My Favorite Movie

0 17
Avatar for zanoz
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Lifestyle, Series, Movie

Whenever someone makes mention of a favorite movie my mind drives all through the movies I have watched both as a child and a grown adult and it is usually centered on a particular movie I watched when I was younger.

The name of the movie is Akeelah And The Bee

Akeelah is just an 11-year-old girl who is very smart and intelligent. She could spell words that some of her classmates and even her teachers couldn't. She was known to be the smarter in the whole of their school.

She is smart and bright but she still had her fear. Fear of manifesting and being who she was and who she wanted to be. She lost her dad at a very tender age and since then, her spelling ability didn't have much impact or bring any kind of enthusiasm to the family. Sometimes she watches other kids on the TV competing and wished that someday she too could stand on that stage.

Her mom didn't like the idea. It was only Akeelah's late father that encouraged Akeelah with her spellings and knew how much she loved it. But when her dad wasn't around anymore, she had to bury the idea although she still writes down words she discovers every day and then makes an attempt of spelling them in secret without the knowledge of her mom.

Young Akeelah had a dream but she was also afraid. As a black preteen from a low-income community, she often feels that she does not belong in the competitive world of spelling bees but in the long run, her dream and wish came through with the help of her coach. She was able to outlive her fear and face the crowd. She stood firm on that stage with confidence. Her coach helped her make that dream come through. Not only did she overcome her fears and her dream came through, but also she won the competition.

And do you know the most important part I like most about the movie? It is the quote by Marianne Williamson which says


Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.


That quote has been at my fingertips right from the moment I watched that movie as a young girl. I guess why I did love the movie so much is because I used to love spelling too. I really can't tell how much I loved dictation or spelling. We use to have spelling completion in school, we usually do it among our friends and each time our English teacher does spellings, I usually get a high score.

I loved using big grammars and words whenever I speak or write. I didn't always like using small words or grammar at a young age but now, I don't do that again. Making use of big grammar and words doesn't make you smart or the most intelligent funny enough lol.

If you are intelligent then you are, not until you blast out big grammars and words lol.

Though all my spelling books and diary are still intact. I only read or study the dictionary once in a while and not as often as I used to when I was small.

This is a movie I will never forget as long as I live cause it already had a lot of impact on me and each time I long for it, I usually search it and watch it over and over again, I never get bored watching it. This is how much I love this movie lol.

Lead Image

1
$ 4.21
$ 4.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for zanoz
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Lifestyle, Series, Movie

Comments