attraction for buyers and they had to move the area where they worked on the pastillas.

I will try to write about that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I enjoyed your article. It made me laugh. Hahaha. Poor powdered milk. You should have just consumed it without adding water. Until now when no one is looking, I put a spoonful of powdered milk on my mouth. Or a mixture of milo and bearbrand powder. It is what I give to my kids. The pure milo is not very good for me so I had to add powdered milk, but it is for the kids'consumption. I only get to eat the powder while preparing the beverage, before putting water. Haha. It is really delicious for me, eating it without water. I don't drink it though. I tried resorting to it to get rid of coffee but I failed.

I haven't tried any fresh milk cow. Good for you, it's what you drank before. Way back, when I drink powdered milk, I feel nauseous. So we just use it as viand.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't know if I can take eating powdered milk either. The most really for me when it comes to powdered is polvoron. Even then, the buttermilk is cooked so that sits well with me. I'd rather drink evaporated milk with water and sugar, if I really needed to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What about with avocado then? 🤔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Powdered milk with avocado??? I'd still taste it. I take avocado with evap and sugar, or just eat it plain or in a salad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pwede rin naman hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Too bad... Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here at home no one has had any problems drinking milk. Barinas is a plains state in Venezuela, here it is common to buy fresh milk in any store, they only ask you to bring the container. At home we always boil the milk before consumption.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wouldn't mind if fresh milk were affordable and always available. You are fortunate in that way. So, you pasteurize it before drinking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love powdered milk, fresh milk, lahat ng milk hahaha kaya lang pang maharlika talaga yung fresh milk, naka afford ako nun nung nag work na ko hahaha pareho kami ng uncle mo, kayang ubusin yung leche flan sa isang upuan hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Tumpak, pang maharlika! Nakow, kaagaw ka pala nila! So isang malaking liyanera ang sa yo. Grabe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Si supieras amiga acá en Cuba se usa mucho la leche en polvo para agregarle al espaguetis. Hase como si fuera queso su sabor.

Yo por mi parte no la puedo tomar para nada. ningún tipo de leche pues desde chica soy intolerante a la leche.

Felis mañana te deseo felicidad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Powdered milk for cooking is just fine. It makes dishes, including spaghetti, taste quite delicious.

It seems to me that you are lactose intolerant, too. So you need non-dairy substitute like milk made from nuts (almond) so you will not get upset stomach when drinking it.

Thank you for visiting and reading my article, and sharing your experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like powdered milk instead. My son and I make coffee with milk twice a day. Add a little chocolate and it's a good drink for an afternoon snack with cookies or bread.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Perhaps the powdered milk there tastes better? But then again, different strokes for different folks. Thank you for dropping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To be honest me and Milk are on a whole different relationship zone that has yet to be descovered, like I like milk but most of the times it gives me bad gas yet I just keep on going back to iit... talk about a sour relationship lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course I do like fresh milk over powered milk , as in my locality the real and fresh milk is not too expensive. Powered milk can affect our body, bones even our mental health too. If you come to our locality (Country too) then you will definitely get the freshest milk and you will definitely love the taste.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think im more on powdered milk since I'm rarely drinking fresh milk, I think fresh milk is more nutritious than powdered milk cause powdered milk contains other substances. Still, I'm taking powdered milk cause my body needs it, what's the brand of milk your taking madam?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not taking milk regularly. If I do, it would be Nestle Fresh Milk. We do use Birch Tree for powdered. What I do take is calcium supplements instead. Fern MilkCa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

YES!! I love milk a lot, but it's too expensive for me especially fresh milks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly! That is what's prohibitive. Wouldn't it be nice to have milking cow nearby? hahaha! Thanks for dropping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha yes, you're welcome 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is nothing better than chugging a glass of milk in the morning, the taste, the andrenaline its all in there😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhh, here's a certified milk drinker. Fresh, of course?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course, Powdered can never bring excitement to my soul.

"Fresh is the way"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truly... but it's so expensive!

$ 0.01
2 years ago