Teach your kids some skills

21 38
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
1 year ago

Hello, read.cash friends. How are you all? I pray that you are fine and in God's grace.

Before I start with my post, I wanted to thank my dear sponsors old and new. About a week ago, I accidentally canceled m sponsorship to si @momentswithmatti and I was saddened because back when I first clicked the sponsor button, I sent more than one dollar and it was supposed to last on the year 2024. The money was kind of lost. So you guys please do be careful on tapping on the sponsorship page.

Sponsors of yoieuqudniram
empty
empty
empty

So to start with, let me ask you a question; Do you have a skill? way back when I was filling up slum books in high school I remembered that I wrote there that my skill was eating, that's kind of funny though.

To tell you frankly, I am still learning skills now even at my age. I keep myself busy with crochet, drawing/sketching, binding books, photography, and communication and I wish having patience could be a skill too, cause I'm learning them, haha.

I saw this as a disadvantage for me because I started late ( but it's not too late, I guess) When I learned to crochet, I told myself " if I only knew this in college"; many "ifs that I had".

"If only I have an access to the internet for tutorials and references way back like I have now, I would probably be skilled and good at it for now."

"If only I did not spend my spare time watching movies and reading ebooks which I learned nothing from it and di something worth my while."

So now I have learned from it, I lessened my time for entertainment and for only other things that I cannot take anything from. I seldomly watch movies, I have recovered from those addictive ebooks which I am very glad I did.


I don't want my kids to be like me so I have decided to equip them with skills while they are still young so that they can use them when they are on their own because we never know what fate holds in the future. At least they will have something that could help them ease life and poverty. I was even glad that my husband has the same vision as I am so he entrusted the kids with some money (just a few pesos like 20, sometimes 50) so that they could learn math the easy and practical way. But it was the eldest that was taught this way, for now when the younger kids are older, they will be too.

Math

Basically, math is all about the following:

Counting

This is very basic because when you can't count, you can't do anything below. This may be basic and everyone is taught with this but few are making this a skill and one day in the future, they will be able to do business easily.

Adding/ Subtracting

Multiplying/ Dividing

Money

Budgeting time and money

Honestly, I am very poor in math; well maybe not that bad but I got myself being dependent on calculators since I was working; a few months ago, I tried answering the civil service exam and I am having a hard time because it takes me some time to answer a math problem.

One thing that could be an advantage in learning g math is that budgeting time and money will be much easier for you.

Communication

Do you believe that we started to communicate when we were born? I do, because when a newborn is hungry or uncomfortable or in pain, they cry and they become calm when their mothers pick them up. But we learn reading and writing for years or months before depending on when our parents introduce them or maybe in school and we are taught the following :

Reading

Writing

Comprehension

Above are good skills, I am not really good at communication because whenever something is being told to me, my emotions overpower me sometimes making me mad or something, weird, right? I am fast in writing in fact when a teacher discusses way back when I am still in school, I can write her explanations but just the important ones. Now that I am into blogging, I was grateful for artificial intelligence that corrects my work like Grammarly and the one in Microsoft word where I used to write drafts when I still cannot open read. cash in the office PC.

Fine arts and more

Crochet

When my eldest daughter turned given and she showed interest in crochet especially since she frequently see me doing it and making wonderful things, I started to teach her. now she is consistent in her chains and she is starting to learn double crochet. I just hope her interest will never end in it.

Drawing

My kids are y inspiration in learning to draw. I was thinking to myself that I should learn drawing so I could teach them myself. Now she likes to draw cats and eyes and I inspired her to watch youtube tutorials on drawing. Last month when she was still coming to school before her exam, I saw her notebook and she draw lots of things in there.

I realized that teaching them skills would cost money but I know it will be worth it someday.

Writing

Recently, I was very inspired to do calligraphy. When I was younger, I saw my sister's artwork; it was all letters, she is into "lettering " that's what she calls it. I also saw si Jeans' calligraphy work and discovered that there is a special tool for it. I searched for it in shopee and I wish I could purchase it one day so that I will be able to experiment on it and show it to my kids.

Cooking

Cooking is definitely a good skill to have. Everyone eats but only a few know how to cook especially when they cook from scrap or they cook with limited ingredients and tools.

Driving

It's easy to learn to drive but only a few masters it. I was amazed how some people can drive any kind of vehicle and they do it gracefully. I have shared with you an article that my co-worker is a reckless driver and vowed never to ride when he is driving again.

Confidence

Confidence is the most important skill to learn because even when you have all those skills that are mentioned above but did not have the confidence to show to everyone that you are good at it, it would be like nothing. I have known some people that are not so good at something but are gutsy and the rock on doing things.

Have you heard a man who sings even if he had a monotonous voice? that's confidence! haha but I do hope you got what I meant.


So those are the thing that I am teaching my children these days. It may look like plenty but you know they are too young ad I don't pressure them with it. It's just that I and my husband makes effort to make them (i don't know how to call it) tackle or face or familiarize them daily and celebrate little achievements that they make, that was it will become their core memory and it will never depart from them.

That would be all for now, thank you so much for your time. Keep safe and be a blessing to others.

Lead image is mine

6
$ 0.57
$ 0.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Micontingsabit
$ 0.02 from @Ellen.he
+ 3
Sponsors of yoieuqudniram
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
1 year ago

Comments

Exactly my friend, I completely agree with you, it isn't too late for us to still learning new skills in any age that we are... How good it is to equip our kids with skills as their parents...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you for being on my side, yup, it's never too late because life is all about he journey itself and not the destination

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I plan to teach my bb other skills at an early age so she would know what she likes doing or not. I hope na sana maturuan ko and magenjoy sya magbasa kasi hindi ako mahilig magbasa ng books huehhehue

$ 0.01
1 year ago

making learning interesting and enjoyable is the key sis... I hope willing din matuto anak mo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dami mo ngang talent sis eh

$ 0.01
1 year ago

salamat sis, inaaral ko pa din ang iba. at least kahity di magaling masyado pero may alam na konti diba

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Academic skills are learned in school, I just want to share my experience. My parents teach us the basic skills on how to be independent, teach us how to cook, to be organized and disciplined so that if we're ready to separate from them they are assured that we will be ok. I have a cousin that until now at the age of 23 she already have 2 kids she still depend on her parents and get pampered all the time even the simple things she cannot do it properly.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm glad your parents did that. I hope your causing will try to learn the basic things in life even if it's too late already. imagine her kids growing up seeing her grandparents doing the things for her mother.. naaah.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I hope so we tried to advice her together with her mother but they think thay we are meddling their lives so we just stop caring for them its their lives anyway.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some skills will be learn in school but nahh, hindi ako natuto kasi naman naging pasaway na studiyante way back in elem HS even in college. for now dinidiscover kopa yung mga hidden skill ko hihih😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

same! I agree with you. minsan kasi may mga classmates tayong puro laro ang nasa isip kaya nappalaro din tayo. I hope you will find and use them soonest

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right I intend to teach my kids one day when I have them all the things I couldn’t learn as a child. More life lessons and how to make wealth and be grateful for everything because sometimes I wish I knew how wealth and money works from childhood I would have been rich by now

$ 0.01
1 year ago

well being rich would not be the best idea, maybe living better and content would be the best to teach our kids my friend, contentment in life makes one happy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah I get you but you see I come from very humble beginnings and I know what not having money can do to a person but of course I am going to teach them contentment and gratitude

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad you will.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice idea sis to teach them skills at the early age. As what they have said Mas Dali tudloan ang Bata kaysa mga tiguwang na

$ 0.01
1 year ago

mao gyud iss, kay nah,, manungag snns sng tiguwang uy.. nya di na maibot sa selpon labi nag mao nay iyanag naandan sis. lami gyud kung ma equip silag skills para sa future

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Isn't it a bit too much ate? Like, pwede naman siguro himay himayin. Focus on one skill to another. Parang nakaka pressure naman po. Hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

di ko nmana pinepressure sya dong, it's like i am inviting her to play with me with yarn and hook pero pag naumay sya , dun naman kami sa drawing, then kapag nang hihingi ng pera later kasi nagutom at gusto bumili ng food, 2o ibibigay then three dapat bulhinpara tig issa sila ng mg akapatid nya, pag balik tatanungin magkano yung pagkain , tapos ilan ang sukli,, hen pag nag wawatch ng tv english yung language, diba yung mg abata nang gagaya ng mag sinasabi sa tv, tapos tatanungin ano meaning nun,, tapso mag uusap kayo ng english . ganun yun don,, part kasing life yunglahat ng sabi ko kaya okay lang .. tapos di pressure.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's better sis at the very young age she's already interested in learning new skills, that's a good step while she's growing.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

that's right sis,. I hope ng ana di mauumay eh,, dami pa nya dapit matutunan apero slowly ko lang iintroduce para surely din

$ 0.00
1 year ago