Safe By His Side

1 18
Avatar for zanoz
Written by
2 years ago

Image

For a moment I thought I was gonna lose my mind.
I couldn't take it anymore. The sound of the guns fired in the air was more like a death sentence to me.
I wasn't a trained lady even when my dad was in the army.
I dreaded guns and I never wanted to hold them.
My dad had been trying to teach me how to use the gun and how to fire bullets from it since when I was five years old.
I never liked the idea so I never gave in to it.
He told me I wasn't going into the army like him, that it was just for self-defense.
If this is the only way left to defend one's self then I would rather remain captive or die in the hands of others but holding a gun was something I never wished to try.

Now the sound of the fired bullets reminded me of how adamant I was about learning to use the gun.
How my dad did everything in his power to teach me what I wanted to know.
How he told me that the world isn't safe for a lady like me if I wasn't trained how to defend myself.
Trust me, now I wished I had listened to my dad when he was still concerned about me, my life, and my future.
What on earth is going on? Why is there so much noise outside?
I already jumped off my bed when I heard the first gunshot.
I was terrified. I was already shaking like a praying mantis.

It seemed two nations were fighting each other but I couldn't tell what it was and I never wished to leave the floor position to know what was going on outside my door. Just then I heard voices and sounding footsteps approaching my door.
I literally peeped in my pants.
I couldn't tell who it was but I knew the person was already heading towards my room, I could see his legs from beneath my door.
He broke open the door of my room and whispered, Julianne, are you in here?.
I couldn't recognize the voice though I knew I have heard that voice somewhere before but where could it have been?
I was not thinking straight again and I didn't want to get up and check who it was and why the person broke into my house to whisper my name.

The person kept walking towards where I laid and when he stepped on my nails, I screamed out so loud, I couldn't withstand the pain. It hurt so much.

Oh my! I am very sorry, are you okay?
Are you nuts? Can't you see you just stepped on my nails? How can I be okay? And who are you by the way and why break into my house?
We don't have much time for your questions young lady, just keep shut and do as I say.
We had better be out of here in no time if you still love your life cause it's not just your fingers that would be stepped on the next time if we waste any more second here.
Get on let's move.

Get on where? I retorted
Before I could rant any further, he grabbed me and threw me onto his back.
Goosebumps! That's what happened when I felt the firmness and warmness of his back.
He rushed out of the house and took me to a secret hideout.
When he arrived and uncovered his face cap, I realized it was Richard, one of my dad's bodyguards.
He was sent to fetch me. Just then my dad appeared before me and asked if I was okay.
No, I am not dad, I wasn't actually but something about your bodyguard made me feel safe.
That's good news then, my dad replied.
Let's get out of here, it's not safe for us anymore.

The End...

2
$ 0.18
$ 0.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for zanoz
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Thanks for sharing ! I enjoyed it .

$ 0.00
2 years ago