Dad and Nat King Cole

6 32
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

While I normally ignore the celebration of "special" days because I believe these have been highly commercialized, I am aware that tomorrow is Father's Day. And I am choosing to remember only because I miss my Dad, terribly. He's been gone for three years.

What made me think of my father?

A few days ago, I remembered the song "Love Letters" and started singing and whistling it. Then I segued to "Autumn Leaves." Both are songs of iconic singer Nat King Cole.

And well... of course, Nat King Cole is my father's favorite singer.

And although he is not of my era, I've grown to love his songs and unique vocals as well. I remember the collection of vinyl records of his albums.

Unfortunately, the cabinet these were kept in had been infected by termites and it was not just the album jackets that were destroyed but the records themselves. So, that's a sorry loss.

By then I'd grown accustomed to his music and still remember my Dad when he'd sit on the sofa while listening to the records playing on a turntable. He would often sing along because he knew the lyrics to most of the songs.

We would often tease him because he was usually a beat or two behind while singing along, and tell him that he was not running on 33 rpm (the usual speed of long-playing albums).

I never really asked why he liked listening to Nat King Cole. Personally, I find his songs easy to listen and sing-along to. The lyrics, while quite simple, speak volumes. I'm thinking if you wanted to tell someone of how you felt, singing a Nat King Cole song like "Smile" or "Fascination" would do the trick.

Smile, though your heart is aching/Smile, even though it's breaking/When there are clouds in the sky you'll get by...

Besides his songs are so short, about two to three minutes, and you can learn them in no time. They hardly run to three stanzas, and you just have to repeat them all, so it's impossible not to memorize them!

I think that's why Dad likes them so much.

As I write this, I am listening to "Fly Me to the Moon," and I just finished humming to "Stardust."

What I appreciate most listening to Nat King Cole's songs is the orchestration of each song. The lilt of the violins, the soft piano in the background are so soothing. I am certain there are cellos and bass there, too.

But while it is "Unforgettable" and "When I Fall in Love" that are his most iconic songs, I was so enamored when I heard first "Autumn Leaves" then "Love Letters" both for the melody and lyrics. Autumn is my favorite season, even though we never get to experience it here.

I love the reds, the yellows, the gold leaves that give off so much warmth, and just looking at photos of trees during fall mesmerizes me.

The falling leaves drift by my window/The autumn leaves of red and gold/I see your lips, the summer kisses/The sun-burned hands I used to hold.

Since you went away, the days grow long/And soon I'll hear old winter's song/But I miss you most of all, my darling/When autumn leaves start to fall.

And that's all the lyrics of "Autumn Leaves"...

I can't quite remember when and why I was hooked on "Love Letters." Perhaps, because I loved writing letters, both romantic and friendly, and appreciate the sentiment behind them.

Although the ease of communicating has been enhanced by technology (type up a message and send it via messaging app or shoot someone an email and they receive these in real time) much of the sentiment is lost because of technology.

For anyone who's ever received or written a letter by hand, you know there is much more feeling to it, both as you write or read one. It's recognizing the effort and time spent to hold a pen to paper and form the words that come to mind and heart.

And because you don't want to make a mistake, there is extra care penning a letter.

Love letters straight from your heart/Keep us so near while apart/I'm not alone in the night/When I can have all the love you write.

I memorize every line/I kiss the name that you sign/And darling then I read again right from the start/Love letters straight from your heart.

If you want music to dance to dreamily, this is a good bet.

No, I don't think Dad knows my two most favorite Nat King Cole songs. They're not among the most played or requested.

But I will always appreciate his introducing me to the singer and his songs. And for playing them so often in the house that they've gotten into my consciousness, and stayed in the deep recesses of my brain.

And I just know that when I think of Nat King Cole or hear one of his songs being played, I will always remember my father, and know he is somewhere out there watching over me and listening with me.

Photos: Unsplash

10
$ 1.96
$ 1.00 from @wakeuplincs
$ 0.50 from @wrabbiter
$ 0.20 from @ZehraSky
+ 5
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

Comments

I have always believed that our loved ones are watching us wherever they are. I also love the songs of the two of them, father and daughter. Thank you for telling your story.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for taking me down memory lane. My parents love Nat King Cole as well, and I'm familiar with some of the music, although we didn't have a turntable.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dad made sure we had a turntable because he bought so many records, and I did, too, eventually.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

...Dad

...music

...autumn

...letters

I was in love while reading!

So it's been three years. Happy fathers day ❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for sharing the memory with me by reading. And for appreciating it with an upvote! I am grateful.

Yes, it was a difficult last six months for him, and I think during that time, I only left him for a total of 24 hours. So, yes I remember him often and all the little things he did and loved.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

for the love of your pieces. Hehehe. You're welcome!

Wow! You're lucky!

$ 0.00
2 years ago