Exercising my Right of Suffrage

2 40
Avatar for z_graeden
1 year ago

Did everyone, Filipino citizen, of legal age and registered voter has practiced their right to vote yesterday? Being in a country of republic-democratic form of government we are privileged to choose a leader, who, according to our choice and someone we know can lead us through the next six years. Six years is either a short term for a good governance or a long one if it's the contrary. Choosing someone, a president especially, who is the head of the state and the head of government is I think a much complicated decision. It's because we have to choose someone who can lead us through the next six years and that we have to consider some factors in choosing who's that gonna be.

While the Executive branch, president has a six-year term so does the legislative, senators specifically. The district and sectoral representatives has a three-year term and can be re-elected but not eligible to run for a fourth consecutive term.


This year's election was my third time to vote for president. I was seventeen years old when I registered as a voter. I was not supposed to be registered yet that time but because I will be turning 18 before the election that I was accepted to register.

Yesterday, I woke up early. Since it's May it's expected to be hot even in the early morning. So I took a bath and prepared the kids' breakfast. The baby was also awake so I and my husband brought him at the school where election in our barangay is always held.

I think it was exactly 7 in the morning when we arrived. I had to check on the lists which precinct where my name is. Thankfully, there was no voters lined up yet at that precinct unlike the others. It's because it was still early and voters at that precinct were from the other farther sitio and perhaps they're still on their way.

I was met by one of the watchers I think when I entered the triage and ushered me to the room where I will be casting my votes. I passed the baby to my hubby then. There was an empty desk so I was immediately admitted in.

I felt my anxiety taking over as I took my sit and held the pen in my dominant hand. Well, I had to carefully shade just like when taking an exam.

In a matter of minutes I am done. After getting the ballot in the VCM I took the receipt from the person in charge as he handed it to me after cutting it. Just like the others I carefully checked on the receipt if it produced the ones I voted. Lastly, my right pointer finger was applied with indelible ink. Done.

I took my baby in town for a supposed check-up because he was having an on-and-off fever but I was disappointed because I was told at the hospital to get him admitted since it was holiday and there's no outpatient check-ups. But I refused, thus, I was told to try private clinics. I even tried to talk to them if there's any doctor available just to check on him.

Me and my baby went around the private clinics but unfortunately they're all closed. Obviously, doctors from other towns went home to vote also. So we went home at my parents house and planned to have him check the following day.

My dad came home after learning we were home and the baby's unwell. That's how my parents are, they couldn't just sit and chit chat with their friends when one of their grandchildren is sick.

After failing to play with the baby because he's too clingy, my dad opened the TV. He is watching news when there were reports that the COMELEC servers isn't impossible to get hacked. I, on the other hand was chatting on messenger with the pediatrician whose clinic was in town. Prior to this, I chatted with her cousin who is also an online seller and she endorsed me to the doctor.

While waiting for the reply from the doctor I scrolled over Facebook and came across these posts. That was still early, 11 am. Well, it's not to offend anybody but why, how?

There were still other posts same as this.

It was not a new thing. Every election there is always cheating that takes place. It's all part of dirty politics. I won't talk any further as I am lacking some informations and it's hard to just say words.

As of this writing (2:45 am) partial, unofficial reports are being posted on social media while in the lower categories, reports are either final or still partial.

For the next six years (for President down to the senators) and three years (for the district and sectoral), I only hope that those who are elected perform their tasks, duties and responsibilities for the country's welfare and wouldn't only think on making their pockets thick.

5-10-22

Z_Graeden

5
$ 3.24
$ 3.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
+ 2
Sponsors of z_graeden
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for z_graeden
1 year ago

Comments

God bless the country ... Its nice to know that you came early..i wish our precinct also had no queue hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Did you vote wisely? Hehe. Of course, you did .goodluck sa mga mananalo

$ 0.00
1 year ago