Cigarettes and booze ain't for me!

31 33
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Experiences

I can count on one hand the number of times I've been inside a bar in my entire life. That's probably three times. And I can't even remember when or where. Definitely when I was in my 20s (or younger?), and for sure not by choice.

The one time I recall being dragged into a bar was after some event, and the people with me just couldn't resist going inside one since the night was still young, while I had no other means to get home.

It was an unpleasant experience to say the least. That much I can remember. First, I don't really like places where a) lights are muted with loud music or b) there's too many flashing lights. Both environments give me a headache.

Yes, I am slowly remembering... that first bar (it was quite swanky) also had a dance floor so the loud music made the flashing lights more unbearable.

As much as I love music and dancing, the atmosphere of a bar just doesn't suit me and will certainly make me lose interest in both.

One other reason why bars and I don't mix is because it is one place where people smoke and they serve liquor. You're hard pressed being with people in a bar and not be cajoled to drink.

For the record, I have tasted beer. Pale Pilsen didn't sit right with me. And even the light versions of beer don't uplift my mood. To progress to something more alcoholic is disaster.

It doesn't take one bottle to make me woozy. And I don't care for the feeling. Thankfully, I've a strong stomach and never spilled my guts out after a half round of beer.

Good thing, too, that I quickly learned all I needed to do to get rid of my semi-drunken state is to down glasses of water. It filled my bladder and when I pee, the alcohol drains out of me.

Still, no beer or gin or scotch or rum or whiskey or tequila for me!

Now, let's talk cigarettes...

Like most teenagers, I initially found puffing cigarettes cool. And at the back of my mind, I was thinking of trying it.

But I don't recall ever actually smoking one at that age. Kids love to do this in secret, filching a stick or buying one (there was no law yet prohibiting minors from buying cigarettes), then puffing it with friends. Just to get a feel for it.

Perhaps it was because I never really had a friend or group of friends who was into smoking so I never got to try one.

It was probably in my 20s when I finally had the courage to actually experience smoking. On my first try, of course smoke filled my lungs all wrong and I sputtered and coughed my face red!

That wasn't cool. It was embarrassing!

I've been around smokers enough - uncles, even aunts, cousins and friends - to be familiar with its smell. Later on, even my father took up the habit. He was always among smokers, so he figured why not join them instead.

And he did for 20 years. It was the company he kept. And the stress of work. At the height of his smoking years, he was up to a pack a day. Very, very bad.

(It's what eventually caused a heart attack... three of his four valves were clogged and he needed a heart bypass).

Dad tried not to smoke at home. But couldn't help it... until his first grandchild was born.

My sister laid down a rule: You want to hold the baby, you can't smoke.

That did it! He quit cold turkey. He loved kids more than he did Marlboros. He'd been waiting for a grandchild and was not going to be deprived of carrying one, or playing with his first.

It was being around my smoking dad that I learned to despise cigarettes. And deep inside, I was pissed at smokers, regardless of who they were.

Unfortunately, when you're young you can't scream the house down so people with the habit stop smoking. So I avoided places where they puffed. During parties at home, there were few places to hide.

And then I worked in a newsroom.

It was like being surrounded by chimneys! Front, back and center, someone would be smoking. These guys insisted they needed their dose of vitamin 'C' to get their juices flowing to clean up copy!

Fortunately, when I covered the president, there was a strict policy to keep the media room smoke-free. Turns out there were others (terrifying news ladies) who detested smoking like I did and could demand a no smoking policy.

So, it was a relatively healthy environment where we typed away our stories. When I moved to cover Congress, a few news hens and I had to find our own nook far away from everyone else, because majority would be huffing and puffing while typing.

I can't even imagine how people work with all the smoke swirling around them, makeshift ashtrays - scrap paper, old newspaper, plastic cups, empty beer cans- beside their typewriters, and that strong stench left by smoke sticking to their clothes.

That is what I so, so hate! The stink of smoke sticking to clothing and the hair. That's why I can be gone in a flash or jump 10 feet away from someone puffing a stick.

It was such torture to cover a news briefing where the subject (or subjects) was a heavy smoker. You had no choice but to stay close, and in the process leave with the stench of cigarettes stuck on you.

Eventually, they banned smoking in the newsroom. But you would still be surrounded by guys who smoked and had cigarette stink clinging to their clothes, and their entire being.

I learned about social distancing because of cigarettes. Sure I talked to the guys during breaks or after putting the newspaper to bed, but you can bet I'd be at least a meter away from them.

Perhaps they found me snooty because of that, but I know they still liked me because I listened and made sense.

Most journalists I know hit bars or have drinks after work to wind down and relax. I never joined them. No booze and smokes for me. They must've found me pretty boring...

To this day, I don't have to see anyone to know that someone is smoking around me. And I mean over the fence, outside the gate, 20 meters away... I can smell cigarette smoke from afar. I even know when I pass someone walking who was smoking.

As to drinking, I do take a glass of wine or champagne during New Year. And that's at home. A pitcher of water would be beside me to wash it off. But that's about all I can handle.

I even once covered a wine tasting event where eight different varieties of wine were offered. But the owner of the winery gave a tip that I remember to this day: That's why there are buckets around the venue, to spit the wine out and avoid getting drunk!

Images: Unsplash

15
$ 15.73
$ 14.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @wakeuplincs
$ 0.10 from @MoreGainStrategies
+ 9
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Experiences

Comments

Same. I prefer juice than liquor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is ginger ale which I enjoy. But more than alcoholic, it's the taste of ginger which is refreshing. However, bars here do not serve that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm impressed. Your article is very well written. However, while reading, I found out why. If I understood correctly, you worked as a journalist - or a similar profession.

I especially liked the following snippets:

And deep inside, I was pissed at smokers, regardless of who they were.

To this day, I don't have to see anyone to know that someone is smoking around me. And I mean over the fence, outside the gate, 20 meters away... I can smell cigarette smoke from afar. I even know when I pass someone walking who was smoking.

We seem to have a lot in common.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I did work as a journalist before and smoking is an occupational hazard. I am told by those who did that it helped them relax. Being around a lot of smokers honed my sense of smell when it came to cigarettes and I became so sensitive to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's quite unpleasant to smell cigarette smoke in enclosed places. Although I already made an article where I wrote that I smoked for a few years. But then I decided to quit and now I invite friends to do the same and quit. It is totally harmful.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The idea is to control the drink and not let the drink take over you or your mind. I like to dance and drink beer but always under control. I've only had a few drinks too many once because I was inexperienced, but I've never repeated that craziness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's more about tolerance. I have low tolerance for it so I don't drink.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was so hard to maintain. Thinking that you're a journalist. I guess I should say, congratulations!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sitting among smokers? Yeah, it's a hardship. And I always looked forward to getting out of the building to breathe in fresh air.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yup! I could imagine. Good luck to you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can totally relate. Never smoked or drank. Also entered pubs only a couple of times due to an event, and once taken by my friend. BUT I'm lucky that none of my friends forced me to drink. In fact, they ensured that I only had juice, etc.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, juice is about all I can handle. And their eyes pop out when I give my order. hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It has been 20 years + when I last had tequila and other hard drinks, and I just wonder how they would taste now :) Wine's good though, we usually have a few bottles of them on occasions.

Cigarettes are a no no for me too. Your description of the newsroom reminds me of my last work where men gather around and make the huge tea room look like it's been dispatched with tear gasses. And I hate it all the more when adults smoke while there are kids around or worst, when they're holding their kids or grand kids.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, I pity the kids who have to inhale second-hand smoke at a very young age. And I get why they also pick up the habit later in life. So sad...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true, and most adults even send kids to buy their packs, unknowingly and subtly teaching the young to follow their footsteps.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's among the things I was disgusted about when it comes to smokers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Goes the same with me :) Can correct the younger ones, some listen, others just simply don't care.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Non-smoker; occasional drinker here. Blessed with friends who understand when I turn them down and even more blessed to have friends who will finish my bottle when I can't haha.

When i was in college i didnt mind smokers. Some of My friends smoke. They have a lot of stories when they smoke. Trusted friends had me try only just so i know how it feels - 1 marlboro 1 davidoff ice (this one is nice). After some time i can no longer stand the smell of smoke. 😂😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's really the smell that is revolting and what turned me off. You've got very good friends! hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep the smell and the effect. I get you about it sticking to shirts and hair. Haha i used to have office seatmate who smokes a lot. Whenever he comes back from a smoke break, i move away and sit beside other friends hahhahahahha.. it is suffocating.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Suffocating is the word. Even when they're not smoking and you sniff all the stink on them, it is disgusting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They ain't for me too. I did try getting drunk once. But it wasn't a pleasurable experience. I never tried smoking, and I'm so glad I never did. Now that I'm getting past the "calendar age," I can say I did the right thing when I chose not to smoke.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You certainly saved yourself... imagine spending money on something that can kill you or make you sick?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, and I greatly wonder why a lot of people invest time and money on those things.... so recklessly stupid.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can hold liquor well 🤭🤭🤭 but not ciggies

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember a friend who boasted she held hard drinks well until she threw up at the back of her car... So, you have a strong stomach for hard drinks, congratulations! hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When i was in my twenty's me and my friends are always out we will start it with shooters and end it with san mig super dry.. but those where the days 🤭

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And now you're down to??? juice? iced tea? hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Much worse coffee 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yikes! hahaha... well, at least it keeps you up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Though i still can if i want too but prefer to let go of it and enjoy the company of coffee 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago