It Was Never Me But You

18 26
Avatar for zellypearl
2 years ago

The night before Valentine, can you remember?
You were on my balcony since you couldn't use the main door because of my parents.
Do you still remember the letter you wrote to me?
Never to hurt me, and never to let me down.
You told me how much you loved me and wouldn't do anything to upset me.
You came into my life when I least expected.
I opened up and let you in, I trusted you and believed your words.
You acted all good and cool as well.
You were my ideal type, I guess that was the more reason why I gave into your proposal in the first place because you had marched everything I imagined and fantasized my dream man to look like.
I admit your perfect appearance attracted me at first but along the line, it went beyond just mere looks.
It went beyond the neatness and the good smell that would stick each time I get close to you or even hug you.

I could imagine and dream of a future with you.
I could tell which of our kids would look like you.
I even joked about wanting our kids to have your eyes because they were so charming.
I knew I was being too serious and ahead of myself but for once I had wished you would also go ahead of yourself.
I wished you would also tell me how you wanted our kids to be or look like but unfortunately, you never did. So I thought that maybe you just weren't ready for any future discussion or plans. I didn't bug you about it, not even for once, did I?
I never complained either because I didn't want you to see me as one that nags.

You asked to see me even when you don't always inform me about the meetings and I never for once turned you down.
Every time I came running to you. Always available so far you needed me and just rang me up.
What more did you want from me?
What more could a person do more than what I did and the things I did all for love?

Why did it take you cheating before I could realize you didn't care about me just as much as you claimed or I did.
You only came to enjoy the pleasure for a while and when it wasn't forthcoming? You stepped unto another.
You didn't care from the start, did you? I doubt if you did.
Yes, I believe you had an ulterior motive.

Yes, I wouldn't say I was hurt the night I met you with Kate.
Maybe I couldn't find myself getting mad or hurt perhaps because I knew we would not last for long again after that Valentine night you tried to make out with me and I slapped some sense into you.
I didn't do that to stop you because I didn't love you but I just didn't think I had to prove anything to you or that I loved you by letting you have your way into me.
No, if you cared so much, you would have waited until our wedding night.
But you didn't, you soon moved unto another when what you initially wanted all this while wasn't forthcoming from me.

Yes to my surprise, you stopped calling.
You stopped texting, you even stopped visiting like you used to.
I tried reaching out to you but I got disconnected every time that happens.
I didn't know what was going on or maybe I didn't want to define what was happening.
Though I saw it coming, I only confirmed it the night I met you kissing Kate.
Why didn't I think of it all along?
Why didn't I just let it be when you started drifting away?
I guess I was blinded by my love for you.
Perhaps I thought we could still settle our misunderstanding when we finally got to talk.
However, it never happened. There was never another time to talk or settle.
You already moved on, or better still, you already went ahead cheating behind my back.
Funny how you thought I would be raged and perhaps create a scene but you got disappointed.
Yes, I left you two to enjoy each other's company like nothing ever existed between us.
I left behind everything we ever shared as I walked into the dark.
Did I cry? Maybe for making a fool of myself.
But you didn't deserve even a drop of my tears so I couldn't shed that even if I wanted to.

It was never love, so I believed. For all I care, you were only after my body and I am glad I never gave you what you were chasing after, after all those years.
And it may be wrong of me to say or think you were cheating on me.
Perhaps you were cheating on yourself hanging on for so long without getting what you actually wanted.
I was certain that with her, you wouldn't have to pretend or cheat yourself.
So long you had each other and you had what you wanted, I was fine with it because, to say the least, it was never about me but you.

The End!



I thought this would be a difficult one to write on. But I bet it wasn't really that difficult. I just had to play along with the flow to get everything I needed to stick out the prompt word Cheating.



For many reasons, we feel that the ladies have experienced the act of cheating in so many ways, especially in relationships.
But there are many other easy ways to cheat and be recorded or termed a cheater.

Cheating occurs even in marriages, among siblings, friends, even in school, and so on.
But whenever the word cheating is being mentioned or pictured, the first thing that comes to our mind is that of a relationship.
Maybe that's why I decided to write on that as well.

I hope you weren't lost in it lol. This is nothing but pure fiction, don't get it twisted.
I have never been cheated on😂
All the same, I appreciate everyone that stopped by to read my article.
Your time is very much appreciated, and so is your comment and upvote.

Thanks to @JonicaBradley for her weekly prompts.

I invite @ExpertWritter and @Sassy_sassa to participate. Sorry guys for the tag ;)

Image

1 July 2021

7
$ 8.16
$ 8.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
Sponsors of zellypearl
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zellypearl
2 years ago

Comments

Very nice write-up. There are indeed more ways to cheat than in relationships only.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, there are. Thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I even thought it was you 😝😝😝 Don't mind me, I don't want to believe it's fictional joor

He never loved her and thank God she didn't allow him had his way on her. Perhaps it would have been something she would always regret after knowing he was cheating on her.

Beautiful write up dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha haha. Sorry for disappointing you but this is entirely pure fiction😛. I have never experienced anything of such, not even close hahaha. The article was inspired by Jane that's if you have read her own entry on cheating.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I read it this morning.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What. I almost felt it was real! You gave your emotions in there! Sadly, some guys are like this. Just in it for that thing. Mor*ns. LOL, they don't deserve to be in a relationship in the first place. The girl did the right thing. Goodluck, Kate. Hahahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahhaha. Good luck Kate indeed 😂 you got me cracking.

Yea my dear, it's fiction but I tried so much to give it the needed emotions. I was so touched when Jane shared her story and somehow I wanted to add up to it but in a different way. How are you doing?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am doing fine! Thanks for asking. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This was a nice piece of fiction, I was hooked up reading and feeling all the emotions :) for some reason human brain always assumed that when we heard about “cheating” it's always about partners and relationships :-D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes. Unfortunately, that is the truth. I am glad you had your emotions up while reading this lol. I feel satisfied with this feedback. Thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why is it always us who's getting hurt? The story is as hurting as my past. 😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so sorry Jane. Actually, you inspired this article. I just forgot to mention

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh it doesn't matter. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww.. For real? I knew it! This happens so much in real life! I hope you've moved on. :(

i apologize for butting in through the comments 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I have an article about cheating.. Similar to this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Hi, read.cash bestie 😉. I am such it's okay for you to butt in. I a sure she wouldn't mind lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for the Tag, no need to worry about it 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh that's okay then

$ 0.00
2 years ago