Beware: Head bumps could be serious

16 42
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

A bump in the head is something that should not be ignored.

Many people dismiss such incidents, even when the area that received a blow is painful. This is dangerous.

Google head trauma or head injury, and you're likely going to come across the death of American comedian Bob Saget. He died in January with no known disease or history of use of anything illegal. Later, his autopsy showed he suffered from head trauma that became cause of death.

I've had some nasty bumps, and a number of them hurt like hell. However, I think there was only one time when I suffered a mild concussion. I did fall down several steps of a rather steep staircase and banged my head on the sharp corner of a concrete door jamb.

Other than a large bump, there was no blood or crack on my skull. Just dizziness and slight nausea. I had to suffer through ice packs that magnify the pain a thousand times for like 20 minutes. But that helped tremendously, and the swelling was contained.

The thing with hitting your head is that you're not allowed to fall asleep, especially when you feel nauseous.

We must remember that a nasty bump from a bad fall or some accidental movement can lead to brain injury. Fractures, especially in the skull, can be hairline thin but may cause bleeding inside the brain. Tiny blood vessels in the brain can rupture from impact when you smack your head.

From basic anatomy classes, we know that the cranium is an enclosed space. If there is bleeding, blood will seek some exit and put pressure on the brain. It is that pressure that causes unconsciousness and eventually leads to death.

From Unsplash: cross section of the brain

So why is it not advisable for someone who suffered head trauma and concussion to immediately fall asleep? It's really for monitoring purposes.

If they fall asleep and suffer a seizure or one side of their body weakens, no one will know. And this can worsen the condition, or it may be too late to seek medical attention.

However, if the person with head trauma is able to engage in a conversation and can move about with little difficulty, they may be allowed to fall asleep eventually, although staying awake for at least three hours after being injured is best.

One rule after suffering head trauma is to tell someone what happened and how you're feeling. Aside from nausea, vomiting, blurred vision, severe headache, or even symptoms similar to a stroke are indications that immediate medical attention is required.

Heading to the ER is necessary when a number of these symptoms present. Do not put it off for later because it may be too late to prevent the worsening of the condition, or result in death.

I cannot believe how many times I've hit my head somewhere in the past. A car door, table, bed, door, and worse someone whacking me out of anger or fun. Most have been unpleasant experiences.

So, I've learned to be careful and to protect my head, even from the rare smacking by hand, because I worry what could happen.

In the same manner, I get anxious and act quickly when someone in the house (or around me) hits their head and I was witness to the incident. Kids, especially, think it's nothing and just run away once the pain wears off. Most times, they won't even say they've hit or bumped their head and are surprised when they feel a lump which hurts even at the slightest touch.

Icing the injured spot is really a big help, not just to reduce the swelling but more importantly to help cut off blood supply and halt any bleeding, however slight it may be. It helps with the pain, too.

A blow to the head, regardless of how hard your cranium is, can still shake the brain and this is what causes severe injuries that makes one feel drowsy or nauseous.

Apply ice pack on the area for at least 20 minutes. It will make you tear up when the ice is exactly on the injured spot but is really helpful to start the healing process. You may need to put ice several times a day (every 6 to 8 hours) particularly with a nasty bump.

So the lesson to be learned here is: Never ignore head bumps. And try to be as careful as possible especially when there is risk of getting injured in that area.

Always protect your head.

Lead image credit

10
$ 15.01
$ 14.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
$ 0.03 from @trixdawson
+ 4
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

Comments

I am a very tall guy so most of the time I hit my head on doors 😅 but I think I'm okay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch! Still, you must be careful. Repeated bumping might ultimately result in serious head trauma, and you don't want that. Just be sure to ice the area that got hit or bumped. Be careful!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have bump before and thankfully it's not serious, bumping on the cement is more dangerous.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hitting your head anywhere that is hard is dangerous. Sometimes, we think it was only a slight bump but it could still result in head trauma. Always remember to apply ice pack, if there are no wounds on the head injury. It will help minimize swelling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most of the time I often hit my head at the wall but so far there's no severe concussion like yours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You also have to be careful because while there may not have been concussion in the past, repeated blows can make your head more vulnerable to injury.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This reminds me when I bumped my head several times to the ground while swinging. I was so dizzy that time. Thank God it was nothing serious. I was scared to death to tell my parents because for sure, they won't let me use the swing again 😅I'm fascinated with head surgeries. If I'm not a teacher, I'd definitely go for being a neuro surgeon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, very brave... For now, we just have to be careful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember as a child slipping on the soapy floor of the house and falling backwards. My head bounced like a ball on the floor. It was so hard that for the first and only time I saw little stars before my eyes that turned me over. I was on the floor for a long time. That happened when I was very little and I don't remember what my mom did. I only remember the loud bang and the little lights turning around in front of me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ooohhh! Well, they do say children have softer skulls so... but even then we can never tell about internal injuries. Seems like you turned out just fine. It's the NOW that we have to be even more careful. Always appreciate your coming by and sharing your thoughts!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know what? I don't know if what I'm about to tell you is related. When I was a teenager suffering from myopia my mother took me to the ophthalmologist and the doctor detected extrabism in my right eye, in addition to myopia. And I remember that the Dr. asked my mom if I had received a strong blow in the head and my mom said no, she did not remember my fall as a child... with time I drew my own conclusions

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It can definitely be related to that fall. Do you remember, other than seeing stars, what it felt like after hitting your head? I was reading up on head trauma and it does have a connection to even the eyes when there is a strong blow to the head. I am glad you are fine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't remember anything else about that fall, I was very young. Just the hard hit and seeing the star. I loved talking to you, it's always a pleasure to read your content. Thanks for your time with me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I try to be cautious in everything because a scratch can lead to something serious. So always be careful and not to harm yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. Sometimes when we're so caught up with life, we forgot to take care and protect ourselves even from little accidents. Thanks for the reminder!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is true and there are many sports where they receive many blows to the head and yet they continue to allow these sports even if they cost their lives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago