My Aunt My Mother

18 48
Avatar for z_graeden
3 years ago

"Prepare your things now, then we'll go," my aunt said after my mother's burial.

Another inspiring true-to- life story which proves the passage "Poverty is not a hindrance to success."

Call me Boy. We're three siblings in the family. To where and what I am today, the memories of yesteryears' hardship are still fresh.

Our mother suffered a very severe illness at a young age which eventually led to her early demise. Due to this we were orphaned at a very young age. I can still remember things from that time because I was already seven years old while our youngest is merely more than a year old.

My aunt, my father's sister took us with her to their place. My father who was a laborer left for work to different places. I entered elementary at my aunt's place. However, it was only for two years because my paternal grandmother took me with her at one of the sitio of the same barangay where my aunt was living. She was living alone in her hut so might as well accompany her. Additionally, I was blamed for an act I didn't commit, thus my uncle who is my aunt's husband whipped me with his belt multiple times. I was accused of stealing money, which I never did. We're not the only children there, we also have our cousins- their kids but I was really the one they're pointing at.

I stayed with my grandmother from third grade to highschool. We led a difficult life with chayote as our daily main viand. There were times that we run out financially that we don't have salt and oil for sauteing. We just had to boil the chayote until it's done. I feel envious everytime I smell our neighbor's frying something. How I wish I would be able to taste something like it, I said to myself. Other kids really liked to tease me while they're eating something while they're rubbing their throat and saying "yamyam-ok." We only have pinewood- which we call "saleng" which serves as our main light at night. So that when I study my lessons and make my assignment, my granny had to hold it up for me until I am done then put it off and off we sleep. The next morning we look like ghost with our nostrils black with soot.

Haay, it doesn't matter. I only wish both me and granny would stay healthy and good so that our bond would stay strong.

At an early age, I tried odd jobs like carrying sand and gravel, and other things which I thought my young body could muster. We use the money I was able to make to at least buy us some salt.

Anyway, I took those hardships as a challenge for me. It is not to brag but I was grateful for I was blessed to excel with my academics even if we lacked delish foods. I was always on the list of honor students every recognition day that bring so much joy to my grandma and to my aunt as well.

On my last year in highschool, my aunt took me back to their place. As for my grandmother, my father and one of his brother took care of her because she's already old and weak. While at my aunt's house, it's not only us who're living in but my other cousins and nephews and nieces of my uncle-in-law also.

During this year, I eventually matured not only physically but my mental aspect also. Sometimes I asked myself, "where could mom be? How about my father, does he have a new family? Why do I seek for my mother now? Why are we living with my aunt's family? If mother would still be alive, how is our life be? Why did she had to die at a young age?" These were my sentiments..

At my age, I wasn't able to enjoy much. There's no time for me to play with others my age because it's a waste of time. I prepare the pigs foods and feed them, go to the field and others that hindered me from enjoying life. We were many living at my aunt's but I don't know why I was the one who was always asked to do things. "Be patient self" is what I always tell myself.

By God's grace, I finished my last year in high school still with flying colors. My aunt had to fight for it though before I was able to be considered one because they said that as a transferee that I am not eligible of the award. She was able to persuade them because she knew that I deserved that achievement.

After graduating from highschool, I've thought I couldn't enter college but my aunt supported me morally. She told me to try because I can use my academic scholar from highschool to any course that I would like to take.

So then I traveled to the city of Baguio for an entrance exam in one of it's University. Fortunately, I made it. I also tried the entrance exam at Philippine Military Academy (PMA) and it also came with a positive result. I am very glad about it because I wanted to enter that academy. However, my aunt who was in full support of me cried and didn't want me to go. She said that she doesn't want me to be sent to a battle field someday. Thus, I obeyed her and enrolled at the University I first passed the entrance exam.

I thought that when I will be in college, I would not experience being hungry again because I already have an allowance but I was wrong. While in college, I stayed with my maternal granny also so that I can at least save some instead of renting a boarding house. Her house was located in one of the mountains of Baguio. I became a helper (again) to maternal uncles who would always asked me to fetch water from the other side of the mountain. They demanded me for a massage yet I had to endure just for me to finish up my degree. On my way to fetch water there were lots of bullies who would hit and punch me for no apparent reason. However, I just kept mum because I don't have anyone to tell about it. My uncles would even get mad at me when I try to decline for me to go fetch water . I had to be patient and obedient because I was just an orphan at their grace.

In school, during lunch break my classmates would call for me to eat with them but I keep declining. I always tell them that I will go home for lunch wherein fact I don't. I would go hide somewhere and eat banana cue which was the only decent food for my 5 peso allowance for food. It was what all my granny could give. I walked from my granny's house to school, then walked from school to home after school because we really don't have anything even for a jeepney fare. It was a difficult struggle but I told myself to enjoy it.

Four years had gone and passed and by God's grace I was able to make it with the full support of my aunt who became my mother and other relatives. A public servant, who showed mercy on me and paid my tuition fee fully for one whole semester. Never will I forget the goodness of this man, tatanawin kong napakalaking utang na loob hbang ako'y nabubuhay especially that he was the one whom I ran into.

I've felt my degree wasn't enough. So I told my aunt jokingly that I would like to pursue my studies at a graduate school which she didn't decline. She told me that she will support me as usual if I think I can. Anyway, my aunt was a government employee during those times.

I enrolled at a law school and continued my studies. The same scenario as before. However, I had to stay at a boarding house and rented because there's no more available jeepneys after my class at night. I skip meals sometimes because I lack allowances. I only have noodles an boiled egg for my breakfast. And at night, after class I would go for "mami" which cost 10php. I feel contented after coming to my boarding house which was even smaller than a room for pigs. I had to study and ready myself for tomorrow's non-stop recitation. I would feel lucky if my classcard's not pulled by professor that day.

My routine goes on for days until one time I didn't notice I was again graduating. How good the Lord is.

I reviewed in Manila and took the bar exam. Fortunately, I was able to make it.. A proof of Gods unending goodness and mercy, and my aunt who stood by me as a mother all through out.

I am forever grateful to my aunt mama who believe and never gave up on me and to her husband who served as my father. I was left thinking what if my aunt didn't take us in, maybe we're just on the streets by now. I salute her for being a wonder woman. My siblings are doing well with their life also. And as for my father, he had already a second family.

Today,I am practicing my profession and my priority is to help the poor because I have been there. I know the feeling of having no one to stand for you

I am also married to a wonder woman for almost two decades already. She may have an armalite-like mouth but that is what I love about her. Her family is also nice and good people so nothing can I asked for more.

For those who have been struggling, remember that poverty is not the hindrance to success.

05-18-21

z_graeden

9
$ 29.97
$ 29.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
+ 3
Sponsors of z_graeden
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for z_graeden
3 years ago

Comments

Keep going! πŸ’œ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

that's a really hard working man, so cool! i wish i had that sipag

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo nga no, outstanding

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What has happened in your life is complicated. But you still managed to change the course of your life. Because of your perseverance, you have succeeded. Keep up the good work.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

It was a story of a boy who struggled to reach the pinacle of success. Now he's a lawyer..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That’s what I mean. It's just like us that no matter what trials we go through, as long as we have the determination we can achieve success.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Grabe sis, struggle is real but God is indeed very much love you. 😊😊😊😊So happy to know na you have a very wonder mom/tita. 😊

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Same with the other stories I have featured about the stories of poor kids but succeeded at the end..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How well you write, I wish I had that gift to reach more people. God bless you, happy day

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thanks for the compliment ma'am, same with the upvote...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cheers to your aunt!!

$ 0.05
3 years ago

A very supporting one, indeed.. thanks for visiting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wala talagang impossible sa mundo. ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True.. may awa ang Dios sa mga nagpupursige..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I read it too. Di lang ako mkapag active basa doon hectic ang time ng ale. 😁. Such inspiring stories hubby adviced my daughter to read instead of her oppa series. 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Jajaja... tatawagin tayong kj mga bata pag mga ganyan pinabasa jiji...

D b shungashunga ung engols translation q🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kakatouch mga ganitong story.. San mo pla nabasa to?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Facebook page for us Igorots.. same qng san q nabasa ung 2 story na poor din sila..

$ 0.00
3 years ago