Empathy Used In Vain

0 19
Avatar for z_graeden
3 years ago
Topics: Short stories

Dark smokes of cars filled the air. Their blaring horns' so irritating. It was like any ordinary day. The air's humid even on this late afternoon. As usual,I patiently waited on the roadside for a jeepney to ferry and would eventually get home. This had always been my everyday routine ever since I tried my luck in this bustling city. As a simple employee, it always had me thinking to trade my profession for a small entrepreneur. The wage is too meager that it can hardly sustain the needs of my family.

There's no way I can raise my fix salary but to start a small business with the little amount on my savings account. I was able to save a little when me and my wife only had one child. Now they are two. Two kids to provide for their daily needs. Water, rent and other bills are always on our monthly payables. But if I will bring my family in the country then we need not to pay for rent and water. That would be an additional capital to the little business I am thinking of.

I also considered going abroad but that would make a lot of sacrifices including money which I would be needing to process my papers. I would be away from my family with my wife still breastfeeding our youngest who is still an infant.

I still consider myself lucky for getting the position I am at. Our country lacks employment offers to many degree holders which later made professionals tried their luck on other countries. Green pasture is something we dont have here. It makes anyone who has the opportunity to seek it on other countries.

"Sir, have a heart on my sick kid." I was engrossed in thought while staring blankly on passing jeepneys, and taxis.

When from nowhere a man approached and tapped my left shoulder. "I need money for my kid's medicine," he added and showed me a doctor's prescription. It was dated recently. But what bothered me was his breath that smelled of booze. He has well built body but a little haggard.

I reached on my front pocket and handed him a hundred peso bill which is supposedly to be for my jeepney fare. "This ain't enough. Can you give me more?" He asked in a more sober way. I narrowed my eyes in hesitation. But at the end reached for another bill and give it to him. He took it and left without a word.

"Why is he intoxicated? Was it because of his problem with his kid's medicine?" I thought.

Without being noticed I followed him. We walked a distance. He entered an alley which is not familiar to me. I have been working in this area but never been in this part. It was somewhat an untidy place. Some empty cans and bottles were littered with spray paints on walls. Some children playing on the dirty outdoors.

On the third block he turned left and I quickened my pace not to loose him. I entered a door which I saw he got into.

I looked for him across the room and saw him at the counter. I intently watched what he had bought. Just as he was paying for the bottle and some sort of fried food he ordered with the money he asked me, I tapped at his shoulder the way he did to me. He turned around and looked at me. The color of his face suddenly left and turned snow white just as he recognised me. As if he had seen a ghost! He seemed shocked by my presence.

z_graeden

3
$ 2.09
$ 2.00 from @Ruffa
$ 0.09 from @SingleNorman
Sponsors of z_graeden
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for z_graeden
3 years ago
Topics: Short stories

Comments