Dragon Bursting Edible Fruit

16 27
Avatar for z_graeden
3 years ago

When you hear the word dragon, what usually comes to your mind? Sounds mythical, eh? Or ancient-like story? Come, I will tell you.

With its skin and spikes resembling dragon scales-like feature, this fruit has really a story to tell. "Ancient Chinese legend say that the dragon fruit was created thousands of years ago when a dragon in battle who blew a burst of fire containing the fruit," according to American Culinary Federation Education Foundation.

Dragon fruit was an exotic fruit of a big variety of cactus, grown primarily in Asia, and the America's.

It was an expensive fruit, considering that it was exotic and there were less growers. I don't know how it came to our place, as I can see many are already growing it on their backyard, my sister was one. It does not require much time and effort to grow it, so it's very convenient.

The first time I saw it was 9years ago and it was worth 40-50 pesos each, that's why I never tried to buy one.

The fruit was usually green when growing then slowly turns to a vibrant red-pink.It has three varieties, anyway; pink skin with white flesh and black seeds which is called white dragon fruit, pink skin with red flesh and black seeds called red dragon fruit,and yellow skin with white flesh and black seeds called yellow dragon fruit.

White and red dragon fruit are the variety grown here, and the latter was what my sister have. I haven't seen yellow yet.However, its taste were all just the same.

With it's bright colors and vibrant green tree it indicates it is packed with lots of vitamins and minerals essential for our bodily needs.

It contains antioxidants, fiber, calcium, Vitamin A, magnesium, vitamin C, iron, and protein.

The edible tiny black seeds contains antioxidant like omega-3 and omega-6 which help reduce the bad cholesterol levels or LDL. Thus having this on your diet improves blood flow promoting healthy heart.

Boost your immune system with this indigenous fruit that contains vitamin C that helps the body fight of germs/bacteria causing common colds, cough and flu and free radicals also that are destroying the body's cells. With fiber content it aids in healthy digestion and gut problems, thus, promoting bowel regularity and, prevent and treat constipation when consuming the right amount of dietary fiber.

Fiber also helps normalise blood sugar level in type 2 diabetes.

Having inflammatory diseases is really disturbing because of its pain so consuming this amazing fruit might help reduce the pain.

While folic acid,iron and B-vitamins is a needed supplement in pregnancy,red dragon fruit according to researchers could be an alternative treatment for anemia during pregnancy. Red dragon fruit increases hemoglobin and erythrocytes so it's not only for pregnant women but for people who are anemic

For beauty purposes eating the right diet and consuming dragon fruit makes one feels fuller longer which helps maintain his/her ideal weight or for one who likes to reduce weight.

With vitamin C and its antioxidant contents combined, it repairs damage cells thus, promoting a youthful aura.

Face mask and, scalp and hair mask can also be made by pureeing one fruit, one tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil and two tbs honey.Apply on face or hair for 15 minutes, may help elasticity on face and healthier hair strands.

My sister's plants were actually grown on pots on a small space,so it's really no reason not to try it also. Her husband just arranged some woods for post and some on top for support. The dragon fruits are bearing healthy and numerous fruits, I think this was the second year it bore fruits. Reports says that it will last for at least 20 years, that's pretty long. Having it domestically grown is an advantage adding the benefits to ones health it provides.

With the six number of trees and its fruit springing one at a time, it also does not ripen all at once pretty good for family consumption. During our stay at my sister's place there was no riped fruit that we can readily eat so my brother-in law picked 3 not yet fully ripe, a little firm and place it on our bag for us to take home. He said that let it sit until it yields a little when pressed then place it on the ref to let it more flavorful and flavorful before eating.

When buying on grocery stores or on the market, see to it that its color is evenly spread,a blotch of less than three is okay but when it has lots then leave it be as it is an over riped indication.

This fruit can be eaten by itself or toss with other fruits such apple,pineapple,blueberries, and strawberry for fruit salad.It can be made into smoothie or fruit shake also. It's the first time I will be introducing this to my kids for sure they will find its taste strange, picky eaters they are. But am sure our baby boss will gobble it.

As expected when I serve them just as it is, they did not like it except for my eldest who used to eat it. I dont like its nutrients to keep for myself and kuya(my eldest) so I decided to make it as an icecream but then I remembered to make it as a graham cake. My kids are fond of eating graham cakes so why not add the dragon fruit.

I used;

  • 2Tbs chia seeds

    2 pcs dragon fruit

    1 nestle all purpose cream(chilled)

    ยฝ can condensed milk

    1 pack graham crackers

Then I prepare it;

  • Soak 2tbs of chia seeds in a half cup of water for 3 minutes. This can be optional but adding it makes the recipe more nutritious.

  • To peel the fruit, slice it lenghtwise or crosswise then insert spoon in between flesh and skin and scoop the flesh out. place the flat part on a plate and slice it to smaller pieces. Set aside a little for toppings (which I forgot to do so)

  • Place the soaked chia and sliced fruit flesh on a blender and blend. (I mashed mine using fork because my blender was broken.) Set aside.

  • Using hand mixer, beat chilled all purpose cream until it doubles in size. I also used wire whisk as beater.

  • Add condensed milk then beat to mix it.

  • Add the blended dragon fruit and chia mixture then mix it proportionately.

  • Arrange Graham crackers on a shallow container, leaving no spaces at the sides. Pour a quarter of the mixture (it depends on the size of container you're using) then spread it evenly.Top with crackers and pour mixture over it. Repeat the process until both mixture and crackers are used up with the mixture on top.

  • Top with thinly sliced dragon fruit. Then sprinkle in between remaining crackers which you need to crush in it.

  • Refrigerate for 4 hours, I place mine on the freezer. Then serve. chilled.

*you can double the cream-milk mixture by doubling the ingredients even with only 2 dragon fruit. Add a pack of graham crackers also. You will be making more graham cake..

Then tadaaaa...

If you have plenty of avocado then try avocado graham cake .You can also try mango or even ube or just anything you can and want to add into graham cake is possible.

We need to be innovative when it comes to feeding picky eater kids because its much different to let them learn to eat fruits and vegetables and get the full nutrients from it rather than depend on vitamins only.

*all photos are mine

hit like, comment out your thoughts and subscribe

z_graeden

6
$ 3.34
$ 3.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
$ 0.03 from @Jane
Sponsors of z_graeden
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for z_graeden
3 years ago

Comments

Ohh, so it has a different colors, di pa ako nakakatikim nyan, anong lasa po nyan? Just tje look of it, it looks so delicious, kelan ko kaya matatry yan, may kalasa po ba yan?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yep 3 are variety nya at red ang best.. it taste something like a combination of pears and kiwi fruit..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yumg pears palang natitikman ko, tapos ang tagal na hahahadoy. Pero mukha talaga syang masarap, mahal kasi yan dito samin ee.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't like the taste either... I was supposed to take a photo of the very first fruit of my eldest dragon plant but his little brother already plucked it from it's stem.๐Ÿ˜… That's the time I found out we have the red variety.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me and alto like it very much specially that we let it sit for 3 days to let it ripen even more. manay, however throw it up๐Ÿ˜ฎ. making it into ice-cream and graham cake masked its flavor so they ate it to the last bite

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seeing it as a graham cake ingredient looks interesting. I like this fruit despite how bland the white meated variations are and it's great for breakfast too but so expensive in the metro

$ 0.00
3 years ago

my 2 youger kids doesn't like it thats why I added it into graham cake. The red variety is much more yummier.. And yes very good for breakfast.try to grow some in a pot๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahh so you're hiding the fruit ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ yess i like the red one more, it's sweeter I don't have any space to grow plants here ;;-;; there's not much sunlight because of the big wall behind the house

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Can you spare some for me? haha. I haven't tried dragon fruit graham cake. I will ask my mom to plant dragon fruit too so we can try your recipe hehe. As mentioned, those fruits are expensive so my mom will never bother to buy those, unless I'll be the one to pay for it ๐Ÿ˜‚. It also taste good aling with some other fruits and added with condensed milk, yum ๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿคค I suddenly crave for the mixed fruits they sell on SM supermarkets. It really taste good and yummy ๐Ÿคค

$ 0.00
3 years ago

๐Ÿ˜Šit would be okay if only we're all here. shipping fee is much more expensive than the fruit๐Ÿ˜‚.. fresh fruit salad is also a champion, even just eating it as is... my kids keep asking me to make another dragon fruit graham cake but I told them we don't have any dragon fruit,that I need to asked my sister who lives about 20 minutes walk to reserve even at least 2 fruits when there are reAdy-to-pick. I also planted now, it will last for 20 long years o dba.it is very convenient to grow as it does not require much attention so it's good thing to tell your mom to add it on her backyard garden

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Coincidence, I ate this fruit for the first time in my life yesterday๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

๐Ÿ˜‚so was I.I mean the 1st time this year

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But for me, 1st time in life๐Ÿ˜ช๐Ÿ˜ช

$ 0.00
3 years ago

jijiji,at least you got to try it at last. Its a combination of kiwi fruit and pears taste,right.. it almost cost $1 in here, how about there in your country?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It looks so yummy... Can I save this? I wanna try it once I get back home.. We have avocado trees and just buy dragon fruit ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

go ahead po.. kulang kulang lng kasi aq sa quantity ng ingredients,I only used what was available on our cupboard.

$ 0.00
3 years ago