Just Make it Past the Smell

5 41
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
10 months ago

My daughter cooked rice unsupervised last night and I am very proud of her.

My mother taught her how to cook rice but it happens in her kitchen, Maybe she got hungry already yesterday so she decided to cook rice at our house.

I admire her confidence, I really do.

But as we arrived home, I smelled something burnt; my mother was in her kitchen so it was not from theirs but the smell got stronger as I approached our house just behind my mother's. My husband went ahead of me and was done adding hot water to the pot where my daughter cooked rice.

Aelie had put too little water and too much fire causing the rice to scorch at the bottom. What I saw when I reached our kitchen was the photo below.

No, the pot is not dirty but it was the burnt rice on the upper part of the picture. But the husband and I kept calm and appreciated what my daughter did. She's a very independent child. Some other days, when she gets hungry, she cooked eggs (sunny side up) in my mother's kitchen; it's her favorite and sometimes, she cooks eggs for her younger sister too.

It took a while before the rice was fully cooked, goo thing my mother gave us cooked rice which was left over from their activity on the farm so the kids ate it. We waited for them to finish eating before me and my husband did. There was a little left from the leftover rice so we finished it before eating the burnt rice my daughter cooked.

It was good, really but you have to get past the burnt smell which was a bit disgusting but I still could tolerate it. We got used and almost finished it. My daughter tried the rice too, and maybe she did not notice the smell which I did not point out to her.


I loved how my daughter cared for us; I know she did it out of her love for us but I and my husband advised her that if she cooks rice again, she should do it with an adult supervising her. That night, she had too much fire and it was very scary if our house would catch fire, and she would not know how to handle it. We will have nothing left and will take us too long to recover.

She understood what we meant and I was hoping and I am looking forward to the day when she will cook for us, and by that, I do not mean she will cook every time, of course, it is our responsibility but kids must be taught such things so that they will come equipped in the future. Cooking is a basic chore, and it is needed in life.

My daughter has a good sense of taste and I know she will be a good cook; to mention, she wanted to be a chef and a baker. I'm excited to see her excel and be successful in the field that she will choose to go through.

4
$ 0.15
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of yoieuqudniram
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yoieuqudniram
10 months ago

Comments

Makatabang na jud imong anak sa imoha sis,, kay kabalo na man.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

O sis, makatabang na gyud, pati pagpang hinlo. Arang arang na tawon ang balay, di na kayu hugaw.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Its good you didn't tell her the burnt rice smelled bad. She cooked 🍚 and learned from it without being scolded.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Yeah, thanks. She's learning tbings and can have lots of mistakes, i don't scold as lmg as its tolerable, lols. I don't want her get discouraged because i scolded her for that. Next time she'll be doing great

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Very good girl, she now knows how to cook rice by herself.

$ 0.00
10 months ago